We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Break”
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed on a 2 day New Year's Eve/New Year's Day mini break. We booked a 'superior room' at a higher cost, which was still a reasonable price for the time of year - about 20% more than normal. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent.
But.....although the room was acceptable, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. There was only a shower cubicle which was very dirty with filthy grouting and mastic sealant. No real excuse as it would be cheap, quick and easy to put right. Shame really as it stops me giving a higher overall rating.

Room Tip: There are lots of room photos, and obviously they only show the best. Suggest you ask for one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for your comments on the food and staff. We all take great pride in customer service. All bathrooms will undergo maintenance over the next few weeks, including grouting and sealant replacement. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Woolpack.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed at The Woolpack for a couple of days to celebrate the New Year.
Rooms clean and tidy and had everything you needed.
Food excellent value for money and well cooked and presented.
Staff exceptionally attentive and friendly.
Lovely village location close to Bath and Frome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for your review of the Woolpack. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here recently just for one night. I was given an attic room with a very limited view, however it was reasonably quiet. The room was very small but characterful and nice and warm. However unfortunately it wasn't very clean and didn't look like it had been properly vacuumed or dusted in a long while. There were also hairs on the bedding and mould in the bathroom and on the inside of the windows. The shower was placed over the bath but due to the slope of the ceiling, it was impossible to stand up straight in it. Food in the bar was incredibly cheap and very good value for money, but but more of a cheap fill rather than high end dining.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snargater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We will immediately action the points you have raised to ensure all future guests have the best possible experience with us. Thanks again for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here for a short break 14th - 16th December. Staff were very welcoming and attentive. The room was comfortable and clean although a little on the small side. We had a couple of evening meals here. The food was good and reasonably priced and the service very good. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice available and freshly cooked to order. The location is good if you wish to visit Bath, which is about a 30 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you for your review of the Woolpack, The staff do pride themselves on great customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here as a base for a weekend of Christmas shopping in Bath.
Lovely cosy feel to the hotel & bar. Food on both occassions was lovely & bar staff very attentive
Rooms were lovely & clean & had everything we needed although a bit on the small size
Location was perfect, close enough to Bath but far enough away from the hustle & bustle
All in all enjoyed my stay & looking fdorward to returning

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianJ1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, next time if you wish for a slightly larger room, please call us in advance and we will do whatever we can to make your stay more pleasurable.
We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We arrived at around 19.00 after an horrendous journey. The hotel was busy with a large Christmas party taking place. We had been pre-booked an evening meal by the hotel with the option of cancelling if we chose to. To be honest we couldn't be bothered to go out and find somewhere else to eat once we had settled into our room etc. so we ate at the hotel. The service was quite slow because it was busy and the food wasn't the best we've ever had, but at £9.95 for three courses what can you expect really?
We went to the room after the meal because we were really tired, but were kept awake until after midnight because of the Christmas party and live music playing (we were right above the function room and the music sounded like it was in our bedroom). This wasn't a great problem because we were watching a film on TV. When the party died down we had just gone to sleep when there was a crashing sound and lots of shouting and screaming. It transpires that there was a fight broke out in the bar and a window was smashed etc.
The breakfasts were second to none, with continental and full English options available.
The decor in the hotel is generally looking a bit tired and the same in the bathroom. Attention to detail is lacking slightly, which spoils the overall experience.
The staff were helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit, We do value all feedback and therefore will review all of the bathrooms and give good care and attention where necessary. Unfortunately there was a slight disturbance during your stay, We did try to resolve it as quickly as possible. As we are in an extremely quiet village, I can assure you and all future guests this occurrence is very very rare.
Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, I will of course pass onto our chef.
Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you to one of our Inns again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Tried this place on a Wednesday lunch time, when it was moderately busy. However the live music in the bar area was too loud and would have made it difficult to talk over it. We found a table in the restaurant area, which meant the music was more muted.
First impressions: The young girl on the bar was inattentive, the music was too loud.
Ordering food: Very slow service, just one bar person serving drinks and taking food orders resulted in an unacceptable wait to place the order.
The food was ordered from the set menu and my starter (garlic mushrooms) arrived quickly and was well presented and well cooked. However there was inconsistency with the main course - I had Hunters chicken which came with the obligatory salad soaked in honey and mustard dressing, the chicken and the chips were well cooked. My friend had the cauliflower tart, which was served with new potatoes. The tart was OK, however the potatoes were undercooked and a complaint resulted in another bowl of potatoes being brought to the table which were still undercooked. Deserts were ordered - there were only 2 choices, so we decided to order one of each - however two of the same were brought to the table.
In fairness, the bill was adjusted to reflect the problem with the potatoes. However our overall experience was tainted by the problems we experienced. It is unlikely that I would return here or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit, We do value all feedback and therefore will add staff to meet the demands of our very popular Golden Years lunches throughout the week.

The dessert selection you mention is part of our 3 courses for £9.95. We do however have a wider selection of desserts from our main menu. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you to one of our Inns again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
218 reviews
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
501 reviews
5 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,018 reviews
7.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range: £55 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing