We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely-would definitely stay again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kc8t4
1 review
“Lovely-would definitely stay again!”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned home after a lovely stay at the By the Byre cottages! We phoned very last minute on a Friday afternoon and managed to secure cottage number 2 for the Saturday-Monday! The owner Chris was extremely helpful from the start and this continued throughout our stay! We arrived to a warm, clean and well equipped cottage with eggs, bread, milk, tea and coffee all available! Chris was kind enough to direct us to nearby shops and pubs and these were all close at hand! Great location for longleat safari park, cheddar gorge and Bath-which we visited all in the 3 days we were there! Great stay and would definitely like to return! Thank you to the owners :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and really pleased you enjoyed your stay. The cottages are very cosy in this not so warm spring weather. Longleat just gets better with the baby zebra and the baby meerkats! Glad you also enjoyed Cheddar just 30 minutes away - the caves are quite spectacular. Hope to see you again at By the Byre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele E
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely lodge, peaceful location”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in one of the lodges for two days over Christmas.. Angela and Chris are very friendly and helpful and the lodge was lovely..really warm and cosy, really clean and well equipped.
We even had bread, milk and eggs waiting for us when we arrived!
Lovely stay, would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Thank you for your comments. Pleased you enjoyed your festive break at By the Byre. The 3 eco lodges are very cosy this time of year with the underfloor heating. Happy New Year and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautymas
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a great week staying in one of the holiday cottages(number 1). What a lovely place. Our cottage was perfectly adequate for our 3 children aged 6,11, and 13. A camp bed fitted in the twin room perfectlyso we were all happy! We arrived to find a welcome pack of bread, butter and milk, tea, coffee and sugar,and there were lots of other essentials that we didn't need to take as they were there already! The kitchen is well equipped with dishwasher, big fridge and separate freezer, everything was modern and clean.
The bedding and towels were immaculate and could be replenished as often as needed in the laundry room at the end of the block. We were able to wash and dry our clothes which was a delight! 100's of DVDs and games/toys for the kids, there really was everything you could possibly need! It's in a great location for all the local attractions, if you don't mind the country lanes! You won't be disappointed with this place, we would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We do try to offer a family friendly holiday with most of the necessities provided. Having 3 children ourselves we know what is needed to make your holiday a happy one. Glad to hear Longleat was fun and hope the monkeys left your car intact! Hope you may return soon. Angela and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in lodge no 3 Nunney which overlooked a small lake where you could fish. The lodge was well equipped with dishwasher, washer, 2 TVs as well as them providing some extras like milk, eggs etc. A couple of days we didn't have hot water not sure if it was due to the rain as we had solar panels but the rest of the time it was fine. The lodges looked nicer than the cottages so if you can afford it I'd stay in a lodge. (The cottages outdoor area overlooked the entrance road whereas the lodges overlooked the pond and open countryside)
Loads to do within an hour such as Longleat, cheddar gorge, bath, stone henge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and took advantage of visiting Longlete, Chedder and Bath. Apologies about hot water, its simply switching from solar to electricity. The four cottages at By The Byre are equally as well furnished and comfortable and all have access to the outdoor space. Thank you, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing