We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the private garden, 11th century church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the private garden, 11th century church
View from the private garden, 11th century church
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View from the private garden, 11th century church
View from the private garden, 11th century church
huge garden
Lots of light from the french doors and cosy open fire
Lots of entertain dvd, free sat, net flicks, wifi and some good old traditional board games
Separate bathroom, with sink, shower, toilet and bath
Large kitchen with all amentities
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St Avit, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Loopdiloo...
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful holiday in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have had such a lovely holiday in this gorgeous part of the world! The house is clean, incredibly well equipped, and so comfortable. Sarah has thought of everything, and the quality of the furnishings is very good. This is a perfect place to holiday with young children, safe, quiet and spacious. The quality of the wifi is very good, and it was an added bonus to have so many English TV channels on FreeSat.

We loved the beaches at Aubeterre and Brossac (each 15 min away), and the pool is a perfect way to finish the day. And having a Lidl five minutes away and an Intermarche supermarket a couple minutes more is very handy.

We are already thinking about our next holiday here next summer! Thanks Sarah and your parents. Our holiday has flown by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl F
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Welcome Pack was very much appreciated after such a long drive, especially the bottle of wine..Absolute stunning home of Sarah. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the swimming pool for the first week, Sarah's lovely father had to drain/ wash and fill it back up, he did all of this without any inconvenience to ourselves, ( it was unfortunate this had to be the hottest week) it couldn't be helped, Sarah's dad was very nice and gave us lots of useful information, Sarah herself was only a phone call away, nothing was too much bother for them.. We would both like to thank Sarah and of course her father, and we are looking forward to returning back very soon.. Stunning Cottage/ home and lovely owner...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage itself/. Location..
Liked least: Wifi wasn't the best!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol L
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable week with friends”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The property was in a very quiet rural location in the wonderful French countryside.
Property was very well equipped with a good welcome pamper.
The accommodation was very comfortable and the outside space was excellent.
The property is an excellent rural retreat for holiday makers wanting peace and quiet. It is not within walking distance of any amenities but the local village of Chalais which is a 10 min drive had everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent property
Liked least: The way holiday lettings operate. Being harassed prior to paying balance and having to wait 10 days after vacating property to receive damage deposit which we received in full.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Joo...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely relaxing stay at the very well equipped property. Fully enclosed garden so it was ideal for our dog. The location is rural but not far from necessary amenities. We definitely would love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipper28...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely house”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at St Avit, the house was just perfect for us, the garden was secure and our two dogs loved running around in it. The village was quiet and peaceful but not far from a supermarket, garage, shops and eating places. A big Thank You Sarah for letting us use your house.
Irene & David

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuFlinne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tremendous cottage”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I stayed at the cottage in May for one week. What a wonderful stay! The cottage is in a beautiful rural location with a lovely, spacious garden and well maintained pool. St Avit is well located for day trips to Bordeaux, Bergerac, Brantome, St Auberre and countless medieval villages. The cottage itself was impeccably clean and wonderfully well appointed; from an extensive DVD and book collections and coffee machine, to tasteful decor thoughtful touches throughout.

This is a cottage where the owner Sarah and her parents really care about the quality of your stay, the charming welcome hamper (baguette, wine and other basics) is just one touch, but their effort and care is evident in every room. We stayed with our dog Otis and the cottage was ideal for him too - a well secured garden and even dog walking recommendations in the extensive welcome pack.

Would recommend without hesitation and can't wait to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian P
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

St Avit is a very quiet village if you want a get away from it all relaxing holiday. Short drive to ammenities and local attractions. The cottage is beautiful. The photographs do not do it justice. Much larger than we expected and decorated to a very high standard. The linen, towels, pillows etc are of a high quality and the cottage is spotless. Sarah has thought of everything even down to a picnic basket and blanket. Toys and games provided as well as the table tennis and above ground swimming pool. The welcome pack was the best we have every had. Sarah replies to e mails and calls immediately and nothing is too much trouble. we would highly recommend this cottage, and wish Sarah success in her rental business. We especially liked the decked area outside the main bedroom, sun loungers provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decking area outside main bedroom and table tennis
Liked least: garden could be made more private
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing