We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Little Hotel”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super Little Hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We checked into the Red Lion for a three night break to visit The Elan Valley and the Aberystwyth area of Mid Wales.
A lovely little rural hide-away deep in the forests and mountains.
We were greeted by the staff and made extremely welcome and shown to our room which was beautifully clean and crisp. The bathroom and shower was 'to die for'.
There was a lovely feeling of being 'away from it all'.
Roland was our host (who hailed from Hungary, would you believe) and his beautiful Boxer dog 'Cuba' .
Roland prepared breakfast every morning and filled us with excellent Full Welsh fry-up's. In the evening The Red Lion menu offered a limited but very tasty selection of home cooked fare, with yes, the most fantastic REAL chips that only your mum ever made from fresh potatoes ! Wow, what a treat !
We would not hesitate to reccomend this little establishment to anyone. Go there, try it, enjoy it.
If you cant sleep here, you wont sleep anywhere !

Room Tip: We had room 1, cant speak for the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    12
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here recently when looking for someplace to stay near Lampeter. It was a really outstanding experience. Let me once again explain, as I have in some previous reviews, that I rate like for like, so I am not saying this is a five star luxury hotel. I am however saying this is one of, if not the best, pub/inn B&Bs I have ever been to.

It is a small local pub with a busy local customer base. It is also a well appointed and maintained place to stay the night. The room was large for the price, had loads of hot water, a bath (in room 4) and good quality twin beds. The beds were comfortable with one firm and the other softer (If planned and excellent idea, and If not don't change it as it really works). The room was clean, nicely decorated, and had all of the little items (tea, coffee, soaps, shampoo) that make a stay nice. There is also good quality Wi-Fi.

The staff were super. We arrived at 8:45 pm and were given a warm welcome. We noted on entering that food was served until 9, so we asked if we should eat before checking in, and were told it wasn't a problem, she would go tell chef and we could order when we were ready. In the same spirit breakfast is served from 8 and we had to leave for 7, this too was catered for (an effort we really appreciated).

The dining area is small with about 5 or 6 tables on one side of the bar area. It was clean, and very atmospheric. As already noted, there is a large local patronage, and it added to my cultural experience to hear Welsh being spoken in the bar area, and to feel I was in a real "local" local.

The dinner we had was true to its billing as well. The "home cooked" meal was just that, it had a homely feel rather than a restaurant "presentation." The chips were hand cut, fried well, and reminded my partner of the ones from her childhood. The portion sizes were good, and my fish was well cooked and her curry tasty.

In the end we didn't have time for the breakfast, as we were running late, but they did have it arranged for us all the same, and were very good about us needing to go without it.

All in all, an outstanding stay, good quality sleep, and wonderful staff. Really top of their class.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a bath, the others showers. Rooms can be accessed from a back door closer to the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stopped here for two nights while visiting family in Aberystwyth, the room (4) was very nice, typical of an old building the floor has a bit of a slope, could have been interesting if I was a drinker lol
Beds are of a good standard albeit basic, shower was good, shower gel and hair shampoo supplied. Free very good signal cloud WiFi.
Breakfast was good quality cooked breakfast, no frills like cereals or fruit, plenty of it with enough toast to satisfy most people. Plenty of parking in the car park attached to the hotel.
Ok so draw backs, it's a very busy local pub at weekends, a community meeting place so quite noisy until about midnight, it is in the middle of nowhere, great for walking though, and if you like to keep in touch with your mobile....forget it, it's not going to happen.
So to summarise good basic b&b good value good food, and good pub grub in the evenings, will we use again? Certainly will.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelinman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Red Lion a couple of time while staying in the adjacent Parc Teifi cottages. Good local beer, decent white wine, good home cooked food, friendly staff what more could you want - eat in the lounge, bar area has Sky for the football, pool table and two (?) dart boards.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 6amigos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Best sunday lunch we've had out ..... I had beef my partner had lamb and it was beautiful ..... And pudding was lovely too ..... Weekday menu looked reasonably priced with plenty of choice ..... Freindly staff ..... We will be goin back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolt4690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent two nights at this charming pub, finding nothing to complain about except the difficulty of pronouncing the name of the village. Mind you, the locals just call it Bont. Our room was spotless, with all the facilities and toiletries you would expect in a city hotel. A good breakfast was included. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great food, friendly staff at a lovely location, basic clean accommodation. We ate in the hotel both nights, relatively inexpensive local sourced meat and very large portions that represent excellent value for money. Not far from the narrow gauge railway that runs from Devil's Bridge to Aberystwyth. Pets welcome too!

Walking distance from a lovely historic Welsh Abbey (Strata Florida) set in the middle of fantastic countryside with Red Kites soaring overhead!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontrhydfendigaid
0.0 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
0.0 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pontrhydfendigaid
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hafod Hotel
The Hafod Hotel
#2 of 2 in Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach)
232 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: Ystrad Meurig | Dyfed, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Pontrhydfendigaid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontrhydfendig...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing