We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hadleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables B&B Hadleigh
Ranked #2 of 6 Hadleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were cycling for the weekend and booked a night at the Gables. When we arrived, scruffy and tired, Stuart was so welcoming and brought us hot drinks and freshly made cake to our room. He strikes that perfect balance of being helpful and chatty but giving you space and privacy. The house has a great layout with the guest rooms on one floor, off a comfy seating area on the landing - but apart from borrowing some good magazines from there, we didn't want to leave our gorgeous room.
The bedroom and bathroom were both spotless and well equipped, and beautifully decorated.
Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, along side warm muffins and pastries, fresh berries - it was all of the best quality.
As we left, Stuart presented us with a pack up and chilled water bottles for our bike ride home - we thought that was such a generous gesture. This is a beautiful house, and one of the best places we've ever stayed.

Kathy Bell

Room Tip: We stayed in the double with ensuite with bath and shower. The ensuite is pretty amazing, the bedroo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for The Gables B&B Hadleigh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Gables for a weekend and were greeted on arrival by Stuart with the offer of tea and home made cake! He made us feel so welcome, the bedrooms were clean and fresh and the beds were so comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, pastries and a full English nothing was too much trouble. We will most certainly be returning to this amazing B+B.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank boombalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

One of the very best b and bs ever. Stuart is a great host nothing too much trouble. The accommodation is excellent the breakfast is great the location is perfect. We have tried most the accommodation in the area and for the price this is the winner

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This B & B is hospitable, warm, comfy, spacious and with Stuart welcoming you with tea and home made cake it is a place to recommend and put on your list of the best B & B's to stay in. Tea and home made cake in the garden on arrival set the scene for sliding into a very comfy bed later on that night after birthday celebrations with friends. The thought and little touches that Stuart has put into running this B & B is what makes the Gables stand out from the crowd. The next morning we had a leisurely delicious breakfast with locally sourced fresh ingredients which set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailishanseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at The Gables before flying back to Europe the next day from Stansted and it was the perfect end to our holiday. Stuart was immensely friendly, welcoming us with tea and homemade cake on arrival. The room and en-suite bathroom were immaculate, the bed wonderfully comfortable, the furnishings and fittings top-quality and quite obviously lovingly chosen – even the sun streamed in through the window when we arrived. Stuart recommended us a place to eat round the corner in the evening and booked a table for us – a good idea as it was popular (and delicious). Breakfast was everything you could wish for, and we felt so well looked after from beginning to end. Definitely one of the best B&Bs we’ve ever stayed in with warm and personal service. We only wish we had booked to stay for longer. We’ll be dreaming up reasons to come back…

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Gables as we were travelling to Hadleigh for a party, but will now find an excuse to return to Hadleigh just so we can stay in the Gables again. It was such a fantastic bed and breakfast, with personal, warm and excellent service from Stuart and John, gorgeous rooms and lovely garden. We are foodies, and the Gables exceeded all expectations: home baked cake on arrival, plentiful tea and coffee, quality bacon and toast and top notch passion fruit yoghurt at breakfast- but the BEST of all was the jar of home made peanut brittle chocolate in the bedrooms. I was excited to get home from the party just to have a cup of tea in bed and munch my way through this heavenly chocolate- what a treat! Stuart was so accommodating that we returned the next day with a baby chick that had fallen out of a tree- thinking anyone who ran such a fabulous establishment must surely be able to care for any human, animal, bird or beast. He dutifully looked after it too! This is what boutique bed and breakfasts should be like- I will be disappointed to go anywhere else! The Gables sets the standards high.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank ManchesterSaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently had a lovely stay at The Gables B&B in Hadleigh, Suffolk. The Gables is a first class B&B in the beautiful town of Hadleigh, Suffolk. My friend and I stayed at The Gables mid-week and went on a day's cookery course at The Cooking Experience, Hadleigh, High Street. The cookery course was fabulous and a really fun way to spend a day. Mark and Annie were warm and welcoming and I came away from the course with new cooking skills.
The Gables' owner, Stuart, is delightful. On our arrival at B&B, Stuart welcomed us with tea and homemade cake and he made our stay comfortable and relaxing. I would highly recommend The Gables, particularly for a mid-week stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYW217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadleigh
1.7 mi away
The Marquis
The Marquis
#1 of 1 in Layham
13 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Ipswich Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holbecks House B&B
Holbecks House B&B
#1 of 6 in Hadleigh
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables B&B Hadleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables B&B Hadleigh

Address: 108-110 High Street, Hadleigh, Babergh District IP7 5EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hadleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hadleigh
Price Range: £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is a Grade II* seventeenth century house in the centre of this wonderful, historic town in the heart of Suffolk. Within easy walking distance of local shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gables B&B Hadleigh Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing