We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Watch House

Old Watch House
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing view with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Come here with my family on our visits to New Quay and have never had a bad meal. Quality of the food excellent with fab service. If you can get a seat right by the window the views are fabulous, we sat right in the window on a windswept rainy day (British height of summer obviously!) and it was very cosy watching the waves crashing in while we were tucked up lovely and warm with a big meal.
Only downside is at lunchtimes it can get VERY busy so be warned! On those occasions we usually go a for a short walk and then try again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHAZZAMKABOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    102
    30
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
halesowen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“sunday lunch and dolphins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

my friend and I enjoyed a delicious sunday lunch at the watch house,welsh lamb and all the trimmings .we were seated overlooking the sea and whilst eating, watched dolphins leaping out of the water,what a brilliant experience and the food was great

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

try the white wine sangria!!!!overlooking the harbour watch the world go by whilst eating alfresco.food good staff attentive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Lemon Sole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went 3 times this week, I had Lemon Sole twice and my friend had it 3 times melt in the mouth, chicken curry good and Italian waiter not bad either! Sea views, beautiful atmosphere 2 chefs fe/male

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
277 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast, great seaview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed a delicious breakfast in this lovely little cafe, that boasts a great view of the beach & sea. friendly staff, very clean

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Watch House also viewed

 
New Quay, Ceredigion
New Quay, Ceredigion
 
New Quay, Ceredigion
New Quay, Ceredigion
 

Been to Old Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing