We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable Room and Poor Quality Dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillegom
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Miserable Room and Poor Quality Dining”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The room at the Flora was of dubious cleanliness and the whole facility looks like a third world hotel -- not what I would expect in shiny clean Holland. The pork schnitzel for dinner tasted like it had been cooked in motor oil. If I had not been part of a tour group, I would have never checked in, but would have been on the phone with my quality American Express folks finding a better option.

The bathrooms are dinky, though the water is nice and hot.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menardjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    15
    15
    5
See reviews for
13
30
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Flora and also returned for a family dinner on another evening.

The decor was very 'tired'. The room was cramped. Little room to move and lacking in niceties like a hook to hold the balcony door open. Our room overlooked the main street which was noisey when they had a function across the street. Fortunately that stopped before too late.

The breakfast buffet was very mediocre. Most selections were prepacked, the breakfast room was dowdy.

The evening meal was good, though service a little slow.

As other reviewers have noted - this is one of the few hotels in Hillegom. Staff had to multi task and were very hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingkiwiOamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Hotel Flora is a lovely hotel in an area where there isn't a great deal of choice. Peak season is certainly the spring during the tourist trips to the bulb fields and The Keukenhof (National Bulb Gardens). The hotel is situated in the middle of town and on the main shopping street at the more functional and practical side of town. There is a car park behind the hotel. Hillegom isn't a huge place so it's relatively straightforward to find the hotel if driving. There is a lovely walk down the shopping street to the church and canals which is very picturesque and I guess the original heart of town. I've stayed a few times on business and the rooms have always been spacious, comfortable and clean. The decor is somewhat dated, so if you are looking for contemporary / boutique type of hotel...that's not the Flora! The staff have always been friendly and helpful. Haven't had a meal in the restaurant, although the breakfast buffet is perfectly fine.

Room Tip: Hillegom is a lovely quiet town, so you are not going to have a lot of noise from the main street, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed two nights on business. Very basic but clean rooms. Good enough breakfast. Just off one of the main streets in Hillegom. Friendly staff. Some parking spaces too, which is a big plus in the Netherlands.Seems to be a hotel, more focused on doing functions and its cafe. Not a business traveller hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Located just up the road from the famed Keukenhof gardens, the Hotel Flora was a pleasant surprise on our trip through the Netherlands. The staff were helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make sure our family was comfortable and had rooms which suited us. This is no easy task since we are a large family and regular rooms simply do not work for us. The staff at the Flora were simply lovely and walking the pedestrian district in Hillegom made our evening spent there very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juwaraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

The hotel is in the pedestrianised, post war, shopping centre of Hillegom, which is a town that would only interest tourists because of its proximity to the bulbfields.

Bedroom OK - not particularly spacious, pleasant decor, small bathroom with mixer shower, little storage.

Spacious restaurant and other downstairs rooms - looks as if it hosts large functions, but it was quiet when we stayed. Breakfast ordinary, dinner was good.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathematica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillegom
2.6 mi away
Hotel De Duif
Hotel De Duif
#1 of 2 in Lisse
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
5.4 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden Oegstgeest
3.1 mi away
De Rustende Jager
De Rustende Jager
#1 of 1 in Nieuw-Vennep
97 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#1 of 1 in Kaag
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora

Property: Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Address: Hoofdstraat 55, 2181 EB Hillegom, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Hillegom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillegom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing