We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic studios, great pool, lovely resort”
Review of Nikos Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nikos Studios
Ranked #21 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Alykes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic studios, great pool, lovely resort”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Travelled with my partner to the Nikos in July 2011. Cheap and basic studios, and you get exactly what you pay for. I've stayed in 1 and 2 star places before that were a million times worse than this- it compares well! Studios were very basic but comfortable. Cleaned daily which was nice, sometimes you don't get that in self catering 1 star places especially. Towels changed mid week. Room was comfy but small, kitchen area adequate if you wanted to cook anything basic, had a fridge and cooking ring, but we ate out the whole time. Oh- definitely get air con- it is a must and makes your sleep soooo comfortable...we don't know how some people survived without it, the heat was unbearable at night without it and it was well worth 35 euros for the week!

Pool area was great, really big pool and gets sun all throughout the day, was never too crowded and we always got a sunbed, very quiet and relaxing. We liked that it wasn't ever noisy, no rowdy groups, mostly couples and the odd few friends together. Nice atmosphere.

Pool bar did basic food but the greek salads were good and they do a good choice of sandwiches/burgers/salads/drinks. All reasonably priced- 4 euros for a generous greek salad, 3.50 euros for omelette and chips, etc...so we ate lunch there quite a lot. Nikos and his son who work often in the bar are very friendly and helpful.

Any downsides to the studios- the size, they are very small. You may be placed in the Nikos 2 building which is a two minute walk from the main studios/pool. This did not bother me but some people were annoyed not to be staying right beside the pool area. As others mentioned the pool is very deep but to be honest this is a quiet, couples kind of accommodation....there were no families there really when we were there and there were probably better places to stay if you had kids.

Alykes is a gorgeous town with lots and lots of lovely bars and restaurants, beautiful beaches which have stunning clear water to swim in, and nice places to wander. The canal along to Alykanas is very pretty. Not tonnes to do in terms of culture/sightseeing but there are companies who do trips to other parts of the island if you want to see further afield. We were happy just relaxing in the resort. Our favourite places to eat were Zorbas for lovely Greek dishes, the Apollo Taverna which was near our studios, and at lunch times we loved just getting a pitta from Denny's Diner or the Pita Break place, both did great cheap greek pitas or gyros!

A great holiday and I'd go back again definitely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AberdeenAli88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    46
    33
    8
    20
See reviews for
28
83
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

travelled to the nikos with my boyfriend had a amazing time was a bit worried from the reviews but it was perfectly fine for what we paid it was clean tidy and all the staff were very friendly the beach is within easy walking distance,as other people have said on reviews the pool is deep but its fine for adults i dont think that i would take kids to the nikos as there isnt much for them to do. the resort of alykes was really nice lovely beaches and loads of places to eat overall we had a fab time and would totally recomend the nikos

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Would like to say a big thank you to nikos and family for the great time my mother and i had with you all this summer, nothing was to much trouble, We were missing a few small items from our room but with in a few hours they were sorted by theo with a big smile and his sence of humour. we are planning a return trip there in 2011 hope there is room for us!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I'd read the reviews, some had a terrible time, so was naturally, worried.

We were placed in room 25, the left hand side of the building as you view it from the front, with the pool. My mum was placed in room 8, at the left hand side of the pool on the ground floor. Truly magnificent. Ours was a lovely appartment, with a double bed on one side, twin beds in the kitchenette side and a terrific balcony running across both doors. My mums was of course, smaller, with a double and a single in the same bit, a small kitchen with the same facilities and a bathroom of about the same size.

The facilitiies are basic. Of course, there's a toilet, sink and shower with a hand held shower spray. It works, what else could you ask for. Toilet bins were emptied every day, room was cleaned beautifully. The Cleaning lady was lovely and very polite. There's a small plug in "hob" with 2 rings, a kettle and a large fridge with a freezer compartment. Everything you need frankly, what more can people want? We paid the 35 euro a week for Air conditioning, as temperatures were still in the high twenties to early 30s at night. We also paid 8 euro per week for the safety deposit, but we'd saved towards this before we went.

Theo was lovely, very kind and helpful. His mum and dad don't speak English, but we could make ourselves understood as I spoke a teeny bit of Greek (embarrasing really, should learn more). Water is available at 50c a small bottle and 1.50E a big bottle. Helpful when you don't feel up to carrying six bottles back from the local supermarket!

The pool? Of course, it's deep, you've been warned! I'm 5'6" and I could just stand up at the end nearest the bar, but it's clean, lovely and good for a swim, the kids? Stick them in those inflatable jackets or baby swimrings you can buy there for only 3 or 4 euros if you shop around. 6 or 7 euro will buy you an inflatable extravaganza for them that will make you laugh and keep them entertained! They loved the pool and went in it every day. We've left a boat for any babys coming after our stay and one of those yellow things with cross over straps at the bottom! The pool bar is basic, but cocktails are cheaper than in town, you can get a burger, pizza or chips, if that's your type of fun, they do a greek salad, but there didn't seem to be much in the way of greek food, which is a shame as they are a traditional greek family. They did however, run a greek night every two weeks, for only 10 euros, it was juicy, tender lamb chops, masses of salads, a giant lump of feta, more bread than we could eat, tzaziki and beautiful olives. Well worth it! Not to mention the staff dancing, poor souls. Still Theo seemed to enjoy it.

It's very close to the beach, if you don't mind pebbles, but, if you don't mind a slightly longer walk to the Parapos beach bar, the beach is sandy, you can walk out for a good stretch before it gets deep and "Kev" the local sunbed guy, gives you two sunbeds, a brolly and beach service for only 5 euros. Best Mojitos I have ever tasted from Parapos! Local food for lunch can be cheap, only 2.50euro for a gyros at parapos. Walk further up to Ionian star, they did a lunch special with a salad or chips and a beer or soft drink from 3 euros!

Alykes is magical, the restaurant owners freindly, the people are lovely and places to be found if you are willing to explore. If you like to go with what's set, the turtle tour is excellent, as is the little train that runs through the old villages in the hills and shows you something of the local industry and culture. If you want to go into Zante town, beware the night tour, as it takes so long to get there, you only get 2 hours or so and there is so much there - too much to see in two hours! Don't listen to Thomas Cook, trips are reliable, have you ever heard of one being cancelled? They may not bowl up exactly on time, but they will turn up! Titter away as Thomas cook suggest you pay a good ten euro more on average for the trip.

Someone did go to the water park, they said the trip was worth it as it's more expensive to go by yourself. Just a bit of info to those wanting to go, we passed it on route to the turtles, it looked good fun, but not much shelter from the sun for babies.

The local supermarket is not cheap, don't think you can go there and buy nappies at roughly the same price, it's a small place and the cheaper stuff runs out fast! We took mountains of nappies with us, swim nappies particularly, are expensive out there. The pound doesn't get so many euros these days! Never mind eh, it's a holiday, once a year if you're lucky!

The walk to Alakanas along the canal at night is beautiful, it's slightly bigger as a resort and is worth a nose.

All in all, we had the time of our lives, our children loved it, the people, food and history are charming, wonderful and tragic (in that order) all at once. The Nikos made it our best stay ever and we loved every minute.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seafret1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Like many people who have written reviews about these studios, I was a little apprehensive about what I would find when we arrived at the studios and I can honestly say I need not have worried at all. The rooms are typically Greek - basic but clean and comfortable. This is a family-owned and run 2 star set of studios so don't expect 4 star levels of comfort and you won't be disappointed either. The room we stayed in (myself and my 12 year old son) had three single beds, a wardrobe, dressing table and bedside cabinet in the main area. In the kitchen was a kettle, refrigerator, hot plate and sink etc. The bathroom consisted of a toilet, basin and shower tray with a handheld shower. There is no curtain as it is effectively a wet room with drainage in the floor, but this is common throughout Greece at this level of accomodation and really isn't a hardship. Each room also has a balcony with chairs/table and the option of air conditioning which we took. The studios are quiet during the evenings (we were in Nikos 2 which is around 100m away from Nikos 1 where the pool and bar are) so would suit all ages unless you want to party all night! The pool is large with a 2.7m deep end and a 1.4m shallow end - quite deep for small children, however there are several pools at bars and accomodation close by which are free to use so that shouldn't put you off. The family who run the hotel are fantastic - they're friendly, helpful and will do their best to ensure you have a great holiday. Maid service was excellent, she seemed to empty bins, make beds and/or change towels and sheets pretty much most days, perhaps 12 out of the 14 we were there. Food from the bar is actually pretty good quality - the Greek salads are fabulous! Portion sizes are good and although it's only really classed as a snack bar, the variety of dishes on offer was also excellent. The studios are about a ten minute walk from the main part of town with a wide variety of restaurant to choose from, 5 minutes walk from the nearest beach and 10 minutes walk from the main sandy beach. The sea here is absolutely clear and the beach very clean. The test of any hotel or resort is whether I would use it again - I definitely would!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

After reading the reviews I was apprehensive about what to expect. This review is honest and realistic. We have just had the most relaxing holiday. The studios are perfectly situated just off the main strip (10 minute walk max). The beach is 5 mins away and the sea is the clearest we have seen. Nikos and his family are very friendly and helpful. Theo is very welcoming and enertaining. The towels are changed twice a week, which from the reviews, may not be often enough for some- however, we were given 4 towels each time, so that was plenty. The hotel, pool and surroundings are lovely and clean. The room is basic, however no different to any other hotel we have stayed in on the greek islands. If u want a higher standard of room in greece, u have to expect to pay more money. They were more than satisfactory as was the maid and standard of hygiene. There are lots of tavernas to eat in. They are all equally fantastic. We ate in a different place almost every night and had great meals in every one. Apollo taverna is next to nikos. The restaurant is excellent and the pool bar does a gyros (with chips inside) for 2euro. Relax and Asteria were also really good. I can't think of a negative comment to say about nikos or alikes. I would definitley return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliviap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

total hole....i was placed i the 2nd building from the hotel which is ment to be only 100 meters away which it isnt...please dont be fooled, the street you walk down to the swimming pool area has no street lights so take a torch, my room was disgusting, uriene and sick stained matresses we slepted in that had no protector cover. the room was infested with little sandy spiders also. the maid did not clean the room daily she only emptied the bin. my cookin equipment was taped together by masking tape and my toilet had no tiolet seat and stuffed shty toilet paper at the back of the toilet!! total disgusting..... the eating area at nikos was infested with flies...every time you put food to your mouth you near swallowed one!!! on arrival i cried and phoned home wanting to come home. i complained to staff and was then ill treated for the rest of my stay,..dirty looks from the mother and theo. the swiming pool is not child friendly as at the shallow end i couldnt stand with my head above water and i am 5ft 4! please do not be fooled by thomas cook....i am in the middle of recieveing a claim for compensation wich is promising as all i have to do is supply photos. Please do not stay here the only good thing is the weather

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wejuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alykes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alykes hotels
0.0 mi away
Akis Studios
Akis Studios
#11 of 28 in Alykes
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Montes Apartments & Studios
0.0 mi away
Clio Hotel
Clio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Alykes
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanela Studios
Kanela Studios
#13 of 28 in Alykes
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikos Studios

Property: Nikos Studios
Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Alykes
Hotel Class:3 star — Nikos Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Nikos Studios Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing