We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise!”
Review of The Penwig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Penwig
Ranked #4 of 19 New Quay B&B and Inns
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here on the 24th of April in the Cottage i.e. the family room,We were welcomed and served by friendly,efficient staff.
The whole place is warm and welcoming,food was served in generous portions,and the breakfast complemented the chef.
The Cottage cost £59 for the night,but with two single and one double bed,a large bathroom,clean and bright decor,it was more than worth it.
All in all,a very pleasant stay,and full credit to the extra-friendly staff.

Room Tip: The Cottage family room is a must for the extra £10,and being detached from the pub,it's like st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raheny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    111
    40
    20
    25
See reviews for
80
209
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were looking for somewhere to have breakfast in Newquay on April Fool's Day and the first two places were a) closed and b) looked dreadful so we decided to venture into the Penwig having had an OKish lunch there a couple of years ago. We were delighted to find the place looking freshly spruced up and clean and with a new management team in who appear to be doing a great job! The full breakfast they served was fantastic and great value for money. We heard several couples who had stayed the weekend checking out and commenting on what a great stay they had had and how well they had been looked after, so hopefully Brains have got the right couple here and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayhemRossonWye_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We read some poor reviews about this place but we booked anyway because it looked great on the web site.
It's in a perfect position in a lovely seaside town.
The staff were friendly and efficient.
The food was good pub grub but that's what you're paying for - not fine dining.
The room was clean, warm and well equiped.
We found it hard to fault, it was fantastic value and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAndTina001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dyfed
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

i only live an hour from new quay,but had never been to this lovely place.stayed for one night at the penwig which cost £49 for a room with breakfast,what a bargin.easy check in,clean room and a great breakfast,what more do you want for that price?

Room Tip: ask for room 3.great views of the sea and of the dolphins in the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DyfedChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

let me start by saying i have been to this hotel for a meal about three times a year for the past four years and always look forward to having our meals there. But this year was different oh yes. ordered gammon and chips ( my usual ) hubby ordered cumberland sausage, after 40 mins along comes the boy from behind the bar with a dish of salt and a spoon saying no salt sellers were available??????? 10 mins later here comes the food hubbys sausage was solid burnt on the one side but the mash was nice . Mine was burnt black and hard on the one side couldnt even cut through it chips were thin curled and greasy (could see other people saying they were horrible) which they were . pineapple was cut so thin it was bending when the boy came back to take the plates bringing with him the mayo i had asked for at the beginning of the meal i told him it was the worst gammon i had ever had ,he just shrugged his shoulders and walked away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jadejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from a short break at west quay caravan park this week. We decided to have a meal at the penwig on the wednesday night as we had a couple of lovely drinks the previous nights. We asked the barman what time they stop serving meals and he said 20.30 every night. So we arrived at the penwig at 19.45. We observed that all the tables were taken (but not all were having meals) and we realised we may have to wait a short while for a table. I asked a female member of staff to confirm the closing time for meals and she asked the chef. To our dismay he said in 15 or 30 mins making that 20.15 in our book. There was only one guy behind the bar who was taking out meals and serving drinks. There were 2 other female staff just strutting around not doing much, in fact after 5 mins and clearly observing a queue of about 6 people at the bar she decided she was going home. after 20 mins wait and this being 20.10 now, we gave up and went to Penrhiwgaled Arms at cross inn where we had a great meal and was treated properly by the staff. At the penwig there wasnt one apology for the wait and lack of courtesy. Avoid unless you go for a meal at 17.00.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippythemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Penwig with family and friends last weekend, all I can say is Brilliant, take no notice of any horrible reviews about the place. It has been refurbished and the rooms are lovely and bright and very comfortable, we stayed in the room with sea view, truly lovely. All round an amazing place and would definatley recommend it, and will be returning there again. Staff are extremely pleasant and go out of ther way to make sure you are happy with room/food etc.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#5 of 19 in New Quay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penwig

Property: The Penwig
Address: South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penwig 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Penwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penwig Hotel New Quay
The Penwig New Quay, Ceredigion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing