We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated urban dining in a rural setting.”
Review of The Candied Walnut Eatery - CLOSED

The Candied Walnut Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Candied Walnut Eatery is a new Dining establishment situated in Kilnacourt House, Portarlington, Co. Laois. Proprietor/Head Chef Barry Hayden serves Lunches & Dinners at affordable prices. He uses only the finest ingredients to create his signature dishes. Fresh Coffees, Daily Lunch Specials, Evening Dining. Our Customer Service is second to none. Our aim at The Candied Walnut Eatery is to have every customer leave satisfied & with a smile on their face!!
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've dined at the Candied Walnut on several occasions now, both during the day and in the evening, It's always a pleasant surprise when you find such good quality almost on your own doorstep.
The menu is excellent and the quality of the food doesn't disappoint at all and is extremely good value for money. Staff are always helpful and courteous, recognising the boundary between service and fawning. The restaurant itself has a really pleasant ambience, encouraging relaxed dining. The wine list gives a very good choice of options, from inexpensive but very drinkable to some quite exceptional wines.
All in all, this is a great place to eat and drink, at a reasonable price. We'll be back, again and again and would recommend it highly to anyone who is in the area and wants a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ralphjames54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Ralphjames54,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review of our restaurant. Really glad you enjoyed everything. Our front of house staff are a fantastic bunch of girls who are brilliant at what they do. It's great to hear such great feedback about staff, food & service.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kindest regards,
Dawn Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Candied Walnut Eatery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

My son was 21 two weeks ago and we went here for a family meal.
The service was excellent and the friendliness of the staff was very pleasant.
The food was top class , my wife had the fish and she was well pleased.
I had the steak which was cooked to perfection.
We had a bottle of wine and two beers and the price was very reasonable.
We will dine here again and very soon.
Well done to all staff and management.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Bernard M,
Many thanks for your lovely review of our restaurant recently on tripadvisor. Great to hear you enjoyed your son's 21st celebration dinner with us. Thanks for letting us be a part of it.
We look forward to welcoming you again real soon.
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have being to The Candied Walnut on numerous occasions and it never fails to deliver excellent on all levels! Make sure and book a table because it's that good you won't just walk off the street but if you do be prepared to wait and it is well worth the wait!!!

Thank Stuartquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Stuartquinn,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant recently on tripadvisor.
Great to hear you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you in again soon.
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have eaten here numerous times since it has opened and it never disappoints!! food is always well presented and delicious!! the staff are always helpful and friendly!! we have had a few family occasions here and would not hesitate in celebrating a special event at the restaurant!! the only thing i can give out about is that sometimes the drinks can be slow coming... a last twice i was there i had to ask for my drinks more than once..... other than that... this place is great!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosenallislady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Rosenallislady,
Thank you for writing your review of our restaurant recently on tripadvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Sorry to hear you had to wait on your beverages. Your feedback is so important to us. We have addressed this problem so hopefully this will not happen again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Ive been here numerous times.. mainly lunch which is never a let down! Im particularly fussy about my meals but never had one complaint.. soup is always amazing! Have to say evening dining is out of this world.. cant recommend enough the chicken wings for starters (mind-blowing!!) & chicken in tomato tagliatelle for main! Must have desert.. they are beautiful! There is nowhere else that even comes close. Most amazing food & service at reasonable prices.. The staff are so helpful, attentive and friendly.. we were well looked after by Laura, Anita & Anne. A special touch to end your night is being waved off by the head chef.. overall all a wonderful experience and definitely looking forward to returning. Excellent venue for special occasions.. the staff sing happy birthday to celebrating guests (a little embarassing but very funny) they even personalize the desert.. wonderful touch. TOP CLASS - 5 STARS

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KayCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Kay Costello,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your fantastic review of our restaurant. Your feedback is so important to us. The girls were thrilled to get a mention. They deserve it too. They really are a great front of house team.
Hope to have you dine with us again very soon.
Kindest regards,
Dawn Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Candied Walnut Eatery also viewed

Portarlington, County Laois
Portarlington, County Laois
 
Portarlington, County Laois
Portarlington, County Laois
 
Portarlington, County Laois
Portarlington, County Laois
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing