We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners are very nice and involved”
Review of Cevedale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cevedale
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cogolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a nice hotel in a very nice place. We spent 6 nights in september and were very satisfied. Especially the owners are very involved in the daily management of the hotel, they are there at breakfast, at dinner, at the desk the whole time to help and see if everything is all right. And they speak German all right, so that is a way to communicate if you do not speak Italian. The service is very personal. The rooms are OK, a little old-fashioned, and the food is good. Nice choice of menu, there is always a lighter cold option for main course, i.e. melon and parma ham or vitello tonnato. The wellness-area is good, but Italians do not understand Sauna: It is better without your bathing suit!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back side, in front of the hotel is the town-square which can be noisy in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mcrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

Okay, this sounds a lot like hyperbole, but I feel like the Hotel Cevedale saved my life. Well, it certainly saved me from wasting a terrible week stuck in a 1970's cement cakebox in Marilleva. And, I truly have not been able to stop talking about Hotel Cevedale and the beautiful Val di Peio (or Pejo) ever since. I very highly recommend Hotel Cevedale with one caveat: No jerks allowed. Seriously, it would break my heart for such a nice place to be ruined... Here are some key elements why I fell in love with the Hotel Cevedale:
1) Location:
We were simply exploring around the Val di Sole when we took a last minute right-hand turn off the SS42 because "Val di Peio" looked interesting. And man what a sight. Each slight turn opened up more and more beautiful vistas with charming (non-touristy) alpine villages. I love that Peio and Cogolo barely bring up any search results on Google. Which means I'm also kicking myself for adding exposure... so again please obey the "no jerks" rule. Essentially, Cogolo and Peio are the gateway to the massive and pristine Parco Nazionale dello Stelvio. Gorgeous peaks reflecting the magical dolomite gold; lush flora and abundant fauna; pristine, potable waters, and that beautiful sun. Based on the photos I saw, the winter looks just as amazing, if even more dramatic. Cogolo and the small villages dotted above and around are charming with their gardens, barns, and mix of Austrian and Italian influences. It's an outdoorsman's paradise. Of course, epicures will delight in the offereings - even the most humble roadside joint turned out delicious food. The Hotel Cevedale sits conveniently in the heart of Cogolo which lovely views on all sides. We used it as a center of operations for both day trips in our car as well as pleasant walks and hikes. Each day was capped off by a post-dinner ramble around the village after dinner greeted by friendly locals.
2) Room & Board:
Honestly, I think the should be getting another star... Hotel Cevedale is a charming combination of it's 100+ years of history with some modern amenities and styling melded in. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and included a small balcony which I took advantage of for late afternoon reading. They manage to combine the modern and the historic in a charming manner. There's also nice outdoor cafe space and a full spa if you're interested. The restaurant is absolutely fabulous (and incredibly affordable!) They feature local Trentino specialties and ingredients and have a very deep wine selection. We had planned on having dinner in multiple locations, but found ourselves eating at Hotel Cevedale every night and fully entrusted our palettes with Signora Monari's recommendations. Seriously: wow. The only meal we did not have at Hotel Cevedale was lunch, but I understand they're also happy to provide a nice picnic lunch upon request. Did I mention that the meals were super affordable?
3) Graciousness Defined:
I cannot say enough for the Monari Family who have been running the Hotel Cevedale for over one hundred years. Not only did they accommodate our last minute inquiry to move get a room (and extend our stay by another night...), but they were amazingly available throughout the day to share stories, offer advice - even with our limited Italian, or just share a laugh. Maybe it's all the practice, but we were incredibly impressed by their work ethic and even more by their graciousness. Their staff also lives up to that reputation.

I will definitely be going back soon.

Now remember: no jerks, okay?

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyDowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I had been given a week at a time-share in Maravilla. It might be good for skiers, but we were there in the summer & it was a giant concrete cruiseship in the Alps. Couldn't stand it and ended up having dinner, by chance, when we met the owners who were incredibly hospitable (and the food was superb). That night, we decided to check out of our already-paid-for time share and check into the Hotel Cevedale. We loved it so much, we stayed longer than expected. They were helpful with sight-seeing & did I mention the food? We ate there every night of our stay -- I teach at the Culinary Institute of America, and am used to great food. The village is tiny & we ended up going to the same cafe in the afternoon (right across the street) and they were also gracious, even giving us a sample of their treats.
The breakfasts at the Cevedale have a great selection. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The showers were good. The only bad thing is that there is not AC and there was a heat wave, but it never was so hot to make it bad.
We loved it so much, we are planning our next vacation based on where we can go to end up for a few days back at the Cevedale!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth_m_forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My main purpose for choosing this hotel was for a snowboarding holiday. It was close to Marilleva/Folgardia ski resort.

Firstly the hotel was more than I had ever expected. It is rated as a 3 star, but I don't understand why it isn't higher. The service is second to none! Warm friendly service demonstrated by their handling of our check in. Part of my party had to pick up myself, boyfriend and my brother from Verona airport a good 2.5/3 hrs away from the hotel. Unfortunately we were stuck in traffic up to the mountains (very busy season 27th Dec - 3rd Jan) and we did not expect to arrive at the hotel in time for dinner. We phoned the hotel and they said that if we did not make it they would happily arrange for dinner to be kept back for us arriving! I thought this was a very nice touch! Arriving at the hotel warm and smiling welcome greeted us.

The restaurant was lovely, such a pretty restaurant. We were based on half board and every evening we were given a 3 course dinner....no buffet in sight (except for salads) I thought that was great, as I am not keen on buffet food. The dinner did have a pattern, soup or pasta for a starter, and main was either beef or fish. The funniest part was the fact that the hotel mostly entertained only Italians and not many English speakers and dinner was sometimes a surprise and a guessing game, as most of the waitresses were very vague in their English descriptions of meals. I though this added to the atmosphere and authenticity of an Italian hotel. Because we stayed during the New Year’s period, on the 31st we had an authentic Italian new year’s dinner, which I think had about 8 courses. It started at 9pm.....through to 1am...it was a tough dinner to get through, since we had very early starts for snowboarding. We were struggling to stay awake! But it was lovely when you heard and saw all the champagne bottles popping and random people hugging you and having no understanding of what they were saying to you (unless of course you speak Italian). Hotel also hosted a disco/party going on to about 5am.

The Breakfast was on the most part basic but definitely adequate. If I remember correctly there was orange juice, tomato juice, tea coffee, and selection of cereals, meats and cheeses, breads and rolls, boiled eggs and a lovely selection of cakes!

The hotel does contain a pool, which I was told was lovely, although slightly on the small side. I never made it there myself, but I was told that you need to wear a swimming cap to use it. They sell these at reception for 2 Euros (I think). There are treatment rooms offering massages etc

There is also a contemporary feel bar attached to the hotel, very nice for a drink before dinner, although locals also use this.

The rooms are spotlessly clean....I was so surprised, with it being a 3 star. Not one bit of mould or scary things in the shower or on the shower door or on the tiles. The rooms were kept at a lovely warm temp, had a lovely balcony. Beds were comfy, although I wish I had more than 1 pillow, but that’s common in most hotels. No refrigerators in room, but in the winter I see no problem with this, all our drinks, beers, wines sat out in the balcony and within 10mins were freezing. Perfect! No tea/coffee maker, but I brought my own kettle...problem solved! The TV was mainly Italian, German only 1 or 2 English channels. But barely in the room and I see no need to watch TV on holiday!

Public areas of the hotel perfect, clean, warm and homely!

The location...I am unsure on this. There is a free ski bus to get you to the ski resort 15/20mins away but is a local bus organised by the ski resort itself and I did see it packed with people (can of sardines comes to mind) Luckily we had a car and I believe that if you want to stay in a hotel that is reasonably priced over the new years period, then getting a hotel further from the slopes is required but a car is a necessity I would say!

The area was very quaint, with a little church (bells rang about 7am some mornings, quite loud) a little town square and some shops. Didn’t see many bars or restaurants, but we didn’t really explore the area. The little square right outside our hotel was lit up by fireworks on the bells at new years and everyone gathered there.

The ski resort, was mostly geared up for skiers, but was alright. Everything on the slopes cost a lot because at that time the Euro to the pound hit 1 to 1. (If anyone wants detailed info about the Folgardia/Marilleva ski resort just email me!)

Anyway excellent hotel, suited for everyone! Speaking Italian will help!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaymclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This hotel has been in the Monari family for over 100 years. The desire to maintain the quality and family reputation is obvious everywhere, from the rooms to the restaurant to the graciousness of the service. That the plaza in front of the hotel is named for the Monari family indicates the town's gratitude to the family for its years of service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamespeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segreteria H, Proprietario at Cevedale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Enrico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segreteria H, Proprietario at Cevedale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogolo
0.4 mi away
Kristiania Leading Nature & Wellness Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ortles
Hotel Ortles
#7 of 7 in Cogolo
141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpino Family Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chalet Alpenrose Bio Wellness Naturhotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rosa degli Angeli
Hotel Rosa degli Angeli
#4 of 7 in Peio Fonti
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domina Parco dello Stelvio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cevedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cevedale

Address: Via Roma 33, 38024 Cogolo, Peio, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Peio > Cogolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cogolo
Price Range: £78 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cevedale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Cevedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing