We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Trip”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in room 8 and room 9, the overall stay was good and the quality of the rooms excellent. Room 9 being the better, with views out across the bay, Room 8 only has a view of the road ! Both rooms were clean and tidy, with every thing you would expect. The breakfasts were lovely, but the evening meal though generally good, could have been improved. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you like views, it's gotta be room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndnjnkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    52
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
97
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed whilst on business in New quay and was impressed with this hotel
Stayed in room 2 which is a ground floor room at the front of the hotel so does not have a sea view but at £70 inc breakfast was good value
Staff were friendly and efficient and the Welsh breakfast was very nice.
On arrival a couple coming out of the hotel said the food was very poor which put me off eating at the hotel. So we ate in the harbour area.

Refurbished to a good standard I would and will stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KimDavid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Loved it here, fantastic views from the beer garden and just a short walk down to the harbour. Great atmosphere in the pub. Our room was a cheaper one, quite small but decorated beautifully, and you could really tell it was all done to a high spec. The bed was really comfy. I would recommend staying in a sea view room though as I saw one of them and it looked even nicer and bigger. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the breakfast had good variety, they made whatever we asked for, and again there were lovely views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Whilst the pub itself has been recently refurbished the weather was so sunny on our last visit that we only used their large, well appointed garden which has great sea views. Although the menu was not that extensive both my wife and I found something to eat from the specials board. The food was absolutely fine, as was my beer ('Doom bar'), and we will definitely return next time we are in the area. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarnesfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

What a place, could not fault it great beers,food and coffee with smart attentive staff. A credit to the owners for the refit. Will be back next year. Great outside areas for kids in a beer garden with views to die for. Great for dolphin spotting

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was amazed at the changes that have been made at this historic Pub recently.

It is so light and airy with excellent accommodation and food.

I stayed not long after they re-opened as a hotel so there were a few finishing touches to be made but could see that the product was of a high standard so I am assuming the rest will follow in the same vein. this is definitely the best place to stay in New Quay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w.yorks
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel by chance after travelling around for just under 2 wks and sleeping in our van we decided a hotel was in much need.
So we turned off the main rd and headed down to New Quay, not realising what a lovely little seaside town it was and found this hotel.
We were offered two rooms, one on the ground floor and one on the top floor with sea views. As soon as I saw the views I knew this was the one for us, number 9. Slightly more expensive but well worth it. The room was immaculate along with the bathroom.
The hotel has ample car parking along with a very large beer garden and childrens play area. They also allow dogs into the beer garden and are quite happy to supply water troughs for them.
We had our eveing meal in the restaurant. Starters were lovely, however, we ordered two steaks, aberdeen angus sirloin and a welsh ribeye and asked for them both to be cooked rare. The ribeye was cooked perfect but the sirloin was medium, I informed the staff but also told them I would eat it and they offered us a free drink for the mishap.
Breakfast was great, you could order what you wanted and nothing was too much for the waiting on staff.
Overall, a great location with very good staff. Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: No.9, sea views. On the 3rd floor but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
4.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Property: Black Lion Hotel
Address: New Quay SA45 9PT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel New Quay, Ceredigion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing