We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic friendly hotel , amazing views ,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wellington Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 New Quay B&B and Inns
chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly hotel , amazing views ,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Wellington Inn ,
The rooms are beautiful with bedroom , bathroom and lounge area really spacious , but what made it fantastic was the large balcony outside our room with table and chairs and stunning views over Newquay town and harbour. It was wonderful to sit and relax on the balcony looking for the dolphins in the bay which we did see .

We decided to eat in the restaurant in the evening and it was first class. The food choice is excellent , all types of dishes and the portions are so generous as we found out with the size of the breakfast as well.

The owner is really friendly along with all the staff at this hotel.

If anyone is looking for a relaxing break in beautiful Newquay The Wellington Inn is the place to stay .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimeestar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at the Wellie 6/7/05/2012. Bedroom big and also a lounge with big TV, dvd, video and fridge.

Comfortable big twin beds.

Breakfast was thr biggest I have ever been given, could NOT eat it all.

I am going back there again this year after I have lost the weight I put on there.

Staff friendly and the owner Mike

Room Tip: Best B&B ever had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Well we've just returned from yet another stay at the Wellie. Richard, Diane and all their family made us feel at home and nothing is too much trouble, The size of the meals in the very comfortable restaurant is out of this world and with a view (if you ask) from the window seats is amazing. The breakfast is fantastic and has got to be seen or eaten to be appreciated, thanks again for a lovely stay ,Major and Mrs.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the front rooms ,with views and sound of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorCroose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Had a table booked for nine people on the 3rd March 2012, sent 3 16oz rump steaks back because you could taste the fact that the meat had gone off.. Landlord substituted meals, but wouldn't accept anything was wrong with the meat, and we paid for all the food and drinks with no offer of any concessions... didn't want to make a big fuss on the night and spoil a family get together, so I wrote a letter to the landlord about it requesting an explanation, 3 weeks on, no reply,, shame, because apart from the slightly sulky service, the food is generally ok.. you know, good pub standard and good beer.. oh well,, cant win em all, I would have recomended it to anyone, but not now..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELL1544, Owner at Wellington Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear sir, in response to your remarks left on trip advisor,the letter you wrote was not received by ourselves,and that is why we have not replied.We are a family run business,from kitchen to bar to front of house,so every customer is important to us,because we need repeat trade.At the time of your visit,we were only open friday and saturday,with supplies arriving fresh every friday,that is why i told you i was bemused when you complained the steaks did not taste right.I at no time told you i would not accept there was nothing wrong with the meat,many other people had steaks from the same delivery,with no problems,I spoke to you numerous times during the evening,and at no time did you indicate you had been dissatified,and when paying your bill,also tipped the " sulky" staff very generously.We as a family are sorry you feel your party was spoilt,and wish you had said so that night before leaving,rather than going away and leaving damaging reports on trip advisor,SHAME!.Also a SHAME!,you did not think to leave us good remarks,on previous visits,regards,Richard Campbell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have visited the Wellington for the past 17 years, we are caravanner's though so have never stayed, just visited for food & drink.

Latest visit was in August during the Newquay Music Festival, we did book last minute but we got a fantastic table with ocean view.

There were 4 of us in total, we all ordered different specials with garlic bread to start. Garlic bread was delicious & arrived very promptly.

We waited around 40 minutes for our mains so we were all very hungry. The portions are HUGE from the Welly but as usual our meals were delicious. Service was very casual which fit with the surroundings. Adore this pub!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

my partner and i stayed at the wellington inn for one night. what can i say it was pure heaven. the rooms have everything you could wish for they are spotless and spacious with a seperate lounge area. they have a well stocked mini bar in the rooms. we couldn't believe the breakfast in the morning you really must see it to believe it for the money. please book the wellington inn for any event you won't be disappointed.we can't wait to book again and as we are from tenby not too far away we hope to see richie and his family very soon. thank you for a wonderful stay.xxxxx

Room Tip: we stayed in the angharad suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

After a booking made through a major online booking site didn't eventuate (didn't think it could happen, did you!) we had to find another hotel in New Quay, on what was a very busy afternoon in the town. Wandered into the Wellington Inn, tempted by its ocean views and old world charm. Warmly welcomed and luckily one room left. Real old world B&B charm and I suspect it has a regular clientele. Wish we had dined there as it is obviously a fabulous restaurant but did enjoy the great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindazyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
11.5 mi away
Penrhos Park
Penrhos Park
#1 of 1 in Llanrhystyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 20 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#7 of 20 in New Quay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Inn

Property: Wellington Inn
Address: SA45 9NR, New Quay, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel New Quay
Wellington Inn New Quay, Ceredigion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing