We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turned into a family affair”
Review of The Foresters Arms

The Foresters Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Beckington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Foresters is a 18th Century village Inn, set in the quiet back streets of a the picturesque village of Beckington, serving traditional beers, ciders, food and now offering We now have 7 En-suite Rooms 4kingsize 2twin and1kingsize with single bed
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“turned into a family affair”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Well what can you say, nearly full on a Tuesday night says it all. My husband ordered T-bone steak rare and what arrived was a very large plate of food, steak cooked spot on and all the trimmings. I ordered off the special list Chinese pork which was very tasteful the only issue with it was the red cabbage could have been slightly warmer, After we had finished our meal our daughter and house mates turned up and all three of them praised their meals.
This is a great village pub that caters for all, I wish more village pubs could be like this well done landlords,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SWMells24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    57
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convivial, friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This a great pub set in the heart of Beckington. Clive the landlord is always on hand to greet you and make you welcome.
Good selection of draught ales, and good home made food
They are also a B&B. The rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard.
Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank boddidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in the village last week and came here for one of our meals the food was good and home cooked the only thing was it was extremely busy and only one waitress three being two large parties we did feel it as a tad expensive but we did enjoy our meal yes we would go again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice pub, great value”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at local Travelodge, came here for a meal. Good menu on blackboard, and then specials too. Very well priced, good food

Helpful?
1 Thank Loaenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scrumptious home cooked food!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Foresters Arms cannot be beaten for a delicious home cooked meal. My husband and I would always choose to come here whilst visiting friends in Beckington from our home county Essex. The steak and ale pie which I always ask for 'Stilton sauce' to go with it is deliciously scrummy. Very friendly owners are the perfect hosts. Well recommended.



  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LynneD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foresters Arms also viewed

 
Beckington, Frome
 

Been to The Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing