We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Hungry Trout

The Hungry Trout
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hungry Trout
Ranked #13 of 19 New Quay B&B and Inns
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Service and food was absolutely brilliant. Enjoyed every moment of being there and felt immensely welcome. Fair play to the young ladies waiting on, they set a cracking example and it was a pleasure to eat there. Highly recommended and WILL return

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomthewhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived on the off chance of some food on Sunday 1st June and were not disappointed. The dining room did have other diners in but there was room for us. I think it was around £13.75 for 2 courses for the adults(main and pud) and £6.50ish for child's portion of roast and ice cream. My husband never eats desserts so he asked if he could skip that and they reduced the bill which was good. The child's portion was huge and all came with loads of veg. I wouldn't say it was the poshest meal I've ever had but it was plentiful and quite tasty so good value really.
The view is lovely! We sat outside while I had my pudding and my son had his ice cream and we could see the rowing race in the distance. The service was brilliant from all of the young staff. Having read the other reviews about it being very up market, posh and expensive I think they are wrong. I thought it was very reasonably priced & we don't live in London or anywhere expensive. Definitely worth a visit if you want to sit in the warm and be well fed on a cooler day. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrumbledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago. Had a bit of a job to find the allocated parking spots behind the accommodation after some confusion with with the staff but eventually parked up successfully. Staff were very polite when checking in. Our room had a fantastic view out over the bay and jetty. It was a great size with a comfortable bed. The bathroom, although clean, could do with being updated (70s avocado bath suite!). We had a lovely breakfast in the morning which set us up for the day! All in all, for £95 I think it was quite pricey considering the v dated and cramped bathroom but then you do get an amazing view and lovely brekkie in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaFishergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a 2 course meal during a week away. Foods was expensive but very tasty. Had sea food which was very nice. Didn't use facilities or stay in rooms. Good selection of food even when out off season. Only party in due to out of season.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch yesterday for an end of season lunch. I have heard fabulous reviews about the place and that the seafood selection was amazing.
The menu has a lot of variety and the specials where all fish which all sounded lovely. We ordered our food and waited quite a while for our starters and then quite a long time after for our mains. The waitress / owner was on her own on the lunch service but it was not overly busy to be waiting the time we did. The food was lovely and we did enjoy our meal.
The bathroom / toilet area was freezing!!!! It was like walking outside in the middle of winter.
The deco can do with a little updating but to round it all up I was not disappointed or overwhelmed with the experience especially after hearing the reviews from the locals

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank neddyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed on 30th, we were given the ensuite room. Beautiful bedroom with a little seating area with sofa and chairs, ideal for looking out on the fabulous views. Breakfast was huge, and very tasty, the mushrooms were amazing.
Garage around rear meant parking not a problem.
Lynn could not have been more helpful or welcoming,

Room Tip: The ensuite was large and had sea views from 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Visited the Hungry Trout on 15.07.13 for dinner and on 17.07.13 for breakfast. Both times the food was great, very big portions and very reasonably priced for a tourist town. For dinner I had scallops to start in a really tasty bacon sauce and for a main I had which came in another amazing sauce with cockles. My dining partners ordered chicken pie, calamari, Teifi Sewin and they were all very nice too. All up £35 for 2 courses and wine whilst gazing over a tranquil view of the bay and dolphin spotting - won't get that in London!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melyn-y-Gors
Melyn-y-Gors
#5 of 19 in New Quay
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#7 of 19 in New Quay
35 reviews
3.3 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hungry Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout

Property: The Hungry Trout
Address: 2 South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan Thomas' Post Office with Fantastic seafood restaurant overlooking Cardigan Bay where the dolphins come to play. Two ensuite double rooms available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout New Quay, Ceredigion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing