We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome”
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here last week on a Festive Break. It was very good value and Craig and his team were very welcoming. Our room was huge with a good sized bathroom. The meals were good and so was the service. Breakfast was amazing, especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The only criticism is that there was no entertainment and evenings were boring. Not many people like to drink all evening. Other guests told us of other hotels in the group that put on entertainment so we will be looking at those next Christmas.

Room Tip: Room 12 is spacious. Above the kitchen and overlooking the car park
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moggy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your festive break. Next year we will definitely be looking at some sort of entertainment for Christmas. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for The Woolpack Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Found this hotel on line was on offer at a very cheap price what a find
room was large and well fitted with a large bathroom with a monster bath lashings of hot water
was on the front of the hotel but still quite as it had single glazed windows
food in restaurant was very good we had the £9.99 for 2 main meals deal it was very good we had the smoked haddock and spinach with chedder was so tasty
The breakfast was very good i had the smoked salmon and eggs was a great way to start the day
the only thing i could say bad about the hotel is that the car park is not very big

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesmetalwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Have just returned home after staying over xmas for the festive break. Can thoughly recommend it.Staff and manager very friendly and helpful. Food excellent and rooms clean .
Lovely small hotel in a small village.
Only thing is it would of been nice to have some sort of entertainment on xmas night .
Apart from that definitely would stay again .
B and G Rowlett

Room Tip: Room 4 if you don't want beams
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. Next year we will consider some sort of entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We and another couple stayed for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday) for the Christmas Market at Bath - which I would heartily recommend following by a stroll around the shops afterwards particularly the ones off the main streets . If finances permit the Clarks Shopping Village is really rather good as well - much better than when we went last about 15 years ago.
Anyway back to the Woolpack .
Both couples had Superior rooms (No1 and No11) . Both rooms plenty big enough and well appointed. Both only had one radiator working but did have electric radiators which made up for the other one not working so no problems with the room temperature. Can't comment specifically on Room 11 but room 1 was fine . A bit red (including the red leather wall) and had a mirrored ceiling in the bath room but whilst being a bit odd it wasn't a problem at all and provided a talking point over dinner. One slight criticism is that the bottom of the walk in shower door could do with a bit of maintenance but I wasn't bothered for 2 nights and forgot to mention this. We ate both nights in the restaurant (as well as breakfast obviously) and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. The staff on all occasions were beyond reproach and provided service of the highest order. Parking was fine as we managed to get into the 10 (approx.) spaces off road. To be fair parking on road wouldn't have been a problem as the area is nice and quiet. Little bit noisy until 23:00 on the Friday ( I think it was a live band) and both rooms were over the bar. No big deal as it finished at that time which is perfectly acceptable and besides what are earplugs for....? Bearing in mind the cost (which wasn't dear at all I thought) and location and taking the stay as an overall package I have no qualms in recommending the Woolpack . I think another review summed it up very well - very good value for money indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 1 are nice and big and very red in No1's case.. Over the bar mind you but no proble...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hexys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for one night as had an interview in Bath and as soon as we arrived we were welcomed by very polite staff! We checked in at 9pm on the Thursday evening and despite the restaurant being extremely busy, nothing was too much trouble and all staff made sure we were satisfied. The twin bedroom was plenty big enough for the two of us, and very very clean! Amazing variety of food for breakfast and an incredibly reasonable price! Would definitely recommend, Thankyou!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff will be pleased to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the wooly for a wedding at orchardleigh house. Lovely cosy welcoming place with a very comfortable room. Food very nice varied menu. Would totally recommend.
one criticism had to come in the back way after closing hours. Path not well lit slippery with heels and a slope down that my husband with bad back was very uncomfortable walking down needs a relay of concrete and lighting poor.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squitssick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. We do appreciate all comments. Craig Roberts, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for two nights, the room was lovely,spotless and the bed comfortable.The meals (breakfast and dinner) were all fantastic and all the staff cheerful and friendly.I would recommend this old english in to anyone and we will be back .FANTASTIE VALUE .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
596 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#2 of 2 in Beckington
188 reviews
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing