We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini GP”

Xtreme Karting and Combat Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the thrill of motorsport or combat at Xtreme Karting / Xtreme Combat in Edinburgh! Suitable for ages 8+ (please call for details of karting or combat sessions available for your age group) we aim to ensure a fun and adrenaline packed experience! Xtreme Karting opened in January 2011 and was awarded the 5 star rating from Visit Scotland, classed as "exceptional", in March 2011! Feedback so far from customers has been fantastic as testified by our Tripadvisor reviews!The centre features a purposely designed customer lounge area, with large windows overlooking the whole track area, as well as a large 1st floor viewing gallery, both areas feature the latest in race timing displays, allowing spectators to watch all the action on the track in complete comfort. The professionally designed track is set within a 42,000 sq ft unit, and features the latest barrier protection systems to ensure the safety of drivers. The exciting track layout has been specially designed with hairpin bends, sweeping corners and long straights providing adrenalin packed racing for novices and seasoned experts! The track is tested to the limit by our high performance EVO 5 Karts, specially tuned to deliver blistering performance!e can offer an adrenalin packed race event, corporate meeting facilities, practice sessions, cadet parties, etc! Xtreme Combat launched in August 2012, allowing groups to come along to prebooked events and experience the fun and excitement of our urban combat arena. After equiping you with MP5 laser tag weapons, you will undertake a serious of fun missions (examples include team elimination, top secret documents, bomb the base, VIP transfer, domination, last man standing etc) designed to ensure you experience a fun, adrenaline packed combat experience! Unlike paintball our weapons fire infr red beams that are incredibly accurate ensuring you use the red dot weapons sight fitted to each weapon, so no pain and no costly ammo refills!Our centre is located in Newbridge Edinburgh (just 500 yards from the Newbridge roundabout, Junction 1 on the M9) allowing easy access from across the whole of Central Scotland! Contact us for more details!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mini GP”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a group work night out here and really enjoyed the experience.
The only down side is having to pay £1 for a balaclava for added comfort in a helmet. I understand that it's a way of making a few extra £ as a business but as a hidden cost it would be nice to just be given to you as part of the deal.

Overall the whole experience was excellent and coming 1st just made the experience even sweeter.

The go karts are a little slow at accelerating out of corners but after a few laps drifting them around the corners becomes allot of fun. The biggest enjoyment comes from completing a lap without touching the breaks, this can be done.

Would highly recommend this place, staff are friendly and quiet lenient when it comes to minor scuffles in the corners.

Have been before and will visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikeyule83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    40
    7
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exciting day”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Brilliant exviting day. My son and 8 of his college friends enjoyed there day imensly. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I opted not to drive but had a very enjoyable day watching all the fun. Great day out. Definitely recomend

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nona leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Very well organised and looked after everyone very well. Would highly recommend to anybody wanting high octane fun in a well supervised environment!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Vinchymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Team Day Out”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a Grand Prix style race for 15 drivers. The staff were very friendly and approachable from the start and able to answer any questions. I was impressed with how quickly they got us through the safety video, into suits, and out on the track. The marshals were good at showing flags where needed, explaining why the flag was given after each race, and were thankfully quite tolerant of both the more competitive members of our group (as well as the few nervous people who had never been in a go kart). We raced in groups of 7 & 8, with the elevated viewing area and live screens keeping those who weren't racing entertained. The gaps between races were just enough of a break without anyone getting bored. The track was great, no issues with the karts, and dying to go back for another go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, very well organised operation”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stag do for 14 drivers organised here recently.

Very accommodating booking staff and a very well run setup.

We went for the Grand Prix style format with approx 15 other drivers from other parties, everyone has 5 individual heats of 5 laps each, everyone racing for position, rather than a fastest lap which is what I've done previously. The top 10 on points after all the heats go through to a grand final of 10 laps.

Very very slick organisation, a slight delay to the start of proceedings, but once they got up and running you had best not go too far away, otherwise you'll be late for your next race! Approximate timings of race starts are posted for your information too. Live splits and positions also offered in viewing areas along with a tannoy across the whole complex if announcements are needed.

The marshal's were pretty considerate too, they did wave flags at some of us and some individuals were black flagged (as per the rules), but they always approached afterwards to explain their reasoning. Either way, their decision is final, so they don't necessarily have to do this. They did also give advanced warnings/second chances and asked drivers to ease it back a bit otherwise they would be flagged in the next race if they continued driving what was deemed as reckless or dangerous.

Would highly recommend the company they have suggested on their website for transfers/pickup (Hardhill Minibus Hire). They picked up 14 of us from the Grassmarket and returned us later for £120 return trip. Much less than taking a fleet of taxis and had a very clean and well looked after minibus. Also has the benefit of being fixed price, so no fluctuations in price because of traffic etc... Also a slight delay to our pickup time wasn't an issue, we had the mobile number of the driver who I contacted as soon as I knew and she had no problem with it (although they may do if they have other jobs/pickups).

Overall a great afternoons karting and wouldn't hesitate returning in future if they opportunity or occasion presents itself.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank swwebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xtreme Karting and Combat Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Xtreme Karting and Combat Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing