We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hadleigh, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My husband, myself and our dog have just had a super weeks stay in the Gardeners Cottage on the Holbeck Estate in Hadleigh. The cottage is a super place with everything you could possibly need from a washer/ dryer, freezer, fridge, dish washer, log burner etc etc It's very clean and comfortable with plenty of space. The cottage is set in it own grounds with lots of open fields and in a very quiet and peaceful location. On arrival we had been left fresh milk, butter, bread and eggs which we thought was a lovely touch as we were ready for a drink after after our five hour journey. We were left contact telephone numbers in case there was anything we wanted. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return again in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill R
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal setting, very homely accomodation”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location of this cottage is amazing, set in acres of beautiful countryside. Hadleigh is within easy walking distance and has a great Friday market. Take a torch if walking at night!
Our family consisted of 2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 children aged 4 and 6 and 2 small dogs. The cottage was very well equipped and had an outhouse and private garden with a BBQ. The bedrooms were were cosy and the beds very comfortable.
Downstairs was spacious and had everything you needed and a woodburning stove for chilly evenings.
Our host Mr Coysh was very helpful in meeting our needs.
A wealth of things to do for families of all ages, beaches, crabbing, Jimmy's farm, swimming pool all very close though you would need a car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A second visit - as good as we remembered too”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Having stayed in the depth of winter, we came back in the height of summer. This time we were able to appreciate the gardens a bit more. Very quiet, very private, decent outdoor furniture and a barbecue - although it did take us about five days to locate the switches for the outdoor lights. Gardener's Cottage is clearly a dog friendly, family let and while I agree it isn't in pristine condition, neither is our own home. We found everything we wanted for a week long stay, the kitchen is well equipped, the bed linen clean, the cottage inviting. A real plus for us is a large utility room just off the kitchen diner. Our dog is crated at night and this space is ideal for his crate which can be left up and ready for bedtime. The owners are on site but far enough away in 'the big house' to be completely unobtrusive. They checked that we had everything we needed shortly after we arrived and then left us alone. It can be intimidating when the owners of a rental property are close by, but not so here. We are discussing the possibility of a third visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritlov...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is spacious and set in beautiful grounds with private garden at the back. We expected it to be a little shabby as it is dog friendly but we did find it rather dirty. Thick dust everywhere, TV and the stand, on the fire, dead flies on every windowsill, and the bathroom is dreadful, especially the toilet. Also found the mattresses very hard. It needs a good clean and new bathroom. We left a day early.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
130holida...
Dedham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cottage in the most tranquil grounds with huge private garden”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My family of five stayed at this beautiful cottage in its idyllic setting, with huge woodland trees and rolling green open space. I couldn't recommend this gorgeous getaway more highly, made even more special by perry the owner with his generous and kind hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal getaway for a week of peace and quiet in the country”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We arrived 23rd December with my wife, 3 kids (16,14 & 10) and an energetic spaniel for a 7 night break over the Christmas holiday.
The setting t is fantastic, with great countryside walks for the dog and a 10-15 minute stroll through the grounds into Hadleigh itself. We live within earshot of the M25, so it took a little while for the kids to adapt to the darkness and quiet.
The cottage itself has real character was very clean and is furnished appropriately for a family.
Although it didn't matter to us as ball gowns and suits were not required, the only potential downside for some would be the limited hanging space for clothes, but there is ample drawer space.
Downstairs was very cosy in the evenings, the wood burner being a welcome addition on the nights it reached -6C outside. Upstairs was a little cooler but still very comfortable and the kids had to use the extra provided blankets to keep warm on the colder nights. Overall there was plenty of space so it did not feel we were on top of each other.
Would we go back, well we might just have to so that we can can compare the brisk winter walks with summer strolls to the excellent pubs in the village

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas with a family including dog”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked a dog friendly property for Christmas suitable for two adults, three children and a spaniel. We knew nothing about the cottage or Hadleigh village apart from what we had found on the internet. It turned out to be a delightful experience. The cottage is a conversion at the end of a stable block, it is in the grounds of a large house but quite a way from the main house itself. It meant that the dog could be allowed to run free away from roads. The cottage is well equipped, we managed to cook Christmas dinner for five but ran out of serving dishes and ended up improvising with dessert bowls - fine until we came to Christmas pudding and found we had leftover veg still in the dishes. Pudding and cream was served in tea cups to the hilarity of the children. The cottage is decorated in a mismatched country house style. The bed linen was white and pristine - we didn't allow the spaniel upstairs. The condition downstairs reflects a property suitable for dogs and children, perfectly clean but showing signs of wear and tear. We were left wood for the wood burner and found milk, eggs and bacon in the fridge. Downstairs was cosy but upstairs quite cold, the children made use of the extra bed linen provided. It would have been warmer if we had not kept the door between upstairs and downstairs firmly closed because of the dog. There were additional electric convector heaters but we didn't use them. Outside was minus six and very frosty! The surrounding countryside provides excellent and varied dog walking. We are planning a return visit in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;