We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello delle Serre
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Stayed here for our honeymoon in June. And I have to say we made an excellent choice after reading the reviews on trip advisor. This BB does not disappoint. This place is so romantic that another couple staying there got engaged. We stayed in the tower and paying the extra was worth it for the views alone from our private roof terrace whilst enjoying a glass of wine. Nothing is too much for the owner Sal and his son Antonio to make your stay enjoyable. The time they spend with the guests at breakfast to help plan thier day to explore this lovely part of Tuscany is applaudable. I would like to give special thanks to Sal`s brother Tony who was the perfect host from breakfast to the early hours of the night, again nothing was too much for him and we really enjoyed his company even though he had a laugh at our English quotes/slang. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in this part of Tuscany. PS Antonio has just opened his cocktail LOUNGE in the English garden and the again the ambiance just adds to the overall enjoyment

Geoff and Wendy ......Kent, England

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D00bies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
353
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Well...the trip advisor reviewers got this one right! We stayed here for three nights in May and it was the highlight of our three week vacation. I can't say enough about the hospitality that Salvatore and his son Antonio showed us. Absoutely great.

The location of this place is great, especially if you'd like to take 'day trips' to see the Tuscany region. We were able to drive around on several days to visit other small towns, sights, etc, and never felt like it was too far to drive in between stops. This place would be a great spot to call 'home' for a week...even a month!

Lastly, as others have mentioned, DO NOT miss the dinner that the hotel serves (I think it is only once a week). Salvatore and his son really impressed us with a fantastic dinner and great wine on our last night there.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigjim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

I read all the positive TripAdvisor reviews of Castello delle Serre before choosing it for a week long stay, but I never dreamed that the reviews were understated! We stayed in the tower and the views from the room and the roof terrace were unbelievable. I felt as though we jumped into the pages of a fairy tale. The room was immaculate and beautifully furnished with decorations befitting a medieval castle. The bed was extremely comfortable (and I have trouble sleeping so my standards are quite high). The bathroom was extraordinary with gorgeous marble and top quality fixtures (including a rain shower head).

Perhaps the best feature was the warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere provided by the owner, Salvatore, and his son, Antonio. Each morning, after preparing some of the best café lattes I have ever had, either Antonio or Salvatore would meet with us to help us plan our day. Some of their suggestions (for both sights to see and restaurants to visit) provided the best memories of our trip. This service alone was invaluable. In addition, Salvatore’s stories and details of the renovation of the historic castle were captivating. Also, I cannot say enough about the wonderful special dinners that they serve – the lasagna is as fantastic as others have said.

I cannot wait to return to Italy to visit Castello delle Serre! I cannot imagine a trip to Tuscany without staying there again!

  • Liked — Owners, room, food - everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onecindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This is a genuine medieval castle in a genuine medieval town. We originally booked the Grania at this hotel, which was a small apartment within the stone walls of the town. However, mine host Antonio contacted me several months before the stay and told me that they were no longer offering those rooms, because they did not meet the standard of the hotel. He kindly offered us a room at the castle itself at the same rate, which was the bargain of the century. But on to the castle.

Castello della Serre is the stronghold that overlooked and protected one of the Tuscan valleys from around 900 CE on. The last part of the castle was built around 1400. Fortunately, Salvatore and Antonio have modernized it - such as putting a swimming pool where a bombardment in the 1400's destroyed part of the castle. Really. Get Salvatore to give you a tour of the castle, it's incredible.

Now on to the rooms. The rooms are large, beautiful and clean, and the bathrooms are to die for - thoroughly modernized with heated towel racks, a deep and long bathtub with shower attachment, and bidet/toilet. Toiletries were locally made and very high quality. The staff was so quiet we almost never saw them, but everything was freshened whenever we returned to our room. Salvatore (Antonio's father and co-owner) is delightful and full of information, as is Antonio. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Salvatore lived in America for many years and Antonio was born there, so English is not a problem.

If Salvatore tells you to go someplace to sightsee, believe him. His tips led us to out of the way but delightful places that we would have missed on our own.

We did not eat breakfast at the castle, but what we saw the other guests having was fresh fruit and baked goods, coffee and juice. It looked wonderful - we are simply not breakfast people and contented ourselves with a morning latte. But what we did do is come to the terrace overlooking the pool each evening for a drink. That is just the most pleasant place to watch the sunset. Then we would walk through the winding streets of the medieval town and find ourselves some dinner - there are several good restaurants within walking distance and others only a short drive away. We understand that Salvatore, who used to own several restaurants on the West Coast of the US, can be persuaded to make dinner. The charges were quite reasonable for what one would get, but we were just never that hungry at night.

Serre di Rapolano is located some 28 miles south of Siena, about the same from Cortona, and well with the Tuscan wine tour road. We even made a day trip to Florence (about 100 miles) If you have a chance, stay here rather than in one of the larger towns. You will have one of the most wonderful experiences of your life.

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the accommodations and the hosts
  • Disliked — Tour groups came in during the day, sometimes a lot of people around the pool where the dining terrace is. But we were usually out at that time anyway
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank skyhunt2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

A friend recommended we stay here for our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it! The castle is amazing, the rooms were comforatable, clean, and welcoming. The people that own and run this castle/hotel are absolutely amazing. They shared the history and culture of the area with us, gave us impeccable directions to anywhere we wanted to go along with restaurant suggestions, and even cooked dinner for us and some other guests during our stay, this was in addition to the lovely breakfasts we had every morning. The ambiance was great, I would highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in the Tuscan region.

  • Liked — The location and the people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cburwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Please excuse my late entry to Tripadvisor. We visited the castle in October 2007and stayed for 4 days. Our accommodations were located in the tower. This was probably a bit pricey for us, but I will remember this for the rest of my life. The following (2)paragraphs are devoted to the room's description. The first paragraph notes some of the many positive features and the second notes features that were less desireable.

Entrance to the tower room is located at the castle's main level. Steps wind inside the periphery of the tower to two levels. The first level has a small sitting area with a full upscale bathroom. Further up the winding steps took you to a large bedroom. Fantasic views of the Tuscan region can be experienced from this point. I think that this is probably the highest point for miles around. Windows are situated in such a manner that you have a vast panoramic view. Great for sunsets!! This is approximately the same level as the town's bell tower, 1/4 mile away. So---- at 8:00 in the morning, you are wakened by the sound of church bells. And---if your window drapes are open, you can also watch them in your bed. This was a good thing for us since there was alot of things we wanted to do during the day. Conversely, there's not much going on at night. If you are a late sleeper this might be a problem. An additional winding staircase takes you to the roof. Although the weather was a bit chilly, this would be a grand place for a pre-dinner appertif. The roof furniture incuded two lounge chairs that would be a perfect private place to get a little Tuscan sun.

Please note that this room is not for everyone. The steep winding stairs make it very difficult for anyone with mobility problems. If asked, the staff will gladly carry luggage up or down for you. Also, when nature called in the middle on the night, I was forced to walk down those 20-some, uneven cold stone steps to the bathroom on the first level. So the moral of this story is to have a pair of slippers placed at the edge of the bed, just in case.

The sevice cannot be compared to a 5 star hotel. When we arrived in October, their staff consisted of Salvatore, Antonio, Simone, and a cook. Approximately 5-6 couples were there at the time. Although our room was not ready, Salvatore greeted us with a brief tour which ended at the castle's library. For the next half hour, we perused the literature while sipping on a complimetary glass of wine while our room's were being prepared. Not bad. We felt like royalty. "This isn't Kansas anymore, Toto". Therefore, you may not be receiving the service you wish at the time you expected. But the staff surprises you with accommodating experiences to make up for this. Remember, you are staying in a historic castle undergoing restoration, not a Ritz Carlton. After going on the full tour of the facility, we realized that Salvatore poured alot of money into uncovering frescoes and other Reneissance "goodies". Usually, only a corproration has the assets to undergo such an operation. I felt compelled to leave a little more than my usual tip.

Our experience with Castello delle Rapellano was delightful. We definitely will recommend the castle to friends. Hopefully, we can make the trip back to this beautiful place soon

  • Liked — The personal flavor. We felt like we were really a part of Tusacany, not just tourists
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lost_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Castello delle Serre. The location is beautiful, and is a not far to travel to neighboring towns. The service was incredible. Each morning at breakfast, Salvatore and Antonio would help us plan out our day, and every night they had suggestions on where to eat. The room was beautiful and breakfast was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — Location, Excellent service
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Twixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre di Rapolano
14.9 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
684 reviews
17.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
21.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
399 reviews
21.8 mi away
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
13.4 mi away
Frances' Lodge Relais
Frances' Lodge Relais
#1 of 121 in Siena
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Property: Castello delle Serre
Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Italy/Tuscany - Serre Di Rapolano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing