We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable with excelent accomodation for the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maggi988
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable with excelent accomodation for the extened family,with a great view”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Appledore has more than you might think with some tea shops and other shops of interest which you can walk to. We had a delicious breakfast on Monday morning. Although the heating wasn't working properly when we arrived . Somebody came out within 30 minutes. Just a minor point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: enough space and facilities so we did not neeed to be all in one room. There were a few toys books and games which was helpful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirtmothe...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good decision”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We live in a landlocked county and it was on this basis - that our primary need on holiday was for the sea - that we decided to bust our budget for what might be our last nuclear family holiday (teenagers growing up). It turned out not just to be an 'investment in memories' but a sound financial decision too as the house and location was so good that we spent less on other aspects of the holiday.
We had been concerned about the parking situation but a week's parking in the nearby carpark was a reasonable price and we could see our car from the house (and were able to park a little nearer for unloading) The only time we had trouble parking was when we arrived back in Appledore smack in the middle of the World Crabbing Championships. There are also regular buses from this car park.
Plenty going on in Appledore. The best chips we have ever eaten - we are still talking about them a year later. Lots of little shops to poke about in. The local shop and deli are useful and we enjoyed their takeaway platters... eaten in prime location ie back at the house.
We were also a little anxious about a place with no garden and a dog but there was a suitable 'beach' a few doors along and first thing in the morning and last thing at night were some of the most pleasant and sociable times I've had with other dog owners.
A nice relaxed unfussy house - not lots of notices. There are few caveats. Firstly the internal bedroom - we took a relative who was getting a free change of scenery to write and run in return for dog sitting so we could do a boat trip and he was forewarned about this but there are no windows in this room, so some might like to take a nightlight, and the washing machine is in this room. There was also no tumble dryer which can be useful for an English seaside holiday.
We disliked the agency, Helpful Holidays, through which we booked and we were pleased to see that The Yardarm is no longer with them.
When I encounter stressful times since our holiday there, I close my eyes and imagine myself back on the balcony watching the tide go in and out.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
144honest...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent river side holiday home”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A well appointed and comfortable house situated on Appledore's most famous street overlooking the river estuary and within easy walking distance of pubs and restaurants

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A house with a view - and so much more!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Appledore Yardarm is a great property and is probably the best holiday rental I've ever stayed in! The overwhelming first impression is the fabulous views of the constantly changing estuary. Having said that, the house is beautifully presented and extremely well-equipped and furnished both inside and out. We were an extended family (three generations) and the layout on three floors admirably suited us. It would work equally well for two families.
Appledore is a charming village with plenty of places to eat plus a small supermarket, deli, pubs and cafes. There are also many art and craft shops to visit. There are no cashpoints in the village but money can be obtained at the the post office in the deli and cashback from the store. There are plenty of banks in Bideford which is only 10 minutes on the bus. We did not use a car, there are three buses an hour to Barnstaple and beyond, but you would need to drive to explore further afield
The best thing about the house is being able to go crabbing from the terrace, our grandson loved this. There was nothing I disliked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing