We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fun 4days”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boat Yard

Views from the dinning table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views from the dinning table
great place to eat  either inside or out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Views from the dinning table
great place to eat  either inside or out
catch up on those emails with free wi fi , perfect location for work while you play
watch the life boat re fuel  from the balcony
Great views from the lounge
one of the two balconies a great place to relax
Lovely comfy beds
look down on the fisher men unloading there catch
Sit back in the newly carpeted lounge and watch the tide come in
great views from both balconies
large living room with bed settee
Large kitchen dinner with fab views
the kitchen dinner is a real social room
kitchen dinner  opening out on to the balcony
up stairs to the sitting room with a further balcony
great social kitchen with views while you cook
Plenty of seating g all with fab views.   Also a bed settee
New comfy beds
double master bedroom
view from the balcony
looking back at appledore  from instow
watch ships of all sizes sail down past ,here  the james joyce  built here at our local ship yrd
take a walk to the fields above the village and the northdevon coast path
westward ho!beach  fantastic any time of yr
a great place for children to play
A navy ship being built near by
Appledore, taken from Instow across the river
Amazing sun sets from Westward ho!
great views from one of the 2 balconies
the roses by your off rd parking
Right on the coast path
Looking over your fence were  fishermen unload there catch and it goes off to top restaurants !
Waiting for the surf on an October day.   Westward ho beach. 1 mile
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris h
1 review
“fun 4days”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is the second time at the boat yard this time we was able to bring our kayaks and boards as there is safe off road parking and slipway to set off from had fun 4days hope to return next year

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, ,tell your friends and come back any time. ,we love kyakers on our river,, !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay,, and that the tide was in when you arrived early so you were able to launch,, your kyak s from the garden,, and come and go, with your family making the most of the close proximity to the river, and the barbecue in the garden, please tell your friends and come back any time,,, both flats are ideal for a large group or family, !! Regards Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marec0
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb flat in a quirky and historic location”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a fabulous getaway in Jan's flat. Beautiful flat - clean, well equipped and everything you need and more. The location is stunning - overlooking a beautiful estuary with ever changing light and glorious views. The owner could not have been more helpful and friendly. The building felt a bit like the Tardis - from the outside it is fairly nondescript but once you get inside - WOW!

I work for a leading tourist information office and would have absolutely no hesitation recommending this flat as an ideal place to stay.

I'm struggling with the review below - describing the "steep" stairs? No! They were just your normal stairs - nothing to complain about here.

And - on an industrial estate overlooking a junkyard? PLEASE - it is not an industrial estate at all. It is next to one of Appledore's famous and historic boat building yards, steeped in the history of the town's glory days. It was a real bonus to be able to access this and watch the various boats coming past day and night as well as being close to wildlife and those glorious extuary views from TWO balconies! Easy 10 minute walk to the town centre along a pretty winding lane

I loved it here. It is unusual, quirky and gorgeous. A rare find. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful comfy flat with great views
Liked least: nothing was wrong
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
mary it was a real pleasure meeting you , and how lovely of you a lady in your possition working for the devon tourist imformation office to write such a wonderful imformative review thank you and i so hope i can welcome back you and your artist friends in better weather so you can sit on the balcony and sketch like you intended when first booking my place , thank you again for your lovely review im so glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
I have had no booking from a Mary marchant, so who ever you are, , the photos certainly haven't been doctored, as on my ad it says visited by trip adviser, and yes they send there representative to properties, at the owners request and take photos,,, and there's certainly nothing cut out, ,, as for suitable for wheel chair access,, this property is not,,, I do have another the boat yard slip way,,, on the ground floor, with wheel chair access, ,,,, so who ever you are, I think you need two get some facts straight, , because the people that actually stay at my property love it, ,!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Appledor
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing mornings & evenings looking out over the ever changing estuary”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location, peaceful with the natural estuary life going on around you. Easy walk into Appledore itself. Would definately stay here again. Jan is a wealth of local knowledge.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you Hayley, for a lovely review. I'm so glad you and your lovely family enjoyed staying at the boat yard. And it would be wonderful to see you again another year. I'd really look forward to that. Thanks again for your review. Hope we meet again in the future. Best wishes Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros S
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great views and fantastic apartment”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This apartment gives great views across the estuary from its two balconies. Really well designed to make the most of the views. Very clean and comfortable. Jan is so welcoming and helpful and her local knowledge is invaluable. Easy walk into Appledore which is very pretty.
Thank you Jan, we loved the Boatyard

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design of the apartment to take full advantage of the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
ros you and your husband forbs were a real pleasure to meet , as i told you you win my" best guest " award , would love to see you again one day , and thank you and good luck for the future jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longhurst...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super view and modern clean accomodation”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner, daughter and parents had a really lovely stay at The Boatyard in Appledore . The view was a total joy especially for my parents who are less mobile than they used to be and could sit outside in the fresh air and watch the changing tides, the boat races, the fishing boats docking and the wading birds. I was so glad that I had booked here instead of a cottage in a little backstreet in the village where there are some steep backroads! The rooms were all modern and very clean and there was beautiful new carpet throughout. The road that the apartment was on did not look like an obvious holiday home area because it was next to the dockyard but this never proved to be an issue and we could park right outside the front door, a real bonus with my Dad who has Parkinson's.
For my Dad we needed somewhere where their bedroom was on the same floor as the bathroom which this flat has. From the front door there were stairs up to the first floor with a handrail. He could manage the stairs if he went slowly but we did mention to Jan that it would be helpful to have an extra bit of rail just for the turn at the top of the stairs and she says that she will get that done (she was always very helpful!). Once up, the first floor had a well equipped clean kitchen (with the best view from a sink ever), a utility area with a washing machine etc and a good sized bathroom with plenty of hot water for showers. The kitchen table was big enough for 5 of us but 6 may have been a push? This floor leads out onto a balcony overlooking the estuary and there is space for 4 to sit comfortably - we fitted 6 for drinks when more family popped over to visit for the day. You are actually staying overlooking the Babcocks boatyard so there are some old metal winching posts etc that some may not consider pleasing to the eye but we just found it all very interesting especially watching the Lundy Puffin fishing boat docking.
Upstairs was a nice lounge area with another little balcony that two could sit on. Myself and my partner loved having our morning coffee there. There were nice views from just sitting on the settees inside though which my parents enjoyed. My Dad managed getting upstairs to this floor fine. This was a great room for a family gathering one evening. The only slight drawback for sleeping was the sofa-bed which is intended for two....I would say it would be fine for two children but it was a bit too narrow really for two adults (Jan maybe a bigger sofa bed?!)
The walk in to Appledore took about 5/10 mins which we often did but there wasn't a pavement along the first bit of road so we did not push my Dad in the wheelchair that way. There was parking available on the quayside though. Plenty of nice little art/craft shops to look at and we enjoyed a family meal (for 12) at The Beaver pub which had very reasonable prices, a lovely helpful landlady and fab views over the sea. The little ferry boat across to Instow was fun to do with my daughter and we enjoyed John's coffee shop (there is one in Appledore and one in Instow.) My partner and cousin really enjoyed doing a spot of fishing for a morning too with Gary a local fisherman with character it sounds! The Tarka trail starts at the end of the Instow promenade and this was perfect for pushing Dad's wheelchair along with great views of the estuary. It takes about 10 mins to drive to Instow from Appledore.
We also went out on trips to Ilfracombe (good for wheelchair pushing and great fast Rib wildlife safari ride that my 18 year old daughter enjoyed), Lynton/Lynmouth (all enjoyed the fudge shops and funicular ride), Woolacombe Beach ( the wheelchair accessible café above the beach with good views closes at 5 so get there beforehand).
Jan was really friendly and helpful and was nearby in case we needed anything. All in all it was a very successful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Stunning views and clean modern rooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
what a lovely family you are and thank you for finding the time to write such an informative review , id love to welcome you back any time , and you can make sure iv got my builder adding the extra hand rail , and sofa beds , a wider one is on my shopping list :} best wishes jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing