We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a true wonder”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is our second visit and had no hesitation to pre book again for July. Our hosts Dom and Claire are first rate genuine people who make you very welcome.The room was clean and spacious and well stocked.Their cooking is second to none.The local scenery is breathtaling as is the local wildlife with red kites flying so low on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mervyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had the pleasure of stumbling into this great little Inn tonight n enjoying an outstanding home cooked meal in authentic historic surroundings in the heart of true Welsh countryside. Matched by a truely warm welcome from hosts Dom & Claire n friendly guests. Highly recomended ! Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissywales12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our third visit to the Black lion Hotel in 3 years, we were warmly welcomed, and nothing was too much trouble. I had the steak pie and my partner had the king prawn starter then the duck, which he claims is the best he has ever had ( and he is a very fussy eater). All the food looked lovely and the portions large.The real ale is perfectly kept and the felinfoel ( double dragon) is to die for. Rooms are cosy,clean and well maintained.Hosts Dom and Clair are very helpful,friendly and you couldnt ask for more. perfect place for anyone to stay.

Room Tip: we like room one, as you can hear the stream bubbling past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We always stay here when we do the uni run with our daugthter, it is a short drive from Aberystwyth but it is very friendly, excellent value for money, food amazing, very clean and with a relaxed atmosphere. Dominic and Claire are great hosts and remember us when we book.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have stayed at the Black Lion Hotel in Wales a number of times over the last few years and have always found it exceptional in every way.
The food is wonderfully cooked and very reasonably priced.
As per 'Chill Out' the hosts were kind and attentive even when busy and we have already booked again to visit this year with the rest of our family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g4pey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have visited the Black Lion Hotel on numerous occasions for evening meal and have never come away from there disappointed, but last Saturday night we were. The place was full, and as far as we could see only one table for two and one table of four had ordered their food. We ordered our food, and waited 35 minutes for the starter, I had the goats cheese tartlet, the puff pastry was burnt and therefore had a bitter taste and I'm not sure if the goats cheese would have fitted on a teaspoon! I know it was a starter and I did not expect a large portion, but bigger than this. We waited a further 30 minutes for our main meal. The gammon for main meal was a thin slice that also had been cooked for too long and as a result was very dry. I don't know if they have changed their chef, but we definitely will not be back, such a shame, it used to be the best place to eat in the area.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C0uple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckbotanica, Owner at Black Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

So sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Black.We had no idea that there were any problems with the food that evening.It was very busy however and there were more people seated in the lounge area. I do wish you had let someone know that you had a problem with anything on the night and we would have given you a complimentary meal by way of apology. As far as I'm aware the customers were told that there would be a wait for the food as it was busy and also we were short staffed and under pressure in the kitchen.
Once again we are very sorry for any disappointments, and we are still one of the best places to eat in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was one of the best stays we have ever had anywhere.The room was very comfortable, warm and clean.The hosts Dominic and Claire were fabulous, as was the food.The scenery and wildlife second to none.If you want peace and quiet this is the place first class,thank you both and your staff. Merve and Olga Edwards

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mervyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontrhydfendigaid
5.3 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
329 reviews
12.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
20.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
18.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
269 reviews
8.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: Mill St | Ystrad Meurig, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Pontrhydfendigaid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontrhydfendig...
Price Range: £71 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsh country inn with seven tastefully decorated rooms and great food. Near Strata Florida abbey, Cors Caron and the Hafod estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing