We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bracing”

Dolphin Spotting Boat Trips
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DOLPHIN SPOTTING BOAT TRIPS by New Quay Boat Trips, open April to October, weather permitting we offer 1 and 2 Hour dolphin spotting trips every day (with occaisional 30 and 90 minute trips) along the beautiful Ceredigion coastline. Your experience begins boarding from the historic pier at the picturesque fishing village of New-Quay, our large stable, purpose built passenger boats are skippered by experienced boat masters who will be keeping a look-out for the many bottlense dolphins who reside in Cardigan Bay in season. Your experienced skipper and guide will carry you saefly along the Heritage Coast to Cwmtydu on the 1hr trip while providing an informative talk on the wildlife and local history, while those choosing the 2 hour trip will venture to Ynys Lochtyn allowing you more chance to spot dolphins. On both you will observe seal haul-out areas and bird nesting sights, all the time you will be in a Special Area of Conservation and will be observing a voluntry code of conduct to avid distubance to the willife. Upon encountering dolphins your skipper will slow down or stop and position the boat to give all passenger the best view without causing any disturbance to them. Bring your camera and you can even get involved with the important work of the Marine Conservation charity The Sea Watch Foundation. Don't miss a fascinating experience, we look forward to welcoming all ages aboard. For an alterantive experience we also offer 2 & 4 Hour fishing trips, suitable for all ages we include rod tackle, bait amd tuition. Group bookings are welcome on all our trips we are the only company locally who can accomodate parties larger than 12 persons. Therfore we are well equiped to cater for groups and school parties by arrangemment preferably. Dolphins are wild so we obvioosuly cannot guarantee spotting them every trip. Book at our office on the main pier or call us, we have an out of hours telephone number too. For more information, read about sightings and view more photo's, please Visit our website or find us on facebook (DolphinSpottingBoatTripsNewQuay). We accept cash, debit and credit cards. Babies under 2 years are free of charge and Dogs are welcome too.Thank-you for reading about our trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“bracing”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

lovely trip, sun sea breeze and dolphins what more to ask from 2 hrs trip. nice crew informative talk and seabirds and scenery excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PMoss20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    76
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saundersfoot
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An hour well spent!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although we didnt see any dolphins as the sea was very choppy, the running commentary given by the boat crew was very informative. We were treated to a short display from the RNLI inshore lifeboat crew, which was an added bonus. We also met "George" the seagull!! An hour well spent!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We took a one hour Dolphin spotting boat trip, the sea was choppy but that added to the experience! We got to see a Mum and her baby, she visited beside the boat a couple of times, George the sea gull also visited! Would most definitely do this trip again when we are next in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaG448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family trip!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family (2 young children 4-3) absolutely loved this trip as did I.
Great value for money £24 for our family, money well spent for us.
We spotted two different families of Dolphins in different areas of the bay. One family of dolphins had two tiny calfs, how wonderful. The look on my children's faces watching them pop up....priceless!
Tour guides were friendly, informative and delivered our tour wonderfully.

Loved it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boat Trip - A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to New Quay specifically to go on a Dolphin Spotting Boat Trip after reading the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor.

Previous to going, I emailed the company for more information on the tours and they responded instantly and were very helpful.

We visited at the beginning of August. We had read on here that the first tour of the day (10.30am) is ideal because it tends to be quieter so we got up early and went down to the harbour to book our tickets at the booking office which was really easy to locate. The lady was very helpful and friendly, processed our payment and explained where the boat would go from.

We were also told by the lady on the desk that the sea conditions were very choppy just so that we could make an informed decision as to whether we wanted to go or not. We are both fine with boats so decided we would go for it. It was very choppy but that added to the experience! We had a fantastic time and we felt safe at all times. The only problem with the sea condition was that it made it very difficult to see dolphins. We did however see a male seal and a lion's mane jelly fish in addition to the lovely coastline and the nesting birds along the cliff face.

The next day the sea was much calmer so we decided to take another trip (11.30am), this time just the 1 hour one. Before we even left the harbour, we saw some dolphins so a much better result this time around! I lost count how many we saw during this tour.

The crew were very knowledgeable and even though we're pretty clued up on dolphins, we learnt some things we didn't know. The Seawatch Foundation volunteers who often go out on the boats were also very friendly and helpful.

The tours were very reasonably priced - £8 for 1 hour or £15 for 2 hours.

What a fantastic experience! I would highly recommend these tours. We will be going back again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Spotting Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Spotting Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing