We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pear Tree Cottage

Welcome to Pear Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Pear Tree Cottage
Kitchen Private courtyard where Pear Tree Cottage is located
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Welcome to Pear Tree Cottage
Kitchen
Private courtyard where Pear Tree Cottage is located
Communal Garden with seating, swing bench and BBQ
Ship Ahoy in the Courtyard
Richmond Dry Dock
Bude Street, Appledore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
charlesan...
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage over Xmas 2017. The cottage is large, warm and very comfortable. There is a secure garden (terrier - proof). Paula left a very generous hamper full of treats.
This was our fourth Xmas in Appledore, this was the best cottage that we have rented. The location is perfect, central yet quiet.
Highly recommended, we would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are always pleased to hear when people enjoy Appledore and our cottages as much as we do. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future. Happy New Year, Paula & Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainerob...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday cottage in Appledore”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage in Appledore great location very quite set in a lovely courtyard, 2 minutes from the harbour and local pub and chippy which is excellent, to get the nearest beach is across the ferry £1.50 each way or go round by car it takes about 10 mins to Instow, Pear tree cottage is lovely very clean, the owners Paula and Noel are lovely, cottage is set in a lovely quite court yard

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you Elaine for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and all the things Appledore and the surrounding area has to offer. Hope to see you again in the future. Paula & Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Narnia!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a fabulous week in Pear Tree Cottage. It would be really difficult to find fault with any aspect of our accommodation - excellent hosts, cosy, spotlessly clean and well equipped characterful cottage. The courtyard is beautiful - you would never guess that it's behind the big brown door (hence the Narnia reference)! Barney (our Jack Russell) loved the accommodation and very much enjoyed all the walks especially on Instow beach. We sampled a few Devon cream teas - I would thoroughly recommend Dacton Mill - beautiful landscape, excellent walk down to the coast and the most divine cream tea - perfect! We really hope to return at some stage in the future. Thank you Paula and Noel!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you Sharon for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and got to venture out to some of the other hidden treasures North Devon has to offer. We would love to see you all again and hope it won't be too long. Paula & Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you Hilary for the lovely feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the cottage and took advantage of its great location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic few.days. I was working. But took family and my dog Revel. All enjoyed the local area. Great hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback. It is always great to hear that others enjoy the great area we live in - even if you did have to work.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schulpy
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really had a great time, lovely cottage and Paula & Noel sorted out the couple of small problems we had without any fuss or hassle.
We have stayed in quite a few cottages in Appledore and this is the best by far, it’s hidden away from the street in a quiet location.
We would certainly not hesitate to book it again, nice touch also that we arrived to scones, a nice bottle of wine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil J
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish dog friendly cottage in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bit of late review from my previous stay but prompted by booking another, my fifth, visit later this year. I have always found the cottage to be super clean, well looked after, very comfortable for both humans and dogs alike and in a great location being so close to the centre of Appledore. Paul and Noel always very welcoming and you can never tire of the scones and clotted cream on arrival.

The cottage is very well styled avoiding the tweeness that you often get but not so immaculate that you feel scared to bring in any dust.My dog settled in very easily and loved the stone floor in the kitchen to spread some mud and sand about but also easy for me to clean up.

Appledore itself is a great wee village which always has some changes whenever you come back but retains enough of the old stuff so you know where you are. Fish and Chips at Sylvesters always brilliant including complimentary sausage for the mutt! The Champ for some good live music and Beavor for grub, pool and view. But all are pretty good in their own way. Have fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style, comfort, location.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. Always a pleasure to see people returning to the courtyard. Hope you enjoy your next visit with us as much as the previous ones.
Paula & Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing