We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Not at all what was expected. A little gem. Great rooms great food great staff. Would definitely go back. My bedroom was better than hotels at three times the price. The menu offered huge choice, was well presented and cooked to perfection. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bombomCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days whilst visiting our son at bath uni the location is great whilst , the staff were exellent welcoming and friendly ,the pub food and breakfast were of a good standard. We stayed Iin a superior room which was well furnished and the bed extremely comfortable the bathroom is okay but dated what spoilt it was the dust on fireplace ,skirting boards , and all the other fixtures ... felt like some areas needed a good clean .The pub is charming but needed a lick of paint especially were the kitchen door is which is near were you check in was a little off putting.What I did not appreciate was the prices fluctuate so much for the inn, being charged an extra 25 pounds when booking and the day after the price drops again on speaking to someone at the call centre stated this is what happens when there are less rooms available but the dayafter stated on the website 1 room left and it was a cheaper price ! Hate feeling like ive been ripped off ....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nixon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your review, please be assured that we will take appropriate action on the points you have raised. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed mid-August to visit Longleat. We had two nights in a room overlooking the road, which was very spacious, quiet, well-decorated and good bathroom. We ate downstairs in the pub for the first evening which was great to be able to roll upstairs to bed after a big meal! The food was enjoyable but nothing really special. (Tip: for variety, go the Foresters Arms which is a 5 min walk away-we ate here for the second night and had a beautiful steak dinner)

The staff at the Woolpack were always super friendly & helpful, we were very impressed. We would definitely stay again if visiting the area. Longleat is just 15 minutes away by car, Frome is less than 10, so a good location and good choice if you're after a quirky village pub to hide away in..!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CowboyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on 26th and 27th August. We had originally rung on the Saturday prior to arrival on the Monday to confirm the booking. Upon making the call, I had enquired about check-in time, to which the lady had said we could check-in after 11am. We were obviously delighted with an early check in so left our home, turned up just after 11am, only to be told that check-in was actually in the afternoon. The lady we had originally spoken to, was the one checking us in, and admitted her error. We were able to leave our bags with her so she could arrange to have them dropped off in our room.

Upon returning at tea time we went up to our room. We are both quite tall, and found our room was up in the eaves so had to navigate around various beams. Because of the eaves, the available space was quite tight, so gave a very claustrophobic feel to the room.

The bathroom had to be seen to be believed. The shower was over the bath, and again into the eaves. The space was so tight that you weren't able to turn around in the shower and trying to get yourself out to dry yourself off was very tricky.

Floor boards throughout the room creaked and you could hear the floor boards creaking from the adjacent room.

The cups on the complimentary coffee tray were dirty and we had to clean them before we could use them.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired. The fresh fruit salad hadn't been prepared fresh that morning and had obviously been left over from the weekend. The grapes were mushy and brown. The cutlery was greasy and dirty.

The bar meals were of a very poor quality. I had the chicken in a citrus and sweet chilli sauce with rice. The chicken was very dry and burnt on the ends. No vegetables or side salad was included. We had gone for the 3 course meal deal but the bar staff had taken our order down incorrectly, so when it came to asking for our sweet, we were unable to have it. No alternative was given and she did not give us the option of paying the extra to have the sweet, so we made the very short trip to the local petrol station to purchase icecreams.

Car parking was an issue. On the second day we were unable to park in the car park and had to leave the car on the main road. The main extractor fan to the kitchen leads out on to the car park. When the kitchen is being used and the fan is on, the smell of grease in the car park is over whelming and you can see the fat starting to drip from the vents.

The garden to the rear of the property was very tired looking. A lick of wood stain to the furniture would have helped. Beer glasses and plates were left on tables.

Skirting boards, doors and walls throughout could have done with a good clean or even a fresh coat of paint.

Stair trims on the stairs leading up the bedrooms were loose and need attention before someone has a serious accident.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. Please be assured that action will be taken on all issues you have raised. We pride ourselves on our great customer service and I will ensure our standards are kept to the highest possible. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights 31/08 & 01/09/13. It is quite evident that this establishment is desperately in need of a refurbishment and a damn good clean. On arrival it is clearly visible from the state of the reception area that all does not bode well. The short flight of stairs up to our room was in desperate need of a major clean. Doors in both the corrider & our room were covered in dirty marks, especially around the handles. When we entered our room, again it was clearly visible from the dust on the dressing table to the mold around the bath/sink and the presentation of the bed linen ( although clean ) left much to be desired. All three mirrors in the room were absolutely filthy, they had obviously not been cleaned for a long time. The walls were covered in marks, skirting boards were dusty, very uncomfortable bed & pillows, dirty carpet, especially behind the doors where staff had not even vacuumed. The cleanliness in the dining room was very poor, and the rear garden was unkept and disappointing. The wait for cooked breakfast & evening meals was extremely lengthy, we found this very strange as people eating in the dining room entered at very staggered times and at one point there was only ours and another table to serve. The waitresses were very friendly & helpfu.l, but sadly did nt apologise or give a reason for the long wait. The meals were very average, one evening I asked if I could replace my ' normal chips' with 'rustic chips ' ( they were on the menu as a side order ) i would have been prepared to pay a little extra , but was tlold no as there was not a button on the till to do this. The carpark was being used by llocals including two vans, which left at times , no spaces for guest.. This type of accommodation needs to be treated with a lot more attention to detail & a lot of tlc, in order to maintain its charm and encourage other visiitors. Overall very disappointing. Would not stop here again in its current state.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. Please be assured that I will be taking action on all issues you have raised. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Food was brilliant here we had a wide selection over the 2 nights we stayed here and cannot fault any of it. Rooms were clean and well stocked, I loved the whole experience of this hotel, if your looking for a relax stop over in a lovely peaceful village here is the place. We stayed here for our visit to longleat safari park 20 minute drive perfect.
Breakfast great too lovely selection and quality.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and my kids were in room 5 a little noise from bar below didn't disturb us b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July for a two night stay as an ideal base for visiting Longleat Safari Park and Bath. The rooms were very clean and so were the bathrooms. There was a very good wifi connection. The breakfasts were very nice with full English and continental on offer. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful which made our stay very relaxing. We will definitely visit again and my daughter is already planning a return trip to Longleat staying at The Woolpack hopefully next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpack I, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year. Craig, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
606 reviews
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
489 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#2 of 2 in Beckington
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
870 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing