We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding private location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
dining room if too fresh to eat out on terrace
beautiful salt water pool
Beautiful gardens
Salt water pool
Terrace for eating out
small private terrace
salt water pool
Family Suite rooms 4 & 5
newly renovated bathroom 1 with wheel chair accessible shower
newly renovated bathroom with wheelchair accessible shower
stylishly freshly renovated bedroom with ceiling fan and French windows to the garden
newly decorated bedroom 3, with double bed or single beds option with en suite shower
new renovated bathroom 2 with wheelchair accessible shower
Happy to introduce new line of refillable products from Bramley for our guests convenience
Over view of La Pianella properties Villa and farmhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
San Martino in Freddana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David_S22...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding private location”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Situated in secluded hills with a private gate this traditional property made us feel like we were living the dream. We were a group of three families and enjoyed a relaxing time using the pool and the tennis court everyday.

The local food shops are within easy reach for self-catering and we enjoyed a couple of trips to Lucca for some excellent dining out in the historic town.

I can't recommend this property highly enough. We all loved it and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you for you wonderful review, I really appreciate it.
Wonderful that you all had such a good time and enjoyed the facilities as well as the local area. We hope you welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua C
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“It doesn't get any better!”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have stayed at both the villa and farmhouse in recent years and it is quite simply the most stunning villa and location I have ever come across!
Everything from the amenities to the lush Tuscan views oozes class and I cannot imagine staying in a place that is as perfect as La Pianella!
Special mention to the owners/host who made the process from booking to leaving so simple!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am pleased that you have been able to stay in both properties and enjoyed them both. I hope other guests will find it useful for their bookings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisto1234...
1 review
“Stunning villa with amazing views”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in the farmhouse in August and it was a first rate holiday. The villa is very luxurious and has the most fantastic views down the valley. The pool area is stunning and the the upper lounge which has full glass folding doors on two sides is the best place in the wold to have a late night glass of red whilst talking nonsense with your friends.
Lucca is just 15 mins in the car and it's just over an hour to Florence, so it's perfectly located and only a half hour drive to the beaches
A stunning place to spend a week or two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write about your farmhouse experience. We are happy that you enjoyed you visit and the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblers1...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with amazing views, swimming pool, tennis court and gardens”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a week in August 2016. I cannot recommend this villa highly enough. It sleeps 18 people with en-suite bathrooms for each of the individually designed bedrooms. There is a lovely communal kitchen with separate large dining and sitting rooms. All tastefully and immaculately presented and oozes character throughout. Outside there are fantastic terrace areas with plenty of space for external dining and sunbathing and a large pool and tennis court. There are lovely walks from the villa and plenty of beautiful villages and towns to visit within a short drive. The villa is well furnished and offers barbeque and paella facilities with no shortage of kitchen and dining equipment. I have stayed in similar properties and would recommend this property over many of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was impeccable.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, I hope it will encourage other visitors in their decision to book! We are so pleased that your visit was a success and your enjoyed the villa & were able to explore the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An authentic Italian villa in beautiful countryside for the perfect Tuscan experience.”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Villa at La Pianella Estate provided the perfect retreat for our family holiday with plenty of space for all seventeen of us! It is a beautiful secluded villa perched on the hillside with fantastic views down the valley. There is plenty to keep everyone entertained with the swimming pool, tennis court and table tennis table but also makes a great base for exploring the historic cities and idilic countryside of Tuscany. The villa is well equipped with everything you could need in the kitchen to cater for a large group but for a break from cooking I highly recommend taking advantage of the catering services of Donatella and her daughter Sonia for fabulous authentic Italian cuisine. Clare and Mary-Ann were both so helpful making arrangements and generous with their time to discuss plans and advise on what to do and where to go. This is a great place to stay in a beautiful part of the world and I would definitely recommend it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton3...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate!”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If anyone reads this and is considering booking La Pianella, please do it! La Pianella offers something that I have never seen before. It is a home first and business second and the minute that you start the drive up towards the villa you feel yourself relaxing and soaking up the truly magical experience that this place offers. We booked the villa and the farmhouse for our wedding so it needed to be extra special, and it needed to accommodate all ages from 8 weeks to 80 and the place performed spectacularly. Every single person had an amazing experience in this beautiful estate, we formed wonderful memories, it genuinely brought people together and we hold it very close to our hearts now. The owners are extremely accommodating, everything you could wish for was there including fresh fruit baskets and flowers, wine and even plenty of sun tan lotion for lounging around the pool. The owners can connect you with great caterers and even taxi drivers to take you to Lucca for an evening out. This is a very special place and we highly recommend that if you are considering booking to contact the owners to not miss out! Simply perfect! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana034
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC TUSCANY”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a large family group of 16 celebrating some big birthdays. A big mixture of ages - 5 months to 70!
A great rustic property high in the valley with spectacular views. The property suited us perfectly. Masses of space with bathrooms for everyone. Don't expect contemporary chic, this is a rustic farmhouse type style which felt cosy and comfortable..
We LOVED the tennis court, big pool - even further up the valley so lots of steps to get there...but the views..... table tennis - we were kept very busy.
BEST OF ALL WAS PROBABLY THE WONDERFUL DONATELLA who came in to cook for us and babysit on quite a few occasions. Eating out on the Terrace with everything prepared and cleared away - some great family evenings with lots of noise and no-one to disturb!
Easy journey from Pisa - just over an hour to Florence. Great taxi service from Andrea whenever we needed him. We should have spent more time in the lovely walled city of Lucca
English speaking Doctor - we went to his surgery in Lucca with a couple of hours notice as one party member had left all his medications behind - we were charged 69CENTS!!!! Take your European health card! Be ready for the final windy road to the house - first time is a bit of a surprise but when you get there.....WOW!
Very friendly, helpfuly pro-active owners- THANK YOU FOR A VERY HAPPY MEMORABLE STAY.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your review, this is most appreciated and will hopefully be encouraging for future guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing