We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!”
Review of Koukounaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koukounaria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in May 2014. We were looking looking for something cheap and cheerful and to be honest for the price we paid we weren't expecting much. However we were pleasantly surprised! The staff here are fantastic, all so friendly and very helpful. The rooms were basic but quite big and they were cleaned every single day.
The hotel is in a great location, only a 5/10 minute walk to both the beach and the town.
I recommend the horse riding which that we did with Nana's. An amazing experience with a horse ride through the hills and then able to go bareback into the sea!
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want something simple but close to the amenities.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    90
    34
    8
    10
See reviews for
208
109
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Nice location a few minutes to centre and far enough away from any noise. Nice rooms plenty hot water. Bins emptied daily fresh towels. Room 397 directly above pool fabulous views. Looking to return in September.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

lovely hotel,extortionate prices for air con had to pay for 2 units having booked an 1 bed apt,only seperated by arch no door between areas.pool area spotless and lit beautiful on a night.used gate through park at back of building near pool to cut through to salt flats and bottom of resort and beach less busy.shops restaraunts bars close by. check with tour operator about balcony even though we paid for one we still had to request it.

Room Tip: rooms in pool block had a lift check with tour operator about balcony even if it states you have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weresmewellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Koukounaria and we just love it. Yes, the rooms are basic and maybe the bathrooms could do with upgrading and yes there are additional charges if you book through Thomas Cook but those charges are clear when you book. However that said the hotel is beautiful, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially those in the pool bar. The pool area is so good, large swimming pool and large jacuzzi. We ate at the Lino Bistro 3 times and the meals were lovely. We had a perfect holiday and will definitely be going back next year. Thankyou everyone at the Koukounaria. Sue, Clive and Lucy

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modeDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just back from my 2nd trip to the Koukounaria in 2 years. Great hotel! The staff are all so friendly, the rooms, pool area and bar are great and the restaurant is the best I've ever eaten in. Lovely location under 5 mins walk from the beach, shops, restaurants and bars. Very relaxed chilled out hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 rooms at opposite ends of the hotel and they were both excellent. Basic but clean, all y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Koukounaria Hotel from June 15th - 22nd, it was my son's (age 6) first holiday abroad. Absolutely loved the hotel and location. Our room was room 212 which was a one bedroom apartment, it was massive and kept very clean.

Pool area was kept very clean and the pool bar/snack bar staff were always very helpful and friendly.

When we checked in and gave our names, Claudia remembered the email I sent previously telling them it was my son's first holiday abroad, and we even got the sea view requested on my email.

Reception staff were brilliant, very friendly all the time, always acknowledging you when you enter or leave the hotel.

The resort itself is small but very friendly and feels very safe for children, the beach is fantastic, lovely and sandy and the water is very shallow and most of the time quite calm.

The food in Alykes was fantastic, favourite restaurants was Paradisiako and Fidelios, we did eat at the hotel restaurant and it was nice but we felt there was better value for money in the resort, we were disappointed that one of the meals we ordered in the Lino Bistro was served with frozen vegetables.

We ended up in the bar Sugarbush most evenings where we were always made to feel welcome, great table service from Jenny who also made my son feel very welcome.

We were disappointed that the Greek night was cancelled but this was probably due to the hotel being quite quiet when we arrived.

Possible improvements that could be made would include a table service at the Blues Bar like the service in the resort.

The air conditioning is quite expensive, but we were aware of this extra charge before we travelled, it is something we will be bearing in mind when selecting a room in the future.

We are hoping to return to the Koukounaria next year but this time for longer as 7 days wasn't enough. My son loved every minute of it and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Thanks to Claudia and the team for making us feel so welcome and making my son's holiday feel very special,

Janitta, Dave and Thomas

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janitta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Koukounaria Hotel a week ago. We had room 236 which is a one bedroom studio apartment with a balcony with stunning views of the sea, Kefalonia Island and mountains. The apt was kept spotless by the very good cleaning staff. For the A/C unit, safe and a kettle we paid 105 Euros for a 10 days stay.
All of the complex is kept spotless and all of the staff are excellent and very friendly, especially Claudia who helped us with accommodation (thank you for our fantastic room) and gave us all the necessary information about the Hotel, which Thomas Cook couldn't help us with.
Koukounaria Hotel has a lovely large pool (Olympic size) with lots of sunbeds and a small pool for kids and a Jacuzzi. Pool bar is excellent for breakfast and lunch - good variety of food at reasonable prices, staff were friendly and attentive especially Panos and Amelia.
Location was perfect, very peaceful, up the road from Restaurants and Bars, just 10 minutes walk to the beach which was great: sandy, clean and shallow, very good for a snorkelling.
Hotel restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Alykes, we also recommend Fidelio, Paradosiako, Astoria and a family restaurant next to it- on the beach, Maestro Restaurant has a lovely food and good prices, service can be quite slow but it's worth the wait.
We are going to recommend the Koukounaria Hotel to all our friends. We definitely would like to come back next year.
Once again a big thank you to all the staff and thumbs up :)

Room Tip: We had room 236 which is a one bedroom studio apartment with a balcony with stunning views of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaAndBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
5.8 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
644 reviews
9.8 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 50 in Tsilivi
236 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#3 of 5 in Tragaki
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koukounaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koukounaria Hotel

Property: Koukounaria Hotel
Address: Katastari, Alykes 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Koukounaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4star hotel with total 78 studios, apartments and deluxe suites is situated in a beautiful lush green environment of colorful flowers and very old pine trees, with stunning sea and mountain views, just a few minutes walk (300m) from the center of Alykes and the wide, child friendly sandy beach with its shallow waters. We have impressed our guests, couples and families, of whom many are coming back for years, with our high quality services within a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. You will hear the village roosters, goats, swallow parents feeding their babies and many more village sounds in the morning; the smell of jasmine will captivate you in the evening, and at the same time you will enjoy 4-star services in a family environment. We are a little different than the usual 4-star hotels: You will not find staff with the typical uniforms and serious faces - we are a large family who is committed to serve their guests and we love to do this with a smile and a personal touch. Every guest is like a friend of the family that we haven't seen for a long time: we will offer the traditional Zakynthian warm hospitality. We want you to feel comfortable, relaxed and want you to get to know the Zakynthian kitchen, just enjoy your stay at the KOUKOUNARIA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Koukounaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koukounaria Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing