We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Welsh Rarebit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true Welsh Rarebit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had the pleasure of stumbling into this great little Inn tonight n enjoying an outstanding home cooked meal in authentic historic surroundings in the heart of true Welsh countryside. Matched by a truely warm welcome from hosts Dom & Claire n friendly guests. Highly recomended ! Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissywales12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
34
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our third visit to the Black lion Hotel in 3 years, we were warmly welcomed, and nothing was too much trouble. I had the steak pie and my partner had the king prawn starter then the duck, which he claims is the best he has ever had ( and he is a very fussy eater). All the food looked lovely and the portions large.The real ale is perfectly kept and the felinfoel ( double dragon) is to die for. Rooms are cosy,clean and well maintained.Hosts Dom and Clair are very helpful,friendly and you couldnt ask for more. perfect place for anyone to stay.

Room Tip: we like room one, as you can hear the stream bubbling past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We always stay here when we do the uni run with our daugthter, it is a short drive from Aberystwyth but it is very friendly, excellent value for money, food amazing, very clean and with a relaxed atmosphere. Dominic and Claire are great hosts and remember us when we book.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have stayed at the Black Lion Hotel in Wales a number of times over the last few years and have always found it exceptional in every way.
The food is wonderfully cooked and very reasonably priced.
As per 'Chill Out' the hosts were kind and attentive even when busy and we have already booked again to visit this year with the rest of our family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g4pey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have visited the Black Lion Hotel on numerous occasions for evening meal and have never come away from there disappointed, but last Saturday night we were. The place was full, and as far as we could see only one table for two and one table of four had ordered their food. We ordered our food, and waited 35 minutes for the starter, I had the goats cheese tartlet, the puff pastry was burnt and therefore had a bitter taste and I'm not sure if the goats cheese would have fitted on a teaspoon! I know it was a starter and I did not expect a large portion, but bigger than this. We waited a further 30 minutes for our main meal. The gammon for main meal was a thin slice that also had been cooked for too long and as a result was very dry. I don't know if they have changed their chef, but we definitely will not be back, such a shame, it used to be the best place to eat in the area.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C0uple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckbotanica, Owner at Black Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
So sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Black.We had no idea that there were any problems with the food that evening.It was very busy however and there were more people seated in the lounge area. I do wish you had let someone know that you had a problem with anything on the night and we would have given you a complimentary meal by way of apology. As far as I'm aware the customers were told that there would be a wait for the food as it was busy and also we were short staffed and under pressure in the kitchen.
Once again we are very sorry for any disappointments, and we are still one of the best places to eat in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was one of the best stays we have ever had anywhere.The room was very comfortable, warm and clean.The hosts Dominic and Claire were fabulous, as was the food.The scenery and wildlife second to none.If you want peace and quiet this is the place first class,thank you both and your staff. Merve and Olga Edwards

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mervyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le kremlin-bicêtre
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We spend a really good time in the Black Lion Hotel. The room was spacious and really comfortable, and the restaurant offered delicious food.
It's not far from the artificial lakes of Rheidol Valley, and very close to the Devil's Bridge, which are two beautiful places to go.
Moreover, our host was really nice and made us feel like home. For sure a B&B to go to !

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank juju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontrhydfendigaid
5.3 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
9.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pontrhydfendigaid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
6.4 mi away
The Hafod Hotel
The Hafod Hotel
#2 of 2 in Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Property: Black Lion Hotel
Address: Mill St | Ystrad Meurig, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Pontrhydfendigaid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontrhydfendig...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsh country inn with seven tastefully decorated rooms and great food. Near Strata Florida abbey, Cors Caron and the Hafod estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, HRS, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing