We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding B&B”

Torridge House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torridge House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Appledore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a brilliant stay here after doing a performance at Appledore Book Festival...reckon its up there in the top five best UK B&Bs I've stayed in in 40 years touring theatre...and that's quite a few, most of them forgettable with mean cramped rooms and mediocre breakfasts. Torridge House in Appledore: Outstandingly comfy night, peaceful location, lovely town, beautiful garden, best ever breakfast and the friendliest owner in Penny. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed here with my mother and our miniature poodle and it was a great success. Penny and her family are warm, welcoming and really pushed the boat out to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The whole house is decorated very tastefully and is filled with interesting and unique decoration and furniture. Really comfy beds. The breakfast was the best I had ever experienced in a B&B, and that is 30 years experience! Thank you Penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had spent hours trawling the internet for a b and b but everything was fully booked until we happened upon this gem. We were so happy just to find a room we didn't think much more about it and had a nice surprise when we arrived. I loved everything about this place. The beds were amazingly comfortable, one of the best nights sleep ever. I loved the decor of the house....very understated but with an artists touch....not sure is the owner is an artist. She made us a wonderful breakfast, fresh pastries, coffee, yogurt, fruit and the full english. All the food was really good quality. Just wished the house was my house....I adored it and the wonderful garden too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

staying with Penny was a lovely experience. The house is beautiful as is the garden, we really felt at home. The room was clean and tasteful, the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat and it was nice to sit around the table with the other guests and get to know them, We would deffinately stay with Penny again,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Finding the b & b was the hardest part of the weekend, but once we had asked for directions, the rest was easy. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and shown to our room. The accommodation was clean and pleasant. Parking the car was not so easy but eventually gave up trying to find somewhere on the quay front and opted to pay and park in the car park which wasn't very far away.
Our hostess Penny was charming and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was very pleasant in a sun filled conservatory and consisted of freshly cooked full English with eggs from the chickens at the end of the intriguing garden.
The house itself is in easy walking distance to everything Appledore has to offer.
All in all it was a very relaxing and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay in North Devon for a few days, following a trip down for a friend's birthday. We did a fair amount of online research of where to stay, somewhere we could relax and unwind, and picked the Torridge House B&B – and are really pleased we did.

Penny was friendly and welcoming from the very start and having checked out their website (which we now know has been recently redesigned), we knew exactly what to expect and weren’t disappointed.

We stayed in the ‘Blue Room’, which is a lovely large space, with a four-poster and small table with 2 chairs by the dormer window that looks out over the quiet street in front of the house (wide enough only to allow a single car down it). The décor was neutral but warm and we felt at home straight away. The en-suite shower room was small but perfectly formed and there is a radio CD player, with a range of music to play and an ipod dock, which we had on immediately on getting in!

Breakfast is served at any point up to 11am and was of a standard we had anticipated from our experience of the rest of the house. Fresh eggs laid by Penny’s hens in the back garden and home baked bread daily, topped off the full English I plumped for (having been offered basically whatever we might have wanted for breakfast – cereals, toast, smoked salmon muffins etc). The breakfast room was really comfortable and we couldn't imagine a better space.

We ate out locally for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed, but brought fish & chips back to eat in the guest lounge on the third while watching a DVD from the healthy selection available, using plates, cutlery and sauce we got from the kitchen.

This has to be the nicest B&B we've stayed in. We would both highly recommend the Torridge House and look forward to stay again the next time we’re in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'm something of a veteran of B and B's and I can really say this is the best I've stayed in. Comfortable, clean house, marvellous beds, a 'secret garden', the open ease with which one can come and go right in the middle of Appledore. Penny's terrific breakfasts were a treat: top quality food, fresh and generous amounts on beautiful crockery. Penny is a great hostess, interesting, not intrusive and the grace of her taste reflected throughout the house. It was heaven and very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Torridge House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torridge House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Bude Street, Appledore, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Appledore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appledore
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torridge House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torridge House Bed & Breakfast Appledore, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing