We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic trip

A great experience. Very professional and informative. The boat was lovely and the staff were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mollatron22
via mobile
Fantastic trip thank you!

We were extremely lucky with our sightings and had a fantastic trip. It’s great going out in a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Richard H
,
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Read all 163 reviews
  
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
145
13
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
145
13
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine wildlife beautiful coastline hour trip sea birds saw dolphins private trip fantastic hours felt very safe amazing wildlife happy to answer any questions dolphin spotting knowledgeable skipper fabulous trip baby seal bird colonies their natural habitat interesting facts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Have been on their trips a number of times. I love their full day surveys where you get to see the amazing wildlife close up. Steve and the team are always friendly and are very knowledgeable. The small number of people on the boat means there is plenty of room and it's a lovely opportunity to spend time with like-minded people. Our recent trip in June 2018 gave us some particularly special dolphin encounters.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for your review Julia! I’m glad you enjoyed our last all day survey as much as we did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This has got to be the best wildlife-spotting boat trip in New Quay. There were only 11 people on our boat - they take up to 12 - so we all had plenty of room to sit down or move around to see wildlife. We saw other boat trips that were packed to the rafters with people; one was so overloaded that it got stuck in the harbour. The skipper on ours gave us a great running commentary and pointed out sea birds like kittiwakes, guillemots and razorbills, We saw a couple of seals but sadly there were no bottlenose dolphins around, although we had seen a few beforehand from the harbour wall. The skipper explained that to protect the wildlife from undue disturbance there is a strict code of conduct for boats. Wildlife mustn't be chased and the same routes must be used so he wasn't allowed to go off and search for them. The trips are run by the Wildlife Trust's Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre, an education and research centre, and data on any wildlife encountered is gathered on every journey. This is so much more than a pleasure ride and good fun for all the family. You should pop into the information centre on the quay too. It's free and the kids will love the new VR game where you can spot wildlife under the sea. We couldn't get my nine-year-old off it!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank lucky_baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you very much for your review. I’m glad you saw the dolphins from the Harbour wall, it’s a great spot to watch from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Whilst on a family holiday I decided to take the kids on a boat trip to see the dolphins but I didn’t want a jet boat as I didn’t know how the kids would handle it.

This company offered exactly what I wanted. Being a conservation trip it also meant the captain was very knowledgeable and answered all the kids questions and told us lots we didn’t know about the area and the wild life.

Once we had been out for a bit the pay off was there. Dolphins spotted out at sea. For the kids this was good as they saw what they wanted. Then as if by magic dolphins alongside the boat. Crossing under the boat and breaching the water the other side. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.

As we got back in after seeing some more dolphins I saw how good this trip was.
The boat was limited to 12 passengers which meant the kids could see easily whereas other I saw were loaded up with 30+ People....not sure I would have liked that.

Overall the crew and the staff in the centre were fantastic and made a excellent trip even better.

I can’t recommend them enough.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you so much for your recommendation. I will pass it on to the volunteers in the Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre who work so hard to conserve the wonderful wildlife we have in Cardigan Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We booked this trip to hopefully get to see the wonderful dolphins of New Quay, we definately wern't dissapointed!
A big thanks to the skipper for waiting a good 15mins for us, we had driven 145miles to hopefully get there for 12.00 well in time but due to alot of traffic then couldn't park the car in time, i rang through and the helpfull people on the phones told me where the overflow carpark was at the top of New Quay and we rushed down (not an easy task with a 3yr old & 6yr old) and thankfully the boat was waiting and the skipper (apologies can't remember name) was very friendly and helped us on and made us all feel welcome. So a big thanks for that.
The boat was spotlessly clean and comfortable and even had a toilet (which was needed with small children)
I really like the fact that this company run the boats recording wildlife sightings and numbers and alot of other figures, also run a strict code of not disturbing the wildlife, especially the dolphins, if they come near us it's their choice, and they did come very close. It was amazing to see the dolphins doing exactly what they want to and we saw alot of jumping out of the water too.
The cost when you break it down per person is really good value, it has to cover peoples wages, the boat cost and running the engines for 2whole hours too.
Thanks for a great trip and i promised i would give an 11 out of 10!!
Many thanks. Adam, Danielle, Amelia & Leon

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Adamskib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to take you and your family out and show you all our wonderful wildlife. Waiting a few minutes was not a problem especially after you had travelled such a long way for the trip. Thank you for joining us and thank heavens the dolphins showed up!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Me and my two kids 13 and 9 loved this personal trip only 12 on the boat learnt a lot and was lucky enough to see 4 dolphin

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Glad you enjoyed your trip. It’s easy for me when the dolphins appear!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews