We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Martino in Freddana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carm18426
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week with my husband and friends at La .Pianella Villa. Beautifully restored and immaculately clean. Pictures don't do it justice. Every amenity is thought of - fully stocked kitchen, WIFI, and TV. There are beautiful views from every window.

The salt water pool is surrounded by olive trees which are lit at dusk. Very unique. It is very peaceful and ideallic. The owner lives nearby and was in residence when we were threre. She kindly checked on us from time to time in case we needed anything.

Day trips to Lucca, wineries, Cinque Terre, and beaches are possible and we took advantage of all of them. You must either have a car or hire a driver.
.
The only caveat is the road leading to the Villa which is steep and winding.. We had a 9 person manual vehical which was a precipitious drive especially on the assent. If there are 7 or 8 people in your group I would suggest two smaller cars with automatic transmission if possible.

La Pianella is a lovely Villa however and exceeded my expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Villa and the beauty of the area.
Liked least: The road leading up to the Villa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and took advantage of many of the attractions in the area, there really is so much to offer. Thank you for your review, I am sure it will be useful for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No20
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have recently returned from a fabulous week at La Pianella farmhouse. Our initial trepidation at the narrow steep road to the house was quickly replaced by amazement at the house, grounds and views. The farmhouse had everything and more that we needed and catered excellently for our party of 4 couples, especially as each room had lovely views and a private bathroom. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished to a high quality and it has a lovely salt water pool. There is a very well stocked supermarket in the village which was very handy. It was lovely to meet the owners and their friends whilst we were there and they helped make our stay a memorable one. Mary Ann showed us around the larger villa which is also very well furnished and is ideal for a large gathering. Valeria, Enzo and Donatella, the property managers were very welcoming and made us feel comfortable and at home and were available if we needed anything. The property is ideal for visiting Lucca and the coast which are a short car journey away. It was easy to take the train from Lucca to Pisa and Florence and to venture further afield into the heart of Tuscany by car. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay as it ticked all the boxes and more. We would have no hesitation in recommending the villa to anyone. It is a truly wonderful place- thanks! Alison, Steve, Judith, Simon, Kerry, Steven, Karen and John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma A
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay at La Pianella”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Another amazing stay at La Pianella. This was our 2nd trip with friends and we will certainly be back again. The views are beautiful and the properties are full of character. We travelled with two babies and the fully equipped kitchen, high chairs, cots etc made our life so easy. We were lucky to meet with both Clare and Mary-Ann who are very welcoming and helpful. We will be back again very soon. Our dream villa in Tuscany!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2013
Thank you for your positive review, it is always a good sign when we have return visitors, and we look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“La Pianella, Tuscan Retreat”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at this delightful Villa with a group of friends. The scenery was idyllic and so incredibly peaceful. The property was immaculately kept and was pristine upon our arrival. The tennis court was really popular and the huge salt water pool, although situated on the upper part of the hill, was fantastic, and well worth the climb up through the olive grove.
There were 14 of us staying here but the plot is so large, that it did not feel crowded in any way. There was a pizza oven outside, built into the wall of the cantina which was great fun to use. The kitchen was well equipped. At the foot of the hill was a great supermarket which catered for almost everything. The area nearby is heavenly and Lucca is only about a 25 minute drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family villa in Tuscany”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at La Pianella with family and young adult friends. The pool is wonderful and the view from the house and pool is magnificent. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all lovely but in Italian style there isn't any air conditioning which, in fact, we like. We made good use of the bar-b-q and the pizza oven. The villa is near the beautiful walled town of Lucca and is positioned halfway between the beach and Florence where we went for day trips. The owners are very helpful and friendly before booking. One slight word of caution might be the rather steep drive up to the property with a couple of sharp turns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful tiled saltwater pool
Liked least: The drive up to the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robinwm46
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful house in a stunning location !”
Reviewed 8 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the Farmhouse Villa at La Pianella for 2 weeks in September 2012 and had a fabulous holiday with 6 of our friends and everyone was of the same opinion that the accommodation is 1st. Class and the location is even better than the pictures on the web site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and stunning views over the valley below.
Liked least: Having to leave after a superb stay.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing