We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great location”
Review of Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurora
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardez
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hotel Muntanella is ideally situated within a 5 minute walk from the train station in Ardez. Rooms are simple (but very clean) and beat the standard for mountain hotels, and rooms with a balcony have the most beautiful view on the village and the valley.

It is family-run with a very good and welcoming service. They offer hearty food with top quality ingredients (many organic articles). They seem to try hard to offer services for families with young children (there even is a day and evening programme for kids).

Ardez is an ideal place to stay in the summer as well as in the winter. It is a starting point for hiking and cycling along the lower Engiadina valley. It is also a 10-minutes train ride to Scuol and its gondola (it departs from the Scuol station and even if you stay in Scuol you would have to take a bus to the station...). It is a very preserved and quiet village, with stunning architecture and landscape (and people do speak Rumantsch).

They also provide in the summer a free unlimited travel card for local trains and cable cars.

Room Tip: get a room with balcony: it gets evening sun and has a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAH374, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014
Google Translation

Wir danken für Ihre Bewertung. Allerdings betrifft diese den früheren Betrieb unter dem Namen "Hotel Muntanella". Gerne heissen wir Sie nun im Aurora Hotel I Restaurant I Bar, Ardez, willkommen, welches seit Mai 2013 in Betrieb ist (kontakt@aurora-ardez.ch). Unser Hotel wird nicht mehr als Familienhotel geführt. Kinder sind nach wie vor willkommen, allerdings ohne spezielles Angebot. Das Aurora-Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel in December 2010 and loved it. The hotel is a family hotel and most of the guests come with small children. The breakfast was very good, rooms were spacious and very clean.

The only downside is more to do with the location of the hotel since you can't do much in Ardez. On the other hand, places around Ardez are amazing, we went to Scuol, St. Moritz and Davos via Fluella pass and that was a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastWest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAH374, Geschäftsführer at Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014
Google Translation

Wir danken für Ihre Bewertung. Allerdings betrifft diese den früheren Betrieb unter dem Namen "Hotel Muntanella". Gerne heissen wir Sie nun im Aurora Hotel I Restaurant I Bar, Ardez, willkommen, welches seit Mai 2013 in Betrieb ist (kontakt@aurora-ardez.ch). Unser Hotel wird nicht mehr als Familienhotel geführt. Kinder sind nach wie vor willkommen, allerdings ohne spezielles Angebot. Das Aurora-Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We spent a weekend in this modern, clean hotel during ski season. Spacious rooms with perfect accents decorations of red and white. Great location to enjoy the slopes of Scuol (9 min. by car or use free shuttle van from hotel) and the unique Roman-Irish baths. Some German helpful in Scuol, as there are not many English speakers. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful with local info. Delicious bkfst buffet with breads, boiled eggs, meats/cheeses, chocolate treats, cereals and homemade birchermuesli. Ideal for families with children! Also, just 40 min to St. Moritz by car, 25 to Davos... be AWARE of car transporter traffic at Vereina, plan accordingly!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westchester_NYFrauB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We have a baby aged 14 months and wanted a family friendly hotel. Hotel Muntanella were extremely welcoming and friendly. They were able to give us a twin room - basically two rooms divided by a small hallway, the entrance to the hallway having a lockable door, so our son could sleep in one and we in the other. The cost was not much more than us being all in one room which would have been possible but a tad overcrowded. A baby's cot was provided, with bedding, plus a night light, a bottle warmer and nappies, a changing table and baby bath. For older kids the room also had bunkbeds.

At breakfast there was a microwave and jars of baby food, a high chair was always set out at our table at breakfast, ready and waiting. We had a thermos flask with us and they gladly filled it up with warm milk which lasted the whole day for our son.

They also provided us with a baby phone which worked in the whole hotel, which meant we could eat dinner in the hotel restaurant after our son had gone to sleep. We requested and were given a quiet room which was not on the ground floor.

Hotel breakfast was standard continental breakfast, soft boiled eggs provided on request. The restaurant on the evening didn't have an extensive menu, but everything we ordered was fine, both for my husband, a confirmed meat eater, and I (no meat).

A hotel laptop with free internet access was available for use in the lobby, a pram and backpack for young babies were all also made available to us at no extra charge. If you bring your own laptop, the hotel is a wireless hotspot.

We always felt welcomed and felt that our baby could just be a baby without being frowned upon.

The view from our room was quite charming. There is also an outside terrace in the restaurant.

For older kids, there is a large kids playroom and two X box terminals.

The hotel used to be under a different name and management, and has been refurbished and remarketed as Hotel Muntanella.

We will definitely be returning to this family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William_Mandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dirkcharbonnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank mcturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora

Address: Broelet 34, Ardez 7546, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Ardez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardez
Price Range: £133 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora, ein Ort der Begegnung im historischen Dorf Ardez. Bei uns wohnen Sie in einem komfortablen Doppelzimmer. Wahrend Ihres Urlaubs finden Sie bei uns nebst landlicher Ruhe auch spannende Angebote wie Wandern, Mountainbiken, Tennis, Golf und weitere. Entspannen Sie sich im Engadin Bad in Scuol. Unser gemutliches Restaurant mit der Sonnenterrasse ist ein Treffpunkt fur Einheimische und Gaste. Unsere einheimischen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter unterstutzen Sie gerne beim Organisieren Ihrer Aktivitaten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing