We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place just needs some TLC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place just needs some TLC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a trip to longleate. Nice staff a warm welcome and pretty good food. The whole place could do with a lick of paint especially the bathrooms and on suites. I saw two rooms and both bathrooms left a lot to be desired. No doubt they were clean and fresh but paint was peeling, mold could be seen round the bath tiles and on a few places on the ceeling. Don't discount this as a good place to stay. The problems were cosmetic and hopefully with they will be addressed with a mini makeover! I do hope so because they face a lot of competition from places like premier inn and I prefer to stay in places with character !

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbcarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are currently working on a plan to refresh our bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    156
    63
    17
    18
See reviews for
69
226
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have just come back from a weekend away with 3 of my dearest friends. We met up for a weekend of relaxation and a good old catch up! We could not have had a better location for it! The hotel has newly refurbished, comfortable, clean rooms, amazingly friendly staff, great service and good hearty food with particularly outstanding breakfasts! Excellent value for money in a great location for getting out and about; we had great visits to Cheddar Gorge and Bradford on Avon. Dog friendly too, so I had a very happy little King Charles! We will be back and highly recommend to others looking for a similar trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiepl566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend away. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

After our booking with laterooms.com turned out to be a disaster and not booked after all, we were faced with having to find another hotel late at night. The Woolpack accomodated us swiftly and the staff were amazing. although it wasnt what we wanted, it was a good enough alternative by the time we had travelled for so long. the room was comfy. The show is a bit too forceful, more like a jet wash! bring your wet suit! The Breakfast was the best i have had in a while. Evening food is a bit pubby, but nice still.
Thanks for helping us out when in need, and will probably visit again, an intended one this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to help, and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Woolpack. We were up in the roof, where you had to mind your head - it was chilly the first night, but they turned the heating on for the second night which made it very cosy. My main criticism would be of the Wi-Fi - the signal was extremely weak in our room, and even downstairs it was a bit unpredictable. Apart from that everything was fine - we ate in the restaurant the first night which was very good. Excellent breakfast both days, and lovely village location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had a weekend stay at the Woolpack at Beckington and were impressed with the professionalism of the staff and the room which was spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast too. I would have given this a five star rating but the room (number 1) was let down by the bathroom which because of inadequate ventilation had a smell of damp and a discolouration of the grouting, I suspect, due to mold. A shame because otherwise this is a fantastic place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris503903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We will ensure that the extractor fan is replaced to help ventilation in this room. We look forward. to welcoming you back again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed for two nights and had room 10 - up in the eaves. The biggest problem was the bathroom which was very small, to shower comfortably you have to be about 5ft tall! There was also no towel rail for the hand towels and the shaving mirror was in the way when trying to use the handbasin. One light bulb had blown in the room and although we reported this it was not replaced, making the area near the dressing table quite dark. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were happy with the food. On the second night it was very busy and unfortunately we were 'forgotten' a couple of times.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the second floor (in the eaves).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Bones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your review, We value all comments and look to improve in any we can. We are currently considering a range of options to make some of our bathrooms more comfortable. As I explained on the evening, the fitting for the light had broken therefore could not be replaced Immediately. I also offered an extra table lamp, which was turned down. Once again thank you for taking the time to review. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Visited this place after the recommendation of our hotel. Food was amazing and well priced. Nice atmosphere and beatiful pub.
Staff where very friendly and helpful. Suggest you book as it gets busy and there aren't many tables. Definitely worth a visit !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spyropips80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.5 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Property: The Woolpack Inn
Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing