We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality Hotel”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in room 4 and I would highly recommend this hotel. It is decorated very tastefully, with comfy beds, big TV and gorgeous bathroom. The room is on the small side but the big bathroom makes up for it. Breakfast was good quality with fresh croissants and good variety of fruit which exceeded my expectations. The pub downstairs does great dinners, we ate there 2 nights out of 3. Cannot fault the location or the warm service from the owner. We cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a great sea view but over looks the beer garden so those sensitive to noise might be dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vio602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a great hotel just recently been updated to a very high standard. Stopped for two nights whilst touring west Wales. We had room 7 overlooking the sea fabulous. Very friendly staff made you feel very welcome from the moment you arrived at the reception. Food and drink fantastic. Newquay is are favourite place in wales and when ever we visit we will stop here.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can, views are worth it. Little bit more expensive but again well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 855michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and i took our son here on 31st May & 1st June for his 1st birthday. Room was beautiful (overlooked the road, but didn't bother us at all). The hotel provided a travel cot which our Son slept in throughout both nights (relief!) Bathroom was beautiful & very clean. Breakfast was delicious & we ate overlooking the sea which was beautiful. We also ate here on the first night & it was delicious (big portions :))
New Quay is very beautiful & our son played on the beach in the sunshine & also enjoyed a boat ride (before nodding off to sleep).

Overall, was a lovely break & would definately recommend this hotel to family and firends

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigletWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a meal here on Bank Holiday Monday. The staff were so friendly, the food and drink were fantastic and the view was sublime. We wish we had stayed longer in New Quay to try more of the menu. The Cajun salmon is recommended and just hope the brownie is on the dessert menu!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetravellingYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

absolutely beautiful hotel and pub in an amazing location overlooking the sea .We stayed in room 9 which was the most expensive room in the hotel as it has views to the sea from both sides of the room and has a very high spec interior.Breakfast was amazing except there were no croisants as stated in the breakfast menu,with no explanation or alternative supplied.We had dinner at the pub,unfortunately i have to say we felt a bit let down.W felt a little bit of attentiveness from the staff at dinner would have been nice,however we might as well just walked in from the street.We ordered at the bar nservatory/restaurant bit was lacking in ambience, it felt like a echoey school hall considering how well the rest of the pub has been refurbished it was a shame.The evening meal we ordered arrived lovely and hot and very tasty no fault there ,but no body came to aask how it was or ask if we wanted another drink ,when we had finished eating our plates were whipped away and no one came to ask if we would like a dessert,we waited for a while but no one came back to our table and there was no menus around in the room so it meant walking through the busy bar to get the menu then find someone to order it,we felt insignificant to think we were paying £120 a night for a room upstairs.We left and went down the road to the rival penwig for a couple of G AND T nightcaps and decided to have the aero hot chocolate and biscuits provided in our room as our dessert instead.We had stayed at hotel with sea views at a nearby resort the night before for £70 per night and although not as plush as the black lion the staff made our stay feel special a table is reserved for dinner in there best place unless you dont want it and they couldnt do enough for us.Im really sorry to sound so negative about the black lion but i felt it needed mentioning as it truly is a lovely hotel it would be a shame for their standards to slip and especially at the price of their best rooms it makes ones ecpectation higher.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haffi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in Newquay as a family group this weekend and whilst there we called in to the Black Lion a couple of times for drinks and lunch. The menu is short but what we had was lovely. Plenty of choice at the bar drinkswise though! The refurbishment looks fantastic in the public areas and if that is repeated in the guest accommodation then it will be a complete success. Looking to book a room soon. Newquay is simply gorgeous with the added bonus of the wonderful wildlife (dolphins, porpoises and seals) on show most days in the bay!! Enjoy it, if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casablanca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Took my husband here as a surprise for his birthday as he spent a lot of time in Newquay as a child. We were not disappointed, the refurbishment is excellent, rooms fabulous. Had a hearty fresh cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend it and look forward to going back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
740 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
871 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
4.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
176 reviews
18.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: New Quay SA45 9PT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel New Quay, Ceredigion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing