We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Woolpack Inn

The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Beckington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“English Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The B&B owner where we stayed recomended this Pub to eat our dinners. Pub food was very good and staff were very friendly and kindly. Service was very quickly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChopperAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    80
    35
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Busy pub in the centre of the village. Extensive menu, but largely based on using the microwave. Food was perfectly good, but did not excite in any way. Staff were friendly though. Not the best in the area but not bad either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found our food good, however the majority of our menu is cooked through high powered ovens rather than microwaves. Thanks again for the review. Craig, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I first visited this lovely old inn by accident, having been let down by another establishment. What a pleasant surprise. A table was found, despite being very busy, for my daughter and I.
So when it came for a return visit, after my holiday ,meet up with my daughter and her boyfriend. The Woolpack was first choice, and again not disappointed. Quick, friendly service, Good,varied choice, not over ambitious. We emptied our plates. By the way the desserts were Mmmm!
Only little niggle, the rear dining room could do with a little of the atmosphere of the bar area.
Ready for my next visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your visit second time round. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. Regards, Craig, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a meal at The Woolpack last night and found it to be a lovely place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the menu provided a wide selection of food at very reasonable prices and both bar and restaurant have been tastefully decorated. We found the food to be very tasty overall. The ham hock and black pudding hash brown starter was disappointingly bland but that's the only gripe. The 50% off voucher (if you return within 2 weeks) was a nice little incentive to go back soon. Thumbs up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whippet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Met friend for lunch who ordered fish and chips. When the meal arrived the fish was overbattered, overcooked and when cut open the flesh was grey. I ordered the salmon fillet with salad - the fish was burnt at the edges and salad was past its sell by date. The whole meal was not value for money and certainly not a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank timbo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and that the food was not up to our usual standard. I will pass on your comments to our chef who will ensure this will not happen again. Craig, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing