We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Elegance and comfort, a perfect combination.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elegance and comfort, a perfect combination.
Enjoy late mornings and early nights in this beautiful calming bedroom. Many beautiful period features.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Elegance and comfort, a perfect combination.
Enjoy late mornings and early nights in this beautiful calming bedroom.
Many beautiful period features.
Lovely dining area.
This spacious kitchen/diner is fully equipped for preparing light snacks to full roast dinners.
Bathroom
Bathroom
View of the stunning Georgian building - our apartment is on the ground floor and easily accessible.
A sneaky peak through the bedroom window from the rear courtyard garden. Looks cosy, doesn't it?
A view toward Appledore from the water.
The beautiful river Torridge looking out to sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann186399
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved everything about Ship Ahoy, it was so comfortable, homely and spotlessly clean, equipped with everything you could possibly need. The cream tea provided by Karen and Tony was a lovely welcome after a long journey. We didn't get to meet our hosts, but nevertheless they were extremely helpful and we knew we could call them if we needed them. The apartment is in a perfect position, so close to all of the local amenities - we will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikkixNor...
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 29 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Perfect pad. Suprisingly spacious. Perfectly equipped. Very comfy, clean and like home from home. Highly recommend. We'll be revisiting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thanks for your review Vikki - you were also perfect guests. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
DOVER
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay At Ship Ahoy”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have just spent a few days away in Appledore,staying at the wonderful Ship Ahoy... A true home from home experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you, Margaret. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.
All the very best
Karen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
1 review
“Lovely, well appointed apartment in the heart of this beautiful, peaceful coastal town.”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Really enjoyed my stay, the apartment was everything I had expected and more. Recently refurbished, all facilities were as described and could not have been cleaner or better presented. Hats off to Tony and Karen for creating such an excellent holiday let, I'm sure they will have many happy, return visitors.
Appledore is a truly lovely, tranquil and historic town in a beautiful location on the Taw and Torridge Estuary and Ship Ahoy is located right in the heart of town a few minutes walk from the the Quay which with it's fantastic views across to Instow and beyond, perfect for an early morning stroll or indeed at any time of day.
There are Pubs offering food, tea rooms and a very good, small supermarket and deli / cafe all within five minutes walk. My favourite was The Royal, just two doors away where you can eat your fish and chips bought from the takeaway opposite.
Lovely apartment, beautiful place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely write-up, Neil. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Ship Ahoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Appledore again sometime. All the best. Karen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz953
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday Home”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I have named this review 'home'as this property really feels like that. I arrived very late, but Tony was there to greet me, show me round and help with my luggage as my partner could not join me until later.
The home has been lovingly restored and has everything you could need for a perfect break. It is in a super, central location and the bedroom overlooks a very private courtyard at the rear of the property which means that it is very peaceful.
All in all, I think that this is an ideal retreat for couples of any age.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks again, Liz, for your lovely write-up. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ship Ahoy and look forward to welcoming you back to Appledore sometime in the future. All the best. Karen and Tony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archiehun...
solihull
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful short stay - great location”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a very relaxing 2 night stay at Ship Ahoy. The apartment was very comfortable and well appointed and the extra touches including the cream tea was very welcome. We would highly recommend Ship Ahoy and will hopefully stay again!
Thanks to Tony for such a warm welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thanks folks. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Do get in touch next time you fancy some downtime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KDATX
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and amenities”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We loved our stay. Karen and Tony have restored their accommodation to a high standard with every detail you could ask for in a home away from home. The apartment is set back off the Quay so its nice and quiet and is in easy walking distance to all things Appledore. We will definitely come back again and would not hesitate to give this property and owners the highest recommendation. Three notable things which are not in the owner's control are parking, cell and internet services. Parking in October was challenging for us although we managed by moving the car when spaces were available on the Quay. Internet was patchy instead go for a pint at the Seagate Hotel and use their wifi and cell coverage with O2 was near zero which is a Devon thing not just Appledore. Apparently, EE or Three is the best to use in the area. Even with these small challenges, it was still a remarkable stay and we thank Karen and Tony for their kind hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities in the accommodation
Liked least: Parking, cell and internet services
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Thanks so much folks. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come and visit again sometime. We'd happily welcome you back. Ps. we're happy to report that we now have superfast broadband which makes a huge difference to the wifi situation, however we would still recommend going for a pint at the Seagate too ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing