We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello delle Serre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2009

With all the catch up one plays after an extended stay in Italy, it has taken me longer than normal to write a review.

I have to start by saying we definately agree with the overwhelming majority of reviews posted for this hidden gem. This place is absolutely amazing! Both Salvatore and Antonio were perfect hosts, catering to our every little whim. I only regret we didn't con Salvatore into cooking for us one evening like others did.

The painstaking attention to detail that has been followed in restoring this castel and converting to a B&B is something you just have to see for yourself. We were already trying to figure out how to plan a return trip with our sons and daughters-in-laws before we ever checked out!

My bride of 35 years and I are blessed in being able to do a fair amount of traveling. We have both decided Castello delle Serre
is definately one of our all time favorites and we can't wait to return. There is so much I could say about this little slice of heaven, it could fill pages. I only wish I had the time to do so.

If you have even remotely considered traveling to Italy and Tuscany, pull the trigger and book it today. See for yourself why everyone is raving about this place. While your there, tell Antonio and Salvatore we miss them and hope to see them soon!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KansasRoadKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Castello delle Serre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2009

Castello delle Serre was the highlight of our European vacation. It is literally living in history with luxurious amenities. The castle, grounds, and view were outstanding. The gentleman who owns and operates this beautiful venue has a deep understanding of the history of the castle as well as the locale. He and his family’s origins are successful restaurateurs. Do not miss out on any occasional impromptu dinners they put together or any of the fantastic stories about the castle. The host also is your personal concierge and will guide you to wherever you desire, whether to an olive grove, a winery, or to Siena. The overall hospitality was equaled to the very best 5 star hotels. It is an excellent venue for couples as well as families. We were with our 3 children at the time but would definitely go back when traveling without children. The pool and tastefully done cocktail lounge were nice touches for the sun drenched and thirsty. Lastly the value for the money is outstanding. We can’t say enough great things about Castello delle Serre.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank High-Five-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous for anyone! That's how I felt about this amazing dream come true. One of the other posters put it best when he/she said 'everyone should get to stay here at least once in their life.' Everything was perfect. From the moment we drove up, my expectations were far exceeded.

The owner, Salvatore, is the most warm, welcoming, colorful character I've ever met. He made us feel like we were the most important people in Italy! We all looked forward to breakfast every morning to get to spend time with him... and find out what our itinerary would be for the day.. as Salvatore would tell us exactly what we should do! And he gave us the best plans each day. His son, Antonio, was a great host too... serving us welcome drinks in their GORGEOUS new bar building. I dubbed it "Castle Chic." Every night after a day of touring we would stop into the bar and have a few drinks with Antonio. FYI--it's 4 months later and we STILL talk about Antonio & Salvatore all the time!

The room was beautiful, with a gorgeous bathroom, sitting area and access to the 'library' and public areas. The pool was delightful, perfectly clean with the most comfy lounge chairs. I would tell everyone that I love that they MUST plan a trip to experience this real-life fairytale!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenntish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

The castle is without a doubt the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The only thing better than the property itself is the owners. Antonio and Sal make you feel like royalty and part of the family at the same time. My stay at the castle was absolutely perfect and incredibly romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmorrison6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed for 3 nights with our 3 young adult children and we all had a wonderful time. You must have Salvatore cook for you at least one night. Our best meal of 10 days in Italy. He also has wonderful recommendations for places to eat where ever you are off to visit.
The renovation of the castle is an ongoing love for Salvatore and his son Antonio. Our kids loved going down to the new bar later in the evening. The parking complained about has been corrected and when the new access to the castle is completed the lot below the castle will be a great place to park.
One note on how great the service was occured when our son needed some clothing washed. Salvatore said they would take it to the laundry but since the next day was Sunday we were concerned that it would not be back before our departure. Salvatore told us not to worry (and we all have heard that before). But when we returned from a great day of going were Salvatore directed us to go, walking up to the castle we saw our son's clothes on a clothesline being dried. He told us later that the laundry could not get it back in time so he asked the housekeeper if she could wash it for us. What Service!
We were thrilled with our stay at Castello Delle Serre and will return whenever we are in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at Castello delle Serre in mid-September for three nights. Of our entire ten day trip to Italy, this was by far the best place we stayed the whole time. In fact, while we were excited to see other parts of Italy, nothing compared even closely to our experience here. From the moment you arrive at the castle, you feel like you are in something from a fairytale. The castle dates back at least to the 800's and it is breathtaking at every angle. (Be sure to ask Sal for the history of the castle). We stayed in the castle part in a large room with incredible, stunning views of the Tuscan hills and countryside from our window each morning. Each room has been decorated impeccably and it is quiet there so you feel like you are having a true getaway.
The owners, Salvatore and Antonio were extremely hospitable in every way. We arrived late the first evening there after driving all day and Antonio was there to greet us and get us settled in our room. As has been mentioned in other reviews, breakfast is served poolside if the weather permits (which it did the whole time we visited) or indoors if its not good weather. Each morning, Salvatore and Antonio helped us arrange our itinerary with maps, and which town to stop in along the way so we could get the true feel of Tuscany and see many things including two amazing abbeys (Sant' Antimo and Monte Oliveto) that you do not want to miss. Since we were there midweek, we missed the evening that dinner was offered this time and vow to get back another time to enjoy what we hear is one of many travelers favorite evenings. We had two dinners in the town, one at a local trattoria and the other at the farmhouse down the road which were both wonderful. There are really not enough positive things to say about Castello Delle Serre; from the hosts to the guest rooms, the property and the new bar/cocktail lounge that was built we enjoyed each and every minute of our stay here. We kept trying to figure out a way to stay for good. We will look forward to another stay at Castello Delle Serre in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MASevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My husband just returned from a trip that included 5 nights at this lovely and romantic hilltop castle in a small village near Sienna. The father and son owners, Salvatore and Antonio, felt like old friends by the end of our stay. Their hospitality was remarkable!

Every morning over a lovely continental breakfast (served outside near the pool if it was warm enough, or inside the cozy dining room if not) we received invaluable assistance planning our various day trips (to Sienna, to the Chianti region, and to Montalcino and the 2 famous abbeys, Sant'Antimo and Monte Oliveto Maggiore). The practical advice and local knowedge about driving, parking and good restaurants made our touring so much easier and more enjoyable. Plus Salvatore and Antonio love the area and are genuinely concerned that their guests have a wonderful experience.

We returned at the end of the afternoon to their welcome 'home', with drinks or coffee by the pool, and dinner planning. Salvatore prepared dinner 2 nights during our stay, and these were the best meals we ate during a 10 day trip! We often ended our evening at the new bar recently opened, visiting with other guests or chatting with Antonio.

We stayed in the tower suite with magnificent views over the countryside, including lovely sunsets over Sienna in the distance. Unfortunately the weather was cooler than we expected and so we didn't use the rooftop terrace as much as we had hoped. There are also rooms in the castle (which is across the pool area from the tower) which are lovely (although TripAdvisor shows this facility with 5 rooms, there are in fact 17).

Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grandhavengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre di Rapolano
17.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
22.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
425 reviews
14.9 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
745 reviews
21.8 mi away
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
20.1 mi away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 13 in Castiglion Fiorentino
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range: £187 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Italy/Tuscany - Serre Di Rapolano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing