We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas with a family including dog”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hadleigh, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Georgina...
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas with a family including dog”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked a dog friendly property for Christmas suitable for two adults, three children and a spaniel. We knew nothing about the cottage or Hadleigh village apart from what we had found on the internet. It turned out to be a delightful experience. The cottage is a conversion at the end of a stable block, it is in the grounds of a large house but quite a way from the main house itself. It meant that the dog could be allowed to run free away from roads. The cottage is well equipped, we managed to cook Christmas dinner for five but ran out of serving dishes and ended up improvising with dessert bowls - fine until we came to Christmas pudding and found we had leftover veg still in the dishes. Pudding and cream was served in tea cups to the hilarity of the children. The cottage is decorated in a mismatched country house style. The bed linen was white and pristine - we didn't allow the spaniel upstairs. The condition downstairs reflects a property suitable for dogs and children, perfectly clean but showing signs of wear and tear. We were left wood for the wood burner and found milk, eggs and bacon in the fridge. Downstairs was cosy but upstairs quite cold, the children made use of the extra bed linen provided. It would have been warmer if we had not kept the door between upstairs and downstairs firmly closed because of the dog. There were additional electric convector heaters but we didn't use them. Outside was minus six and very frosty! The surrounding countryside provides excellent and varied dog walking. We are planning a return visit in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosiec131
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Lovely quiet hide away. Cottage had everything we needed. Weather was good throughout to either; lounge in the back garden, walk around the grounds with the dog, including plenty of footpaths for walks, exactly what we was looking for. The village itself is quaint with a Morrison's just a minute away from the High Street if needed. Was greeted by the owner a little while after we arrived which was a very nice and welcomed gesture. All in all had a very good week and would make this a regular holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage in its surroundings and being able to take the dog with us.
Liked least: The stairs are steep for my husband as he is disabled and had to follow him up and down each time to be safe. It does have a banister rail on one wall and would benefit having another on the opposite wall to be safe.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely holiday at Gardener's Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like you really got the weather to make the most of the outdoor space around the cottage! Fabulous! We certainly hope that you make Gardener's Cottage your regular relaxing retreat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dramyloid
Cambrdige, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cottage was cold and the owners colder”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

On a cold weekend you would hope that a holiday cottage would be a cosy retreat - not so this one, what's more the owner wants payment for wood for the fire just to bring the temperature up to something habitable. There is no clothes dryer and no DVD player (contrary to the ads). No visit from the the owner to check on the central heating or to tell us the basics such as where to put the rubbish. Overall the property did not live up to expectations.
I am sure things look very different in the summer. The surrounding Suffolk villages and countryside are of course great.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor57l...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and pet friendly”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed as went to see my father who lives in hadleigh so arrived late but no problems lights were on and place very warm.

Woodburner gave additional comfort but you will need a car but taxis were cheap.

Will want to go back

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highpeeka...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy beautiful Suffolk from this great base.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a wonderful family holiday plus dog and discovered Suffolk. I would recommend this cottage to anyone..and enjoy the fantastic secret gardens..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian G
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked this cottage as it was central and could accommodate a family of 5 adults and our dog, we were not disappointed. It was a 10-15 minute stroll to the high street through lovely grounds and countryside. The cottage had everything we needed and was very clean, it wouldn't take much to up the rating it's been given, if I was being very picky I would have wanted a dishwasher and power shower, but that's just me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable an clean
Liked least: No dishwasher, low water pressure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;