We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We just returned from a one week stay at the Astoria and were pleasantly surprised how nice it was. I really wonder what some people expect and what they compare it with, we have been to Greece three times before but always self catering.

First thing I would say is that there is no pool but the hotel is backing onto a small section of the beach with a limited number of loungers and parasols, the towels appear quite early so you have to be on the ball if you want the use of a lounger.

The second thing is that it's in a fairly quiet area but only a couple of hundred yards from the start of the main street with all the bars and restaurants. The atmosphere around the hotel is pretty relaxed and quiet and I would say it would not really be suited to families with rowdy teenagers - my own rowdy teenager stays at home now !

The hotel decor is quite nice with a fairly expensive feel to it although it is perhaps a little bit tired, it's certainly a lot better than I expected for Greece. The hotel rooms are quite nice and perfectly adequate for a one or two week stay, those facing the beach don't get much sun, those facing the main road get a lot of sun.

One of the hotels best features is the location of restaurant and terrace bar which overlooks the sea, most impressive and pleasant.

There was a good selection for breakfast, fruit juice, cereals, bread, toast, cakes, a small selection of UK breakfast items such as scrambled, poached or bolied eggs, baked beans, sausages or bacon type meat. Also cheese, jam, marmalade, fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt and honey, tea and coffee.

Snack type meals such as burgers, toasties, Greek salads, chips etc. are available all day and fairly good value, perhaps four euros for burger and chips. A large bottle of Mythos was 2.5 euros.

Evening meals are also served including a 3 course special at about 9 euros with 2 options each day. The special is good value but a bit more limited than the main menu.

We booked B&B through TC and had to pay 49E per week for A/C and 10E for the safe.

I found the family who run the hotel very pleasant and friendly and i would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends, in fact we are hoping to go back next year for two weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for sae facing room if you want shade, road facing if you want sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gareth2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Well where do I start? I just returned from a two week holiday with my partner and 2 teenage children and this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The owners are so grumpy you end up walking on egg shells. When my son wanted to use the toilet downstairs he was told to go upstairs NOW! When sitting in the lobby I turned the channel to watch the Olympics I was told I couldn't as the owners mother wanted to watch a film(even though the TV in my room didn't work.) The rooms are dated and smelt quite musty, and although the cleaning staff are friendly they really can't clean. The breakfast was the same for 2 weeks, eggs, french toast, sausages and beans. If your lucky you might get a room with a sea view but more than likely your room will overlook the swamp so be prepared to be bitten by all manner of insects not just mosquito's. Although the hotel is on the beach( well a small strip of sand) there are hardly any sunbeds so be prepared to get up at at least 6am to secure one. I could go on with the how bad this hotel is, be warned don't waste your money. .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spiced72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked into the astoria for a 2 week holiday - our first time in Zante. This was a lovely hotel, we were there on a bed and breakfast basis. The food was great, the staff were exceptionally friendly. Our room was basic, but fine for our needs. As typical we paid more for the air conditioning which was essential as it was really warm.

There was wi-fi but you have to pay extra for this.

All in all, brilliant hotel, with brilliant staff and a brilliant location right on the beach and 2 mins walk from the beginning of the strip. We'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: doesn't matter if you have a beach or street room as there is very little noise either way, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sharmrp72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

we had a very good time at the Astoria. The family who ran the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The food was nice and great value for money . The drinks were cheaper than the pubs. No problem with sun beds excellent location right on the beach. We had a very relaxing holiday. We would go back again .

Room Tip: request room overlooking sea great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a brilliant time at Astoria. The family who ran the place were very friendly and the food was nice. Great value for money! We look forward to returning as soon as possible.

Gerry & Anne from Durham

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Astoria and have always found it a relaxing place to stay.The owners Marie and John once you get to know them are realy friendly. i say once you get to know them as on the first time you meet them they seem offish. Not at all. Despite John being totally blind he can remember everyone. The hotel is situated ot the top end of the village and is far enough away to be peaceful bot within a few minutes walk you are in the centre of town.
Breakfast is changed most days and not continental style. plenty of egg bacon and beans. Restaurant is on the beach edge and spent many evenings enjoying good food and wine overlooking the sea. You can pick a boat up on the end of the jetty for the caves abd famous ship wreck. Plenty of other bars and restaurants in the village.
would say however not very good for kids as no pool

Room Tip: No Good for kids as no pool but you have to walk a long way out in the sea to get above four feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just come back from Alykes after making a late booking and stayed at the ASTORIA. From the minute we checked in to the minute we left all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a Canadian influence to the hotel, flags,maple syrup and pancakes at breakfast. The hotel is owned by a greek gentleman who lives in Canada part of the year. Hotel: very clean,two lifts,yards from the beach,good food,10 minutes stroll to the centre of Alykes.We will certainly return.
Tavernas - try the Anotolikos not far from the hotel. Shirley Valentine setting and cheaper than those in the centre of the resort. Not a massive menu but lovely grub.
For any animal lovers please go and see the donkey opposite Cheers bar and behind the Indian/Chinese restaurant. He is very docile, we named him Apples as he loved them-please feed him-a little kindness would mean a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ouzoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.4 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
442 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#24 of 28 in Alykes
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montes Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Address: Alykes 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range: £30 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing