We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most unpleasant hotel experience ever”
Review of Brosna Lodge Hotel

Brosna Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brosna Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banagher
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most unpleasant hotel experience ever”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Cold uncomfortable dirty and very unfriendly extremely noisy in to the small hours of the morning and most expensive for the bad manners to the very cold rooms to insects on the bathroom floor but on the plus side the local newsagent Kelly's where very friendly and good mannered as where the staff at the local super value so well done Kelly's and super value your kindness and respect towards your customers didn't go unnoticed may be if you have some spare time you might teach the staff and proprietary at the Brosna lodge some of your people skills.thank you.

Room Tip: Just stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    7
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The room has multiple holes in the floor covered by carpet, I nearly twisted my ankle twice. Dead insects on the floor. There is one plug for the television and the kettle? I had to turn off tv to make a cup of tea. Very in-clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenM_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banagher hotels

offaly
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We didnt stay here but tried the bistro,
Food excellent, Service brilliant, Spotlessly clean. Would highly recommend. Excellent pints of Guinness and Coors to be had. The girl serving was very friendly. Couldnt fault this place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sanjoOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Brosna Lodge is a small hotel in a small, Irish, provincial town seemingly run with very few staff, but with some surprises. It is an old building and the decor is fading a little. The rooms are small but everything was clean, comfortable and well attended to. Dinner was in the bar and I thought I spotted the owner doubling up as chef so I wasn't expecting much.
But, surprise, surprise, dinner was served promptly, piping hot and delicious! Not a re-heat either. The food quality on the second day of my stay was equally good. Overall, staff were friendly and helpful, food excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A very nice hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean, beds extremely comfortable. Shower hot. Breakfasts excellent bacon particularly good.Dinner in dining room also excellent.
Four of us stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosscarbery, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Generally poor quality and very overpriced, although if no options I'd stay again. Room small and poky, very dated, with tiles missing off side of bath. Slight smell of tobacco smoke, and ashtray in bathroom. Much too hot overnight meaning a sweaty and uncomfortable night. Noisy enough without opening windows due to AC unit or something close outside, general noise from bar, and noise from Sat night 'disco' going on late. If opened windows still too hot and much noisier. Evening food was fine, nothing special, but would eat again. Breakfast made with cheap ingredients, poorly cooked, and took ages - 30 mins from sitting to receiving food on Sun morning - staff overworked - the poor girl serving breakfast was also taking orders, clearing tables, and checking guests out during v busy time - seemingly alone. All in all pretty awful, and at 80 euro per night for room (couple) much too expensive - I have stayed at MUCH more pleasant B&B's for 50-60/night - shop around but if desperate this place will do.

Room Tip: find a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

we stayed b and b the breakfast was very good ,they wud cook what you asked for,room was a bit dated but clean and was done every day,staff all happy,good music at weekend bit dead mid week ,beer was good as always,wud go back there, we got a good deal for the week. ,o very good secure parking if you have fishing gear, thanks for a good stay brosna lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmick19601960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banagher
7.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
16.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brosna Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brosna Lodge Hotel

Property: Brosna Lodge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Banagher, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Banagher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banagher
Hotel Class:2 star — Brosna Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Brosna Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brosna Hotel Banagher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing