We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice this year and would go again tomorrow”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've stayed at the Black Lion twice already this year, both times while we've been completing hiking projects in the area. What can we say? The welcome is warm, the beer good and the service friendly. The breakfast tomatoes are to die for... I asked for the recipe and have been eating them ever since. The rooms vary in size - the ones in the stable block are huge while the ones above the pub are smaller. All are well-furnished and attention has been paid to detail. All in all a great place to stay in a very pretty little town where everyone is friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: If you need plenty of space or are staying for more than one/two nights ask for a room in the conver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWalkersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for one night. It's a pub in a small, quiet village with accommodation in converted outbuildings. Our room & bathroom were nice, quite small but clean, cosy & with tea & coffee, enough storage space & Sky TV.

We had a great welcome and had dinner in the pub, the food really was good and generous portions. There's also a pool table in another room.

We filled in a form for our breakfast order & were told it would be served in the bar. The next morning we went down for breakfast only to find two other guests (& the guy who'd helped serve our food the night before) waiting outside. We were told the owner couldn't be found so, no breakfast! We wandered around for a bit & then "serving guy" walks past us saying he'd been waiting for 40 minutes, had had enough & was going home! We returned to the pub & a further two guests arrived. We discover the pub is open & still with no sign of any staff we found cereals, milk & juice in the kitchen and just helped ourselves. Why "serving guy" couldn't go in & at least make some tea & coffee is a mystery - he must have known the place was open.

Looking back it was quite funny but it did cast a bit of a cloud over what had otherwise been a great stay.

To be fair, they have refunded our money for the stay.

I would stay here again but I'd want to be absolutely sure I was getting breakfast with my bed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZweiDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed there for 1 night. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent. The room was the biggest surprise. It was big, nicely furnished and very clean. I would recommend the Black Lion to anybody visiting this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harvey_Williamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have to agree with previous comments about the exterior wooden steps leading to/from the room, but only insofar as we arrived in the dark, in stormy weather. If in daylight would have been fine, even with very small children. As it was, him indoors turned his ankle (but thankfully not seriously) trying to get back down to the car for the baggage, which could have been prevented by lighting the staircase at night. Also, it was our misfortune to have booked to stay on Valentine's night. We were visiting the Aberystwyth university open day the next morning. Valentine's night proved to be very popular with local customers, resulting in a minor delay to our orders due to sheer numbers, and 'relegation' to the restaurant as all the loved up couples wanted to eat in the bar. That does speak volumes about how the Black Lion is perceived locally though - so is a recommendation/thumbs up. Hosts apologetic and acknowledged our wait but were obviously rushed off their feet with customers - victims of their own success. We enjoyed our meal, even if as a family group of four we may somewhat have ruined the atmosphere for the lone couple in the restaurant with us!

TV reception in the room was poor, not sure how this happened - it may have been due to the appalling weather rather than poor tv installation to be fair. Furniture and bathroom good, excellent space for 3 sizable adults and 1 eleven yr old child . Hosts had more time for us on departure in the morning (understandably) and were as attentive as our first visit - lovely people. An improvement since our last stay is the facility to order breakfast items the night before - thanks. We were treated to another custom cooked, excellent breakfast the following morning, precisely as we had ordered (and we all chose different things). All in all, still very fond of the Black Lion and hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midgelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on route to meet and subsequently adopt a rescue Spaniel. Great pub. Very welcoming and friendly, room was large and nicely done. Fab breakfast to set us up for the day ahead. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suze360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Arrived lin the evening when work in the area overran unexpectedly. The hosts were extremely accommodating and were able to provide food and rooms even though we hadn't booked.
Rooms were excellent, warm and welcoming and the wifi was a real bonus for our work needs.
An excellent pub, with good food and great rooms. Would certainly stay again when next in the area. Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here at the end of November 2013, in room 7. All in all it was a lovely place to stay. Room 7 is a family room, with its own small balcony which is wonderful if you are a smoker and want to 'pop out'. The room was very clean but FREEZING on arrival - as in, we could see our breath freezing. This was a bit of a let down after a long car journey when it's dark and and cold and it dampened the first impressions a bit - we thought it would have been good to get the room heated up if someone was booked it etc but I popped straight over to the pub to speak to Alyn (the Landlord/Boss) and he was brilliant and brought us an oil filled plug in heater which was brilliant and heated the room really quickly. The room itself had a double bed, bunk beds and plenty of seating, sky TV a lovely sized room and the most amazing shower! It was lovely.
The breakfast was one the best things about the stay - Alyn and his partner do THE best fry up ever! You could have anything you wanted and it was delicious - he was also flexible with breakfast times and checkout times and overall very friendly and chatty - which makes all the difference when staying somewhere.
I would highly recommend this place to stay and to eat (the food when we went to the pub to eat in the evening was fantastic), the pub also has WIFI and signal (the only place in the village to have any) but the rooms don't. There are many gorgeous walks to go on locally and it's so peaceful - all you can hear when you wake up in the morning is cows mooing and red kites squawking/chiping/calling.
Will definitely be staying again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarfieWarfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontrhydfendigaid
5.3 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
330 reviews
12.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
20.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
732 reviews
18.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
269 reviews
8.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: Mill St | Ystrad Meurig, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Pontrhydfendigaid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontrhydfendig...
Price Range: £71 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsh country inn with seven tastefully decorated rooms and great food. Near Strata Florida abbey, Cors Caron and the Hafod estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing