We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just love this place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Koukounaria and we just love it. Yes, the rooms are basic and maybe the bathrooms could do with upgrading and yes there are additional charges if you book through Thomas Cook but those charges are clear when you book. However that said the hotel is beautiful, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially those in the pool bar. The pool area is so good, large swimming pool and large jacuzzi. We ate at the Lino Bistro 3 times and the meals were lovely. We had a perfect holiday and will definitely be going back next year. Thankyou everyone at the Koukounaria. Sue, Clive and Lucy

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modeDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just back from my 2nd trip to the Koukounaria in 2 years. Great hotel! The staff are all so friendly, the rooms, pool area and bar are great and the restaurant is the best I've ever eaten in. Lovely location under 5 mins walk from the beach, shops, restaurants and bars. Very relaxed chilled out hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 rooms at opposite ends of the hotel and they were both excellent. Basic but clean, all y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Koukounaria Hotel from June 15th - 22nd, it was my son's (age 6) first holiday abroad. Absolutely loved the hotel and location. Our room was room 212 which was a one bedroom apartment, it was massive and kept very clean.

Pool area was kept very clean and the pool bar/snack bar staff were always very helpful and friendly.

When we checked in and gave our names, Claudia remembered the email I sent previously telling them it was my son's first holiday abroad, and we even got the sea view requested on my email.

Reception staff were brilliant, very friendly all the time, always acknowledging you when you enter or leave the hotel.

The resort itself is small but very friendly and feels very safe for children, the beach is fantastic, lovely and sandy and the water is very shallow and most of the time quite calm.

The food in Alykes was fantastic, favourite restaurants was Paradisiako and Fidelios, we did eat at the hotel restaurant and it was nice but we felt there was better value for money in the resort, we were disappointed that one of the meals we ordered in the Lino Bistro was served with frozen vegetables.

We ended up in the bar Sugarbush most evenings where we were always made to feel welcome, great table service from Jenny who also made my son feel very welcome.

We were disappointed that the Greek night was cancelled but this was probably due to the hotel being quite quiet when we arrived.

Possible improvements that could be made would include a table service at the Blues Bar like the service in the resort.

The air conditioning is quite expensive, but we were aware of this extra charge before we travelled, it is something we will be bearing in mind when selecting a room in the future.

We are hoping to return to the Koukounaria next year but this time for longer as 7 days wasn't enough. My son loved every minute of it and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Thanks to Claudia and the team for making us feel so welcome and making my son's holiday feel very special,

Janitta, Dave and Thomas

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janitta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Koukounaria Hotel a week ago. We had room 236 which is a one bedroom studio apartment with a balcony with stunning views of the sea, Kefalonia Island and mountains. The apt was kept spotless by the very good cleaning staff. For the A/C unit, safe and a kettle we paid 105 Euros for a 10 days stay.
All of the complex is kept spotless and all of the staff are excellent and very friendly, especially Claudia who helped us with accommodation (thank you for our fantastic room) and gave us all the necessary information about the Hotel, which Thomas Cook couldn't help us with.
Koukounaria Hotel has a lovely large pool (Olympic size) with lots of sunbeds and a small pool for kids and a Jacuzzi. Pool bar is excellent for breakfast and lunch - good variety of food at reasonable prices, staff were friendly and attentive especially Panos and Amelia.
Location was perfect, very peaceful, up the road from Restaurants and Bars, just 10 minutes walk to the beach which was great: sandy, clean and shallow, very good for a snorkelling.
Hotel restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Alykes, we also recommend Fidelio, Paradosiako, Astoria and a family restaurant next to it- on the beach, Maestro Restaurant has a lovely food and good prices, service can be quite slow but it's worth the wait.
We are going to recommend the Koukounaria Hotel to all our friends. We definitely would like to come back next year.
Once again a big thank you to all the staff and thumbs up :)

Room Tip: We had room 236 which is a one bedroom studio apartment with a balcony with stunning views of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaAndBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

we stayed at the koukounaria from the 2nd of June for 10 nights. We had room 226 which is a one bedroom apt with great views of the mountains. The apt was very spacious and was kept spotless by the very good cleaning staff. All of the complex is kept spotless and all of the staff are excellent and very friendly. The lino bistro which is the hotels restaurant must be one of the best in Alykes and serves superb food. We could not fault anything about the koukounaria and would return there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bicky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our second holiday in Alikes. It is a lovely resort in a beautiful part of Zante with outstanding mountain views and a clean beach with views out to Kefalonia. We booked Koukounaria this year for a family holiday, I had already read the reviews and was aware that there were additional charges to hire kettles/toasters etc so we took our own. There is a breakage deposit of 50 euros which you get back when you check out and air con/safe deposit is also extra (extortionate) I have mixed feelings reviewing the hotel, we had an amazing time on holiday however there were a few reasons we wont return here.
The postives:
We were lucky and had a decent basic room with balcony and fantastic views of the sea, the mountains and the pool area.
The snack bar service and Blues bar are of a good standard and the staff friendly and generally helpful
Linos is one of the best restaurants in Alikes, we really enjoyed our meals and the service is great
The negatives:
Room cleanliness - not bad but not great either- the towels are supposed to be changed twice weekly.... ours were not.
Sleep quality as per previous reviews constant cockerels crowing, dogs barking and wood pigeons cooing. The first few nights were ok as it was not so warm and we kept the windows etc closed but after that it was either pay for aircon or open the windows. Needless to say it was VERY noisy all night!
They really do seem to be out for every penny and it is very conspicuous- we were given three quotes for extension room which went up by 5 euros every time. The safe deposit is 42 euros for two weeks. We spoke to people unhappy with their room who were asked to pay more than 100 euros to upgrade.
It generally looks like things need updating/tending to like the broken fixture in the middle of the jacuzzi, broken tiles in the pool area and bird droppings on the stairs which stayed there for the entire 14 days.
The rules....countless laminated signs around telling you "how to eat" (use plates so you do not encourage ants) do not drop your towels on the floor and do not use to remove make up! Rules for using the lift...it goes on.

We did have an amazing holiday and would recommend Alikes, there are good restaurants, the Trainaki trip and Spiros Greek night are not to be missed however we would probably not choose to stay at Koukounaria although would definately eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greecemaniamidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Sorry to read others experiences as we have just returned (June 14) from a great week at the KouKounaria hotel. It was wonderful. We had a lovely room; massive balcony overlooking the pool.Room was exactly as requested. Location was perfect up the road from Restaurants and Bars, but so peaceful. Just a 7 minute walk to the beach which was great. Sandy, clean, shallow water so great for kids and non swimmers, Lots of beach front restaurants etc to choose from.
Pool area at the hotel was kept spotless, I watched them clean the area every morning from my balcony. Room lovely.
Restaurant was also really lovely and the snack bar good for breakfast and snacks. We took a kettle as we always do as I have never had one anywhere in Greek accomodation.
I thought for the price we paid for a week it was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
2.1 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
9.8 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kanela Studios
Kanela Studios
#8 of 28 in Alykes
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites

Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Alykes
Price Range: £53 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star hotel with total 78 studios, apartments and deluxe suites is situated in a beautiful lush green environment of colorful flowers and very old pine trees, with stunning sea and mountain views, just a few minutes walk (300m) from the center of Alykes and the wide, child friendly sandy beach with its shallow waters. We have impressed our guests, couples and families, of whom many are coming back for years, with our high quality services within a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. You will hear the village roosters, goats, swallow parents feeding their babies and many more village sounds in the morning; the smell of jasmine will captivate you in the evening, and at the same time you will enjoy 4-star services in a family environment. We are a little different than the usual 4-star hotels: You will not find staff with the typical uniforms and serious faces - we are a large family who is committed to serve their guests and we love to do this with a smile and a personal touch. Every guest is like a friend of the family that we haven't seen for a long time: we will offer the traditional Zakynthian warm hospitality. We want you to feel comfortable, relaxed and want you to get to know the Zakynthian kitchen, just enjoy your stay at the KOUKOUNARIA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koukounaria Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing