We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well its not the Hilton but it is a great place to stay and good value”
Review of Brosna Lodge Hotel

Brosna Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banagher
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brosna Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banagher
Reviewed 8 January 2012

stayed with 6 friends and the staff were as good as you could get and they kept the bar open until we took ourselves to be at 5 am

Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was grand. All in all this place is great. The decor is dated but it doesn't cost the earth

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here last year for horse fair and re booked for this year.
Booked three rooms double,twin and single.On arrival they had only reserved two rooms.Eventually got sorted up to room for a rest before dinner to discover there was people already in one of the rooms.
Back to reception to get another room.Oh good no one in that room.Went to lie down on bed to discover duvet cover DIRTY WITH HUMAN EXCREMENT yet again back to reception to be handed a ripped clean cover.
Went out for dinner as there was no one eating or drinking in hotel and menu was limited and expensive.
Returned around 10 and went to bar for a few drinks and to listen to the music. started of ok songs then changed to a VERY UNSAVIOUR NATURE{ POLITICAL}.My party left and sat outside.Seven songs later music returned to normal.We returned got around of drink and went to are room which was above the bar and turned the tv on loud to drown out the noise.
Did not have a great sleep due to noise of front door opening and closing and drunken crowds leaving bar at all hours.Also no heat all night.
The cleanliness of this establishment is little to be desired.Cups and plates at breakfeast dirty and table sticky from night before.
This is certainly not a hotel. A basic pub with a few dirty rooms that have had a lick of paint and new furiture.
This is meant to be a tourist town but has no tourist staying I WONDER WHY?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My partner and I stayed in The Brosna Hotel last night. I would describe it as a glorifed pub rather than a hotel. The staff were friendly, and the room was comfortable and clean but that is the only good part of this review. We booked this room over the phone, but if the owner had informed us that our room was right over the bar, we would not have stayed. We could almost hear what people were talking about in the bar when we arrived in our room. We went out for a meal (didn't eat in the Brosna) the menu was limited and very expensive for what is basic bar food in my opinion. We returned to the hotel at 11.15 pm as my partner was not feeling very well. The music (if you could call it that) started up at 11.15 on the dot and continued until 1.30am. It was so loud that the whole room was vibrating and it didn't make it better given the fact that the bar was packIed with a very loud crowd singing along manically with the music. I am not a spoilsport and enjoy a night out myself but this was ridiculous. I turned on the tv at full volume and we couldn't even hear that due to the high volume of the music. We complained about this nicely to the receptionist/bar person this morning. The owner of the hotel came out ot take our €70 for our stay and didn't even have the manners to offer us an apology. When the music stopped we had to endure another half an hour of drunken conversations outside our window, we could hear everything as the windows are not double glazed. One particular local lady was very racous and loud. I would suggest that the owner make up their minds whether or not they want to run a music venue for the locals or a hotel for tourists because it is certainly not suitable for both. We felt as thought they didn't have an ounce of consideration for their paying guests, it's just easy money. Because of this I would not stay there again. It's grand if you don't plan on getting to sleep until 3am which might suit some people but we had an early start this morning and I am now shattered due to lack of sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 62Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Really loved the rooms,so clean and comfortable.Very friendly and helpful staff, loved the relaxed athmosphere,will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

this hotel is very good value its food is lovely as are the staff maybe the rooms are a little dated and the bathrooms but i found them to be clean and it had a good bed a pint of
heineken at 4 euros all good value michael cork

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank michaellonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Great staff,

BUT I got no sleep, the door slamming & banging really killed this hotel for me. On top of that the music was very load.

I was very upset at the situation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Just back from a fantastic weekend in the brosna lodge, food is top notch, entertainment is brilliant, the staff r very friendly ,the bar is lovely and the restaurant was really impressive, bedroom s are comfy, defo will go again... justine fanning

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotmammaWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banagher
7.3 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
831 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charlotte's Way B&B
Charlotte's Way B&B
#1 of 2 in Banagher
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dun Cromain Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brosna Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brosna Lodge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Banagher, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Banagher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banagher
Hotel Class:2 star — Brosna Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Brosna Hotel Banagher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing