We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely trip with toddlers

Very knowledgeable skipper who was happy to answer questions. The one hour journey isn't very far... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2020
Penguinsandgiraffes
,
Bangor, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great trip out

Very informative trip, excellent guide and saw Dolphins and other marine wildlife, from watching... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2020
Sam K
Read all 161 reviews
  
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
143
13
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
143
13
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine wildlife beautiful coastline hour trip sea birds saw dolphins private trip fantastic hours felt very safe amazing wildlife happy to answer any questions dolphin spotting knowledgeable skipper fabulous trip baby seal bird colonies their natural habitat interesting facts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2019

Amazing wildlife experience, we saw lots of dolphins leaping in the waves and wildlife.The staff were also very friendly.if you are looking for a dolphin trip this one will be great.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank daniels6112018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019

A all around brilliant day. Which started as we were waiting for the boat chatting to one of the dolphin watchers ,when some guy drove his 4x4 on the beach for a selfie he then manage to ground his car and had to be pulled off the beach as the tide came in. So to be honest I was not to bothered if I saw the dolphins after all that excitement. But we did see both dolphins and seals on our 2hour trip with Steve. Are boat only took 12 people so you could move about so of the other boats I saw were packed . Well worth going out with team.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2019

Yes, the man with the 4x4 was lucky to beat the incoming tide!!!
Glad you enjoyed your trip with us and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

We had seen the dolphin from the quay side but booked the two hour tour to get the whole experience, the skipper was very knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming, even when the sea took its toll on my other half, the wildlife played it’s part with multiple dolphin sightings, some close in and others not so much, but a great all round experience, it also shows that they care for the animals and go to great lengths not to harass them, it does get a bit choppy out by the fish factory

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank webby1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

It was choppy but the dolphins made up for it !
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

Our boat trip wasn’t great from the off. The seats on the boat were wet (yes I know boats & water go together) but you don’t expect to be soaked through before you set off!!! The water was choppy which was great fun and possibly the most interesting part. We weren’t shown hardly any wildlife and definitely no dolphins. Whilst I get that this is not guaranteed for £40 you certainly expect more than a bit of commentary and a 2 hr boat trip. A little bit disappointed to say the least

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Nydia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

I apologise for overlooking your wet seat on your trip. On rough trips spray can wet the seats and I should have checked.
Finding our dolphins , seals and porpoise in choppy seas can be challenging but can be achieved as you can see on a posting on Dolphin Survey Boat Trips Facebook page captured on trip prior to yours..
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

My trip in July 2019 was my second experience of sailing with Dolphin Survey Boat Trips. The first being on the Anna Lloyd two years previously when my child was 5.
We were a family party, consisting of four adults (3 middle aged & 1 senior), two young children of 3 & 7 years and a 6 month old baby. Whilst discussing booking a trip, we were informed that this particular sailing involved a dingy transfer from the harbour to the boat ‘Sulaire’ (& on return). That was a slight concern due to having such young children & a baby but we were assured we would be assisted embarking & disembarking. We had already watched other parties being assisted in making the transfer & felt confident in the ability of the staff and the safety measures in place. It was a very easy, efficient and safe transfer - life jackets were provided for all (including baby, despite her protests!). Help was provided for those less confident in accessing either vessel and at hand for more independent individuals. A short information talk regarding safety and we were off on a calm sea along the beautiful, rugged Cardigan coast.
The trip was most enjoyable and we all felt very relaxed during the trip. The captain was knowledgeable & informative about wildlife and its conservation in the area, yet didn’t overload us information, which ample time for us to simply enjoy the experience. We were free to ask questions move around the boat (with such low numbers onboard, I found being able to move freely a fabulous opportunity to imagine life as a boat owner! However, the freedom was especially super for the two young children.
I cannot recommend this experience highly enough - there are plenty of other boat trips at Cei Newydd but you’ll be packed in onboard like sardines.
My only wish is for additional information about historical events of the coastal area - but I guess I can read up on that before my next outing.
Thank you for the experience & sharing your knowledge but most of all, thank you for caring about wildlife conservation.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Lenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve H, Owner at Dolphin Survey Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2019

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews