We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS GET AWAY”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola H
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS GET AWAY”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My friends and I stayed for two night in one of the superb lodges. They were spacious and comfortable in beautiful, quiet surrounds. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms.. all very clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful, allowing us to check out an hour later. All the mod cons were available in the lodge but I couldn't find a hairdryer and the kitchen lacked items such as cling film etc. Worth thinking about when packing. They did provide a lovely welcome basket with milk, bread, eggs etc and washing up/dishwasher item were all there. We absolutely loved staying here and will certainly come again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
Hi Nicola
I'm glad you and your friends had a great weekend! Your right we generally don't supply cling film or tin foil but hopefully most other things should have been there! We do provide hair dryers for every property so if it was missing we're very sorry! Thanks for letting us know though - I'll go on a hunt for it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Hi Zoe
Glad you and your friends enjoyed yourselves during your stay, we hope to see you all again sometime soon!
Sally & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neil M
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This place is as close to heaven as you're likely to get. I stayed here with my wife, 4 year old son and 6 month old daughter. It was comfortable, clean and had all the comforts of home! Angela and Chris made sure we had bread, eggs, milk, butter as well as tea and coffee stuff waiting for us when we arrived. They were also on hand to greet us upon arrival and give us the low down on what's what. The grounds were breath taking, my son loved the cows in the nearby field. It is quiet and very relaxing. Anyone wanting to spend the day at Longleat Safari Park and House, I would recommend staying here for a few days, as it guarantees you an early start in the park and a lovely place to rest your weary bones after a long day! We will definitely be back and have recommended this to all our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Always happy to help, pleased you found your cottage comfortable and you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
1 review
“Great location for a family break”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here with our three children and their families (16 of us) We rented all three lodges and had a great weekend. We all ate together outside the middle lodge. The grand children aged from 4 to 13 enjoyed playing in the extensive grounds.The properties were comfortable and the owners helpful. We will definitely be coming again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space. Safe for children to go between properties although watch the water with infants
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments - really pleased you enjoyed the space , the accommodation and the environment. Happy wedding anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathoti...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with a family”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a fab time......great open space for kids and adults! to play. Lodges were clean and light and perfect for a family of 5 plus extended family in other lodges.

Could be excellent...bolts on windows should be on a shed not a nice lodge, one of the windows in the lounge was so warped it did not close properly and in our en suite bathroom there had obviously been a roof leak. I am being fussy but as I say it could be excellent. WiFi did not work well which was great as the kids played outside instead of looking at screens !.

Would definitely recommend as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern clean and bright lodges
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at By the Byre. We apologise for the fact there had been an obvious rain leak - we have resolved this. Hadn't really thought about the bolts - you do have a point, but hope they didn't detract from the loveliness of the properties. A guest did tell us about the door, in fact it was the mechanism preventing it from closing - all sorted now. Great to hear the children loved the country environment - wifi is not th strongest but it does work. Guests can alway use the house if wifi is needed. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffvz
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Fifth time we have stayed at the Byre and had a great time as usual. Comfortable, clean and in a beautiful place, what more could you want! So well looked after by Chris and Angela, thanks guys, same again next year?

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay - we like to offer the quality service you are used to - hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b0sshard
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, peacful, well maintained”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented two properties from Angela and Chris over the bank holiday weekend. They were very clean and well stocked with all we could need. By the Brye is perfectly positioned a short distance between Longleat and Bath. The whole area is so beautiful, we were spoilt with lovely views. The whole property felt safe and welcoming for the children, who loved the open space and the trees to climb. We are already planning our trip back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience.
Liked least: Very young children would need to be watched by the waters.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are pleased you had a great time. The children enjoyed the open space and whilst chatting with you you seemed to very much enjoy your trips to Bath and Longleat Safari and Adventure Park. Hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing