We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let you guide for the wine tasting”
Review of Enoteca Tognoni

Enoteca Tognoni
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Bolgheri
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“let you guide for the wine tasting”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went there for a degustation of wine and we came out with 18 bottles. They are relly competent in wine and they can guide you in your choice. Don't hesitate to take some food, the plate of antipasti was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredjeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    485
    74
    20
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great wine, wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Located in a beautiful little town the drive up to it amid rows of cypress trees is an indication that you are in for a treat. The restaurant itself has a pretty doorway inviting you in with a handwritten menu to the side. Once you step inside it its hard not to be in awe, this place is a treasure-trove of bottles! The service is very good and the friendly staff will happily explain the menu in more detail to you. If you're not much of a wine buff its still worth visiting for the food, local ingredients and simple seasonal dishes will delight, I recommend a glass of the Strozzi Ocra, a superb local red to accompany.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“You don't come here for the food, you come for the wines!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

An absolutely immense selection of epic Italian bottles can be opened on your table and end up in your glass (and consequently in your stomach) with only a few more euros. Food consists of a descent selection of pasta or meat dishes. Be careful with the wine prices because some of them are 3-digit. Around 30-35 euros with your nice bottle of wine served on the table!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“A wonderful enoteca!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We went here on a recommendation from a wine merchant friend, and what a wonderful find!
First of all it's in the pretty little village of Bolgheri - the centre of some fabulous Super Tuscans!
Secondly it's a fantastic wine shop and superb enoteca!
Thirdly, they are so welcoming and friendly!
We arrived on a wet Saturday and were too early for food as they didn't serve until 12. However, they invited us in and asked us to take a seat and wait, or look around the fantastic wines on offer.
They then asked us if we wanted a platter of Italian antipasti, before the kitchen opened, which was very kind and which we took them up on.
We had a fantastic lunch with some superb tasting wines! It was a pity I was driving as I'd have loved to sample more!
It's wise to either book ahead, or arrive at 12, as it certainly filled up very quickly!
This is a wonderful spot for lunch in a pretty village, the food is superb, the people cannot do enough for you and they have an amazing selection of fantastic wines - what more could one ask for?
Cannot recommend Tognoni highly enough and will certainly be going back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good glass of wine with some nice food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have been coming to Tognoni for many years. It is a great place to have small (nice) meal and a glass of wine. The staff is always most friendly and they have a fabulous wine collection.
The wild boar with a glass of Bolgheri red is certainly a winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoteca Tognoni also viewed

Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
 
Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
 
Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
 

Been to Enoteca Tognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing