We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay @BROSNA LODGE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brosna Lodge Hotel

Brosna Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brosna Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banagher
dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“our stay @BROSNA LODGE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

we stayed at the brosna lodge this easter weekend and found it to be an enjoyable stay overall,okay we checked in late and the room we were given was probably on the small side but it was very clean and comfortable,and the bed was really comfy.we had dinner in the lodge and thought it was very good value as good as you would pay alot more for elsewhere,breakfast was cooked to order and delicious,on both nights there was first class entertainment but what i think makes this lodge different from other places is the friendliness of the staff and the local patrons alike ,the proprietors are obviously popular in the community and i read on a previous posting that they should decide whether they want to run a hotel or a pub well to be honest i think they have the balance right here and at the end of the day they are relying on local trade when the weekend trade is not there....ithink its important to keep the disposable income local in this economic climate and wish them continued success with their business we will be happy to return

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langericious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    7
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
carndonagh co donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

we stayed at the Brosna lodgein oct.2011 must say we enjoyed our stay very much. the room we occupied.was a beautifull large room with ample space.& an ensuite very very clean & very pleasant.the service was great & the food was lovely.all the staff were very helpfull. the bed was very comfortable,no bother getting off to sleep.& enjoyed a very good night's sleep.it was a great break.just what we neeeded at that time.we would highly reccomend this hotel.to any one.wanting to visit. banagher.great place to stay.we were made extremely welcome.it has that feeling about it anyway.as you walk in to reception you can feel it.well done Brosna.wish you all the very best .in the future,from 2 very happy customer's.

Room Tip: we stayed at the Brosna lodge hotel.in oct.2011.must say we enjoyed our stay very much.the room we o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed in the Brosna last weekend in a twin room. We were visiting family in Banagher and were spending the evening with them. When we arrived in the Brosna heating wasn't on in the room but we mentioned it to a friendly staff member and that was sorted immediately. We then went to bar for a drink and some food. We were offered a seat in dinning room but it was chilly in there so we decided to eat in the bar. Food was lovely, we didn't want anything fancy, it was basic menu and not cheap but we both really enjoyed the homemade chips and the gougons. We went to meet with family and had great evening. Returned to hotel at 11.30 and there was music playing. We decided to have a drink in the bar and afterwards went to our room, we may as well have stayed in the bar because we could hear everything, conversations, music (as if they were singing at the foot of the bed!!) But we didn't mind because we knew it wouldn't last too long. Sure enough shortly afterward the band played the national athemn, we were very glad to hear it (and even sang along)! Lights out, good nights sleep had.
Went down to dining room for breakfast the following morning, again chilly in there. Didn't have big breakfast, eggs and toast and then we left. It was €50 for both of us which to us was absolutely fine. The hotel served us well, it was clean and the staff friendly, food was nice. If I was visiting family again, I would stay in Brosna Hotel again, I wouldn't recommend it if you were looking for a quiet night however.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

stayed with 6 friends and the staff were as good as you could get and they kept the bar open until we took ourselves to be at 5 am

Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was grand. All in all this place is great. The decor is dated but it doesn't cost the earth

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here last year for horse fair and re booked for this year.
Booked three rooms double,twin and single.On arrival they had only reserved two rooms.Eventually got sorted up to room for a rest before dinner to discover there was people already in one of the rooms.
Back to reception to get another room.Oh good no one in that room.Went to lie down on bed to discover duvet cover DIRTY WITH HUMAN EXCREMENT yet again back to reception to be handed a ripped clean cover.
Went out for dinner as there was no one eating or drinking in hotel and menu was limited and expensive.
Returned around 10 and went to bar for a few drinks and to listen to the music. started of ok songs then changed to a VERY UNSAVIOUR NATURE{ POLITICAL}.My party left and sat outside.Seven songs later music returned to normal.We returned got around of drink and went to are room which was above the bar and turned the tv on loud to drown out the noise.
Did not have a great sleep due to noise of front door opening and closing and drunken crowds leaving bar at all hours.Also no heat all night.
The cleanliness of this establishment is little to be desired.Cups and plates at breakfeast dirty and table sticky from night before.
This is certainly not a hotel. A basic pub with a few dirty rooms that have had a lick of paint and new furiture.
This is meant to be a tourist town but has no tourist staying I WONDER WHY?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banagher hotels

Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My partner and I stayed in The Brosna Hotel last night. I would describe it as a glorifed pub rather than a hotel. The staff were friendly, and the room was comfortable and clean but that is the only good part of this review. We booked this room over the phone, but if the owner had informed us that our room was right over the bar, we would not have stayed. We could almost hear what people were talking about in the bar when we arrived in our room. We went out for a meal (didn't eat in the Brosna) the menu was limited and very expensive for what is basic bar food in my opinion. We returned to the hotel at 11.15 pm as my partner was not feeling very well. The music (if you could call it that) started up at 11.15 on the dot and continued until 1.30am. It was so loud that the whole room was vibrating and it didn't make it better given the fact that the bar was packIed with a very loud crowd singing along manically with the music. I am not a spoilsport and enjoy a night out myself but this was ridiculous. I turned on the tv at full volume and we couldn't even hear that due to the high volume of the music. We complained about this nicely to the receptionist/bar person this morning. The owner of the hotel came out ot take our €70 for our stay and didn't even have the manners to offer us an apology. When the music stopped we had to endure another half an hour of drunken conversations outside our window, we could hear everything as the windows are not double glazed. One particular local lady was very racous and loud. I would suggest that the owner make up their minds whether or not they want to run a music venue for the locals or a hotel for tourists because it is certainly not suitable for both. We felt as thought they didn't have an ounce of consideration for their paying guests, it's just easy money. Because of this I would not stay there again. It's grand if you don't plan on getting to sleep until 3am which might suit some people but we had an early start this morning and I am now shattered due to lack of sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 62Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Really loved the rooms,so clean and comfortable.Very friendly and helpful staff, loved the relaxed athmosphere,will definitly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banagher
7.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.2 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dun Cromain Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Brosna Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brosna Lodge Hotel

Property: Brosna Lodge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Banagher, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Banagher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banagher
Hotel Class:2 star — Brosna Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Brosna Hotel Banagher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing