We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
95
45
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
45
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

After many years in north west sardinia i decided to explore another area and with two kids you want to avoid surprises when aiming to holidays. I checked carefully the hotels available in santa maria navarrese and in the end opted for this. The choice was indeed very good. The hotel is a 3 star and you see that from rooms: they are overall okay, nice sea view, bathroom is fine, in line with a 3-star rating. The rest, however, is stunning: only hotel in the village to be on the sea, a 2 min walk inside the hotel itself, amazing garden with pond, restaurant really beautiful as also is the bar. There is also a beautiful area for lunch/bar overlooking the sea. Beautiful sandy beach. Super-friendly staff, all of them, no exceptions. Food is also good, especially as concerns sardinian dishes. Breakfast is also fine, perhaps the coffee making machine could be replaced with a nespresso or lavazza, but that's not a must for me. I would have no doubts in choosing mediterraneo if sea-life was my target.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank fabio-ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome during our stay at the Mediterraneo and thoroughly enjoyed our short break here.

Our decent room at the back of the hotel was moderately sized, but clean and modern, with a balcony overlooking the sea & beach. Sardinian hotels all seem to be competing with one another to see which of them can build-in the smallest bathroom shower cabinet....Mediterraneo is certainly in the race, but I've experienced smaller!

The lounge/bar/dining areas are are open plan & informal, overlooking the small but nicely presented garden where it is pleasant to catch the last hour of sunshine with a cocktail in hand.

It's a short walk down to the beach where the hotel has a second bar. There are lounger sunbeds - chargeable to residents - and it's a nice spot to swim & relax. It's a short walk into the town in the evening, too, where there is plenty of choice of places to eat.

Overall, good value for money and a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Col777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

I stayed here for a week with my partner during the summer and loved it. All the staff, right down to the young men in the restaurant, were so friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the building and grounds were just faultless. You can walk through the gardens, being careful not to distrupt the swans and family of ducks, straight on to the beach. I was nervous Santa Maria Navarrese was going to be a bit isolated, but it was perfect. A good selection of restaurants, local supermarkets and boat trips made this a fantastic holiday. I highly recommend the hotel and the area.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarebee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

There is few hotels in this town which are very similar. But there's one thing that places Mediterraneo higher. The garden. Other hotels stay near the street, but Mediterraneo is placed near beautiful garden (there's restaurant where we were eating breakfast) with pond, swans, ducks and even turtle. The beach is just behind this garden. It looks great. The staff is perfect, very helpful. The only minus is the ending of the breakfast, at 9:30, it's rather early. But I recommend Mediterraneo, it is great!

Date of stay: July 2014
2  Thank miloszgibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is well placed on the beach and indeed it does have a pretty garden and well presented public areas. The staff that we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Our gripe was the €122 rate for a very small room, crammed with an extra bed and old, utility style furniture and a tatty bathroom with no toiletries. The bed sheet looked as if it had already been slept in but was probably just not properly ironed and fitted on the bed - attention to detail lacking again. It was clean enough but we had been paying €70 - 80 for better rooms during our tour of the island.
(Extra beds should be put into a room as needed, not left there permanently to clutter the place up).
Breakfast was not terrific with the fruit juice being a cheap, dilute squash, served in cheap plastic disposable beakers which is just another example of the lack of attention to detail by the management. If you're going to charge top whack you really should be on top of things like this.
The hotel is not in Santa Maria, it is a good 15 minutes walk from the town, not convenient if you want to have dinner in one of the restaurants there.
This is not a bad hotel but really has to refurbish the guest rooms and get rid of economy level foodstuffs and tableware before it can justify the rates. We did offer to stay at €80 per night but the manager (who stayed safely behind his office door - coward!) refused so we left and stayed elsewhere (see review on Hotel Plammas).
The management should take on board that it isn't good enough to have a fancy dining room and bar area, you really need to understand that guests spend most time in their rooms and these need to be worth the money. They need to get a grip on the details as mentioned in the text above. Little touches can delight customers, don't cost anything and support the more major investments in the property.

Room tip: Our top floor sea view room had a very small balcony with a good view of the caravan park next door as well as the hotel garden and the sea.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews