We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining at the Appledore experience 16/6/14”
Review of The Seagate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Seagate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Appledore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dining at the Appledore experience 16/6/14”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a lovely walk on the beach today,me+my wife and father in law decided to try the Seagate hotel for a change,having seen it recently refurbished by the present owners.We all now consider it to be the best restaurant in the whole area including Instow.The owner certainly knows how a restaurant and menu should be and how to look after his customers.I don,t imagine that it will be too long until you will probably have to book long in advance.We would highly recommend to one and all and just want to spread the word,my dog was also looked after with a chilled bowl of water.Many thanks and see you soon.Mr and Mrs Chalmers-Stevens,Bideford,Devon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    80
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
102
149
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you're planning to visit North Devon the Seagate is an ideal place to stay and worth making a detour. The hotel itself has clearly been recently refurbished, and to a high standard. It has a bright modern vibe but still has a cosy, friendly feel to it. The room we were in (number 1) was spacious, had a huge comfortable bed, and a great view over the estuary. The food was excellent -- we normally make a point of eating away from where we stay (see what else locality has to offer) but in this case we really enjoyed the food and decided to eat at the Seagate both nights we stayed there.The hearty breakfast was also excellent. Overall very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank en5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just stayed for a couple of nights at the Seagate, the recent refurbishment is of superb quality. Hotel very clean and well presented. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly and are only too keen to oblige, especially Tina. Had a great couple of days and certainly will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The Seagate hotel is one of the most friendless places to visit.
We have recently had a holiday in Appledore and went in the Seagate nearly everyday. The staff are so attentive and friendly and make you feel so welcome. The food is also amazing !!!
Its a great bonus that they welcome dogs in the pub area too.
This hotel/pub is a excellent run establishment and can not be faulted!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Nugent-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms are clean and airy. The staff are friendly and have smiles on their faces, nothing is too much trouble for them. This is a great little hotel in a fab location and great value. The food is fantastic and even if you don't stay here, go and eat in the restaurant. Thank you everyone for making our stay so pleasurable. See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel bushbaby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We love out visits to stay at The Seagate. From the moment we walk through the door we are made to feel at welcome. The rooms are very comfortable. The food is excellent, thank you Tina for all your kindness at breakfast. Our evening meals are a joy. The views from The Seagate are beautiful. Wake to the sun rising over the water. All the staff make our stay a time to treasure. Well done all of you.
We shall return :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutkinsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I together with our German Sheperd cross Alaskan Malamute recently spent 2 nights at The Seagate. We were greeted most courteously at check in, and the same courtesy was extended to us at the bar. The bar staff even had some treats for our dog and there was plenty of water for him to drink, he was most impressed.
We were advised that dogs were not allowed in the restuarant, that was not a problem as the bar was comfortable and had good size tables to eat at.
We had dinner at The Seagate both nights, the food was excellent, as was the service and represented very good value for money. In the mornings I had the Full English Breakfast which was sufficient to keep me going all day.
The room although not huge was clean, tidy and well appointed. Just one small negative point
from THE WIFE it was almost impossible to use the hair drier as there was no socket anywhere near the mirror.
We will return to The Seagate, but next time with an extension lead.
Eric & Lorna Weaver

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric-lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appledore
1.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wayfarer Inn
The Wayfarer Inn
#3 of 3 in Instow
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagate Hotel

Property: The Seagate Hotel
Address: Seagate Hotel The Quay, Appledore EX39 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Appledore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appledore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Seagate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagate Hotel Appledore, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing