We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an improvement.”

The Seagate Hotel Appledore North Devon Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Appledore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What an improvement.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

i have been visting the Seagate for many years now (20+) and the recent refurbishments and improvements in the dining experience are fantastic. Food on the Thursday vist was absolutely first rate, a little disappointed with the Plaice ujons on the monday night visit, but overal the experience is top notch, would recommend anyone visiting Appledore enjoy a meal at the Seagate and you will not be disappointed. Serving staff are excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    207
    47
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Lovely casual ambiance good food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We wandered in off the street at 6 pm on a Sunday evening and got the last table in the restaurant area. I had the Tandoori chicken salad £11. A tasty, light meal which is exactly what I wanted. Chicken was cooked perfectly. Still moist. My partner ate the Crab Linguine. £10. He really enjoyed it. We shared a bottle of Chenin Blanc which was £13.50. We ate every bit on our plates. We went across the road and got an icecream for the Hockings Van for dessert. A lovely evening. Would fine there again as they had a nice variety of meals to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank Shelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner for a change from excellent pubs we usually frequent, like Beaver, Pig on Hill, Boathouse, Coach and Horses in Buckland Brewer.
Thought we would give this place a go. Welcoming staff despite being very busy.
Had the "buffalo" wings. Awful! They were so over cooked (boiled?) that the meat fell off so could not be dipped into the blue cheese sauce. I was expecting brown crispy wings that held together, not flabby pale skinned things. Really unpleasant.
Steak expensive but just OK, one small mushroom, no onion rings, a few skinny chips.
Tandoori chicken dry, tiny strips of pitta bread.
We went to the Hockings van for pud. Lovely!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All I wanted was some extra veg !”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Really inconsistent service here resulted in a poor experience. We ate one night of our hols and I asked for some extra green veg with the dish I ordered (as am pregnant and need my greens) and they were really helpful and I got extra green beans with a lovely fish dish. We enjoyed our meal so much that we decided to eat here on our last night. Again, I chose a fish dish and asked if it came with veg, the girl serving wasn't sure so checked with kitchen who said I could have a spoonful of peas with it and that was it! So instead I ordered fish with roasted med veg, I asked for an extra large portion of the veg and was told this was cost £1 - inconsistent with the previous night but fair enough. The meal arrived and the med veg consisted of 90% potato (gnocci) and a measly one piece of courgette and one of aubergine. The lady on the next table had ordered the same but then a lovely bowl of green veg she had ordered arrived with hers as an additional order. Bemused, we asked if I could have the same and was told "no", that she had ordered hers with a different dish ! We had tried that tactic but failed. So, I ended up with a pile of potato for which we were charged an extra £1 and left feeling pretty annoyed and confused. What do you have to do to get some veg in this place? It's not like I asked for a side of cavier. We would have considered returning out of season to stay at The Seagate, but after the ridiculous service will not do so. What a shame as our first experience there was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BethandAlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice but needs refining”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a meal here with family over the summer. A nice selection of food and beers in a nice location next to the estuary.
Staff were friendly and helpful with a prompt service.
Unfortunately I had the lamb which had no taste to it at all. I'm no Michelin star chef but I always thought lamb was one of the more flavourful meats yet this one had somehow managed to loose all its flavour.
Spoilt was could have been a really nice meal.
Still a decent place and one that I probably would go back to. I just wouldn't choose the lamb again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wagtail685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Seagate Hotel Appledore North Devon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Seagate Hotel Appledore North Devon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing